We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most comfortable beds...”
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Edgewater Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Reviewed July 31, 2012

We had no reservations and came here on recommendation of local. It is kinda old but very homey and comfortable. Large warm pool with hot tub. Queen sized beds that were oh so good. Donut breakfast with coffee in room. Big bathroom. Private balcony. Within walking distance to Safeway that has Starbucks!

Room Tip: We paid extra $10 for lake view and it was worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lakoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

135 - 141 of 187 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2012

First off the internet connection is non existent which is really bad in our case. Luckily I have a smartphone but it is not acceptable. I would rather use my laptop. Huge cracks in the walls. mold in the shower is disgusting.! The front desk was nice but rushed through explaining things. When I asked questions I was told "it is all on the paper I gave you" don't turn on the water in the sink...you'll get soaked! the bed is very comfortable. I drink coffee at night so I asked for extra and they gave me more which was very nice. Safeway is right next door which is great. We brought our dog but apparently we are not to leave her in the room alone at all. Not even to walk outside for a few minutes or they will charge you 300.00. Now I wonder if they watch everything you do so we shall see if we get a charge for something we won't do. I am very weary of all of the signs about taking things and other signs. I understand that people steal but now I will have housekeeping do inventory before we leave

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccgabbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

After spending a fantastic day touring beautiful Oregon we were looking forward to just relaxing in our room and resting up for another day. We pulled in to the parking lot and all looked good. Then we walked inside and it was like we were transported to a time of old dusty basement furniture from 20 years ago. The room was large but smelled musty and the furniture very old and dated. As was the washroom. Were the towels yellowed with age or cream coloured? We couldn't tell. We expressed our dissatisfaction and were upgraded to a less smelly room that overlooked some sort of plant. They dinged us an extra $10 for this "upgrade". Then they tried to ding us another $10 for my child in spite of the printed receipt I had which showed the rate for 2 adults and 1 child. I told her I didn't want to argue and I'd pay the $10 but thought they were giving horrible customer service given all the added unexpected charges for the quality of the room. I was then shown the sign that said they had the right to refuse my service !!?? And yet when I asked - prior to unpacking - if I could get out of the reservation and go elsewhere I had been told 'no'. We were only staying one night so we sucked it up and slummed. And... the free internet wireless service sucked and kept failing.

We're trying not to let this experience cloud what has thus far been a wonderful vacation but ya... go elsewhere. In hindsight I wish I had gone to the Red Lion!! (even though the front desk staff here degraded the quality!)

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CdnTraveler416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We live outside of town, but for a special occasion or late night we will book a jacuzzi rub room. The view of the slough isn't stellar, but the rooms are quite nice and the tub divine. Continental breakfast helps after a night spent carousing as well.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loloofthewoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Water view means looking over a 100 yard wide murky river at a log processing plant, so I don't think I would spend the extra $5 for it again. Room 210 was large and clean, but very dated and had a smell like you would expect from an old building. Don't expect too much and you won't be disappointed. I will stress that they do a good job with what they are working with. One more thing, the Internet is useless. I had a strong signal, but it was extremely slow.....finally just gave up and used my 3G network.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jboneezer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

Third time I've stayed there,in three years - everything was ready and easy even though we arrive late in the evening and bring along an active dog! The staff is very helpful, pointing out the "dog areas" which are easily accessible, there are dog treats waiting in the room, everything was clean and crisp as far a bedding/bathroom but the best part it, the quiet! This motel is on the edge of the river on one side, and large parking lot on the other and off the main street by a long block (a Safeway between the motel and the main street). The continental breakfast was good, plenty of options, but again, the view of the river and the ability to walk the entire boardwalk of Coos Bay is pretty phenomenal. Starbucks right across the street and a Fred Meyer, too and easy walking distance to older down town districts with lots of little stores and restaurants.

Room Tip: When calling for reservations, be sure to check out the AAA rates or ask about any specials. Staff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Capi_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I've stayed here for business several times over the past 12 years. Stayed last week for a weekend get-away. The place never changes. It is clean - the most important thing in my book. The room is spacious and the bed very comfy. Half of the rooms are right on the river with nice porch and walks. That said, I don't think the place has been updated since the '80s and its beginning to show. Rooms are a bit dark with aging decor and bathrooms. Free breakfast is not much more than coffee and donuts. It's not within walking distance to much except grocery stores. I think I'll try another motel next time I stay in Coos Bay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilouSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coos Bay
1.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
601 reviews
4.6 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend
21.4 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
3.8 mi away
Itty Bitty Inn
Itty Bitty Inn
#2 of 4 in North Bend
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Address: 275 E Johnson Ave, Coos Bay, OR 97420-1466
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range: $72 - $94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coos Bay's only waterfront motel, the Edgewater Inn is located one block off of Highway 101 in the heart of the southern Oregon coast's recreational and business capital. The motel offers waterfront rooms, standard units, spa rooms, hot tub suite, full kitchen suite, and a two room suite. Indoor pool & hot tub and exercise room, business center, cont. breakfast in the lobby each morning, and guest laundry with washer & dryer (fee). Pets are welcome (fee). Within minutes you can visit Oregon's sand dunes, ocean beaches, premier restaurants, golf, fishing, and the world famous Shore Acres State Park. Whale watching, hiking, biking, crabbing, beachcombing, dune buggies, spectacular sunsets - it's all here waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Coos Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing