We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel. Nice rooms. Good beds. Good breakfast.”
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgewater Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
175 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice hotel. Nice rooms. Good beds. Good breakfast.”
Reviewed August 4, 2014

Not a fancy place, but dang nice and I can not think of anything to say that would be of a cautionary nature. I'd definitely stay here again. The water it is on the edge of is not the most scenic that you have ever seen, but they make the most of what it is.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Apoet2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    71
    46
    18
    14
See reviews for
53
63
6
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

I had not expected much when I reserved at the Edgewater Inn in Coos Bay. I had been using the AAA tour book's rating of motels to reserve and tried to get reservations at a chain brand motel we had used before but they were full. (Tip - the Oregon coast in summer is full of tourists so if you don't reserve in advance you can get stuck with less than desirable accommodations) So, I reserved at the Edgewater without much expectations because AAA had rated it "2 diamonds out of a possible 5". The room was very spacious with two comfortable queen sized beds and a sliding door going out onto the river's edge and a grassy walkway. The bathroom was roomy and it had my favorite feature, a vanity sink separate from the tub and toilet room. The supply of thick towels was generous and the bathtub was so appealing that I actually took a nice long bath that night even though I am a normally a shower person. The temperature controls and water pressure were fine for my shower the next morning. Those items may seem insignificant but for me, nothing can ruin my stay than a shower that doesn't work properly and a measly sink with no space to set anything. The next morning we had a full breakfast at large tables in the lobby (well, no eggs or bacon but they did have waffles, cereals and everything else you might want). The rate was less than I would have paid at the chain motel and I was happy we had stayed at the Edgewater.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

We were on a road trip from California to Oregon. Thought giving this motel a try. Price was under $100 per night by the water. Room was reasonably clean and big with two huge queen sized bed. Breakfast wasn't fantastic, but that's what we expected with lower rate. Still considered a decent place for just a night sleep. Pool was big and my child enjoyed himself before the long drive. Wished they had more towels by the pool though. For low rate accommodation seeker, this is a good enough for short stay.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rose C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaston, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2014

Staff friendly, but that is the only nice thing to say about this place! How it scored higher than Best Western on Booking.com is beyond me! ( could someone had padded the reviews for more business?) It is so bad that I felt the need to review it before we left. Saggy beds, old and dirty decor in the rooms, hot tub that was old, not maintained and lukewarm at best. Had to go back to the room to get warmer water and rinse off whatever they had put in the water that felt oily. Decor appears to be from the 60' s, but could be quaint if kept up. Could have got a better room for 1/2 the cost at a motel 6. If we had been earlier, I would have demanded our money back and left. Would not want any of my friends or family members to stay here. It' s just gross, for lack of a better word.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coos Bay hotels

Cheney, Washington
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I know this is late, but none the less, here it is. My husband and I first stayed here on our Wedding Night back in 2008. Last year (2013), we took another trip down to Oregon and stayed in the same 1 bedroom jacuzzi suite for our 5 year wedding anniversary. Oh my, how it had changed. And not for the better. Things started out well, the room looked pretty much the same since we had last been there 5 years ago. We went out to dinner and came back and used the jacuzzi tub. When my husband got out, he went into the kitchenette to get some water. He discovered a spider on the kitchen counter. My husband is very well versed when it comes to spiders. He inspected it closely and noticed it to be of a venomous nature. It had fangs and the bulb sacks for venom. He immediately called the front desk and they sent a maintenance guy over. He looked at it and saw the bulb sacks as well. Well, it seemed the kid refused to even entertain the notion that it could be venomous. My husband explained to him the details in which you can tell and told the kid to put it in a glass with a cover and take it back to their office and freeze it (this will kill it) and have it looked at. He took the spider with him, but were pretty sure it was probably squashed and thrown in the trash. Before he left, he did mention that, that particular room hadn't been used in several months.We called the front desk again and told them that we were very uncomfortable staying in the room (we had booked for 2 nights) and that we wanted to leave and wanted a refund. At first, they flat out refused. They said we could leave, but don't expect a refund. After much debate between my husband and the front desk person, we were able to cancel and get a refund for the 2nd night. We ended up having to stay in this room for the rest of the night (it was around 2am by this time). We slept in our clothes with all of the lights on (due to spider) and we were so upset because they ruined our anniversary, which was the the next day. We did go around though and inspect the rest of the room and took photos. One of the horrific finds, was a dead moth in the living room, next to the sliding glass door. Did they not clean this room before booking it? Needless to say, we will NEVER stay here again and neither will anyone we know. This place is horrible. The rooms are outdated and management seriously lacks quality customer service skills. Our anniversary did get saved, by another hotel, and that review will follow here shortly!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hap666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

This is the second time we stayed here. We got bottom floor, river view. The motel is older, but to me it seems clean. We have not had difficulties with the staff at all. The one thing i wish they had was a few more washing machines, driers. The room is locked with a certain cyber-key, which i can understand, but if a person(s) are a ahead of you, then you go on a waiting list. It is much easier to go down town Coos Bay and use the public laundry. It is a decent motel. A bit dated. Some of it needs it dating, like the carpet. My wife and like the fact there are two sinks. One in the shower / toilet room, and another one out side of that. So either one of us can do "business" with disturbing the other. We will stay again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Huge room with two sinks, one in bathroom and one next to bathroom. Nice warm pool and large hot tub. Both were very clean. Only negatives were the extra firm bed, my son actually liked it, and the lack of pressure in the shower but the rain shower heads aren't known for having good pressure. Staff was friendly and helpful. Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Autism_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coos Bay
1.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
548 reviews
20.6 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend
21.4 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Property: Edgewater Inn
Address: 275 E Johnson Ave, Coos Bay, OR 97420-1466
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coos Bay's only waterfront motel, the Edgewater Inn is located one block off of Highway 101 in the heart of the southern Oregon coast's recreational and business capital. The motel offers waterfront rooms, standard units, spa rooms, hot tub suite, full kitchen suite, and a two room suite. Indoor pool & hot tub and exercise room, business center, cont. breakfast in the lobby each morning, and guest laundry with washer & dryer (fee). Pets are welcome (fee). Within minutes you can visit Oregon's sand dunes, ocean beaches, premier restaurants, golf, fishing, and the world famous Shore Acres State Park. Whale watching, hiking, biking, crabbing, beachcombing, dune buggies, spectacular sunsets - it's all here waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Coos Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing