We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs an Update”
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Edgewater Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Reviewed May 28, 2012

I've stayed here for business several times over the past 12 years. Stayed last week for a weekend get-away. The place never changes. It is clean - the most important thing in my book. The room is spacious and the bed very comfy. Half of the rooms are right on the river with nice porch and walks. That said, I don't think the place has been updated since the '80s and its beginning to show. Rooms are a bit dark with aging decor and bathrooms. Free breakfast is not much more than coffee and donuts. It's not within walking distance to much except grocery stores. I think I'll try another motel next time I stay in Coos Bay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MilouSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (184)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 184 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2012

We come here 4-5 times during the year mainly to go fishing out of Charleston. This is one of the better hotels in Coos Bay. Always clean, front desk always helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamb3947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2011

based on a recommendation, I stayed here instead of my normal hotel. It is marginally better.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MJBaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2011

We stayed at the Edgewater Inn in Coos Bay in July. We booked last minute because of a rush decision to take my parents on a weekend trip to see Shore Acres. I had no idea what to expect, and we were thrilled with what we saw on arrival. Our room was one of the nicest I've stayed in anywhere on the coast. It was spacious and immaculate, plus it had a beautiful view of the river. It's the perfect spot for sightseeing around Charleston and Coos Bay. The location is super convenient because it's near a shopping center with coffee shops and grocery stores, but it's at the end of a street with a large parking lot between the hotel and shopping center, with the river directly behind. It's quiet and there's lawns and trails along the river, plus it's pet friendly. The front desk folks were helpful in recommending local spots to eat, and the pool and hot tub were great. We'll definitely go back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fran76_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2011

It was hard to get our luggage up the stairs without an elevator. But the room was nice, with fridge and microwave, and a new Lazy-boy-type chair in the corner to relax in. Nice view of the river, in an industrial area. Balcony and sliding glass door to let in fresh air. The internet here was very slow.

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Judy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This inn was one of the more expensive accomodations on our 2 week trip. It was adequate, but a little overpriced for the outdated room. The view of the canal was pretty, but we were expecting the Bay and were disappointed. The staff was not especially helpful or friendly, in fact, argumentative when we checked in.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travelsby3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

I had a non- smoking rm for the fact I have children, so to take only to drags of cig. I stepped out on the balconie which I didnt think was a problem since I was not in rm and door was closed but they charge us for smoking in room. Elderly maid was really snuddy and half cleaned are room donut on floor next to trash when she left. besides that nice rooms good breakfast an shopping was convent.

Room Tip: If smoker ask were smoking on property is ok first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank preston266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coos Bay
1.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
597 reviews
20.6 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
3.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
21.4 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Address: 275 E Johnson Ave, Coos Bay, OR 97420-1466
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range: $81 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coos Bay's only waterfront motel, the Edgewater Inn is located one block off of Highway 101 in the heart of the southern Oregon coast's recreational and business capital. The motel offers waterfront rooms, standard units, spa rooms, hot tub suite, full kitchen suite, and a two room suite. Indoor pool & hot tub and exercise room, business center, cont. breakfast in the lobby each morning, and guest laundry with washer & dryer (fee). Pets are welcome (fee). Within minutes you can visit Oregon's sand dunes, ocean beaches, premier restaurants, golf, fishing, and the world famous Shore Acres State Park. Whale watching, hiking, biking, crabbing, beachcombing, dune buggies, spectacular sunsets - it's all here waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Coos Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing