We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wheres the desanated smoking area?” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edgewater Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edgewater Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Chico, California
1 review
“wheres the desanated smoking area?”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

I had a non- smoking rm for the fact I have children, so to take only to drags of cig. I stepped out on the balconie which I didnt think was a problem since I was not in rm and door was closed but they charge us for smoking in room. Elderly maid was really snuddy and half cleaned are room donut on floor next to trash when she left. besides that nice rooms good breakfast an shopping was convent.

Room Tip: If smoker ask were smoking on property is ok first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank preston266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    69
    44
    18
    14
See reviews for
51
62
6
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
home
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2011

We just spent 1 night here on the way to Bandon Dunes, and it fit the bill. Nothing especially good or bad except for the shower. It was definitely in my top 5 showers of all time. Would recommend for a 1 night stay.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wimmyjeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

The waterfront view is pretty. The staff was freindly yet not helpful with fixing the Internet. My bet is the internet was way to overloaded no one could get on let alone stay on, as if you could get on it would crash. I had to work so drove to another town and picked up a wifi hotspot from att. It was still a lil slower but very reliable.
My other issue with the room was the bathroom. The water couldn't hold a temperature. I was getting shot with icy cold water intermixed with my hot.. Then extremely hot water! And back to the icy. Which of course was very unpleasant. To top if off the shower wasn't clean, and the towels had mystery smears on them. Maybe housekeeping just missed the bath.
Furthermore, the beds were ok, more comfortable than a super 8, yet not nearly as a days inn.
For the price of this motel it's not a very good value.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aiet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Convenient to travelers on the 101, The Edgewater Inn is otherwise unremarkable. The Inn is tucked behind a Safeway and a Fred Meyer and to the side of a RV camp. This location is not as close to the Coos Bay waterfront and downtown as advertised. Fast food restaurants are within walking distance, but Coos Bays' more interesting full service restaurants require driving. The room was clean but decked out in furnishings from the late 1980s. The bed was among the most uncomfortable I have attempted to sleep on in some time.

The Inn's online reservation system leaves much to be desired. Upon arrival, our reservation, made online 60 days before the visit, was not on the Inn's books. A room was available, and the Inn did charge us the rate we would have received with the reservation. (Fortunately, I had the confirming email still in my inbox, so that I could produce it when arguing for the reservation rate.) Phoning the Inn directly seems more reliable than placing an online reservation.

Room Tip: Water view rooms are worth the slightly higher rate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RodL15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2011

This hotel shows it's age, but the rooms are very large and comfortable. The location is a little deceiving. While it is on the edge of the water, it's not the best of views (there's a GP lumber plant across the river). Still, it was largely peaceful and a good stop during our vacation (especially with a price that couldn't be beat).

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nkuchemprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripon, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2011

My husband and I stayed one night and we were impressed with the room. It was the most spacious room that we had stayed in on our whole vacation with a nice king size bed, couch, table, and nice bathroom. The staff was polite and friendly enough, we didn't have much interaction with them besides checking in and out. We enjoyed the continental breakfast. The view from our room was of the river and each room had its own patio with chairs. There was another reviewer on here who complained that the pool was dirty and her kids got sick from this motel. I read that review days before we stayed here and I did not see any part of our room that was dirty or unkempt, and there was definitely not a bad smell in our room either. Honestly, I don't know who would let their kids swim in a pool in November anyway and many motels close their pools during the off seasons so that might be the reason why their pool was dirty at the time...
One complaint we did have about this motel was that their free wireless internet was really spotty and would cut in and out.
Overall, we enjoyed staying here and if we were staying in Coos Bay again, we would probably stay here again and definitely recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhopper18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keizer, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

This was the WORST hotel I have ever stayed in. Dirty, smelled like wet dogs, staff was rude, manager said she'd call back and never did. When we called we asked if they had joining rooms with 2 queen beds. We were told yes so we went to go check them out. The person at the front desk was very nice to the men checking in but I guess a middle aged woman and her grandmother aren't that important. So she hurried down to the joining rooms to let us see them. She said well if you like it meet me at the front desk and scurried off again. I got to the front desk to check in. She was typing and slammed a registration card down in front of me with a pen and said well I thought seeing the other person check in you would have figured it out you need to do this too. Well sorry, I didn't watch the other person, what they were doing wasn't my business. So I went back to the room. One room smelled like wet dog. The heater you could see was filled with dirt and dog hair. The other room the bathroom had a ring around the tub. When I called down to the desk to ask for a different room I was told "I'm the only person here I can't do anything about it right now." She didn't do anything then or the rest of the night we were stuck in the nastiest hotel rooms ever. The one bed was curling up like a taco shell. The other three you could feel the springs through them. The floor in the one room was sticky, my socks actually stuck to the carpet. The decor was from the 60's. There were no security locks on the doors so we had to barricate the doors so we weren't affraid my 2 year old would get out the front door. The towels were all different shades of stained yellow and off white. The water itself stunk it smelled like water from the bay without being filtered. Extreamly rude. Then the breakfast buffet was donuts. We decided to go down the street to the kozzy kitchen and eat which was the ONLY good thing about coos bay. When I called to speak to the manager she said she would look at everything and call me back. She never did call. I found out while talking to her the wing we were in is specific for people with dogs. NOT for people without dogs and NOT for elderly people. Well apparently the night person figured we deserved to be in a dog room. NEVER EVER stay at this hotel. I have dogs and I wouldn't take them. Now I'm home and my kids both have foot hand and mouth disease. They apparently caught it from this dirty hotel not being cleaned properly because it's the only place we stayed that wasn't clean. The doctor told us the incubation time and it would have been the dates we were in this hotel. And yes you can get the disease from dirty surfaces. I've stayed in hotels from one end of the country to the other and this was the absolute worst hotel and we paid more for it for one night than we did a family sweet in Disneyland. Oh and don't swim in the pool. I don't think it's been cleaned in quite some time. It was freezing cold in the water and the water actually felt grimmy. My lips were chapped after swimming in it and tasted like salt. Apparently everyone goes swimming to take a bath since the tubs are so dirty.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mommahoney76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coos Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coos Bay
1.3 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
4.6 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
3.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Coos Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.7 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
1.1 mi away
Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend
21.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Inn at Face Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Inn

Property: Edgewater Inn
Address: 275 E Johnson Ave, Coos Bay, OR 97420-1466
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Edgewater Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coos Bay's only waterfront motel, the Edgewater Inn is located one block off of Highway 101 in the heart of the southern Oregon coast's recreational and business capital. The motel offers waterfront rooms, standard units, spa rooms, hot tub suite, full kitchen suite, and a two room suite. Indoor pool & hot tub and exercise room, business center, cont. breakfast in the lobby each morning, and guest laundry with washer & dryer (fee). Pets are welcome (fee). Within minutes you can visit Oregon's sand dunes, ocean beaches, premier restaurants, golf, fishing, and the world famous Shore Acres State Park. Whale watching, hiking, biking, crabbing, beachcombing, dune buggies, spectacular sunsets - it's all here waiting for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Edgewater Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Hotel Coos Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing