We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I won't recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plainview Motel & RV Park
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
BROOKINGS
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I won't recommend”
Reviewed July 25, 2010

traffic noise - room not serviced each day -
amenities didn't work properly - insufficient ventilation - inadequate bathroom facility- customer service skills need improvement - cleaning and sanitizing was not at an acceptable level - realizing low cost will get you low service, in this case I paid high price and got unacceptable service and accommodations.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonTraveler86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    4
    7
    9
See reviews for
28
12
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2010

I come to Coos bay at least 4 times per year with my husband, 10 year old, and 5 year old. I will only stay at the Plain View. The staff is great and the rooms are cozy and clean. The location is perfect there is a beach front right across the street and shopping galore towards town with a great Casino and deep sea fishing right around the corner. The plain view has everything you would need to go crabbing and clamming and lots of friendly staff with great advice on how to get the most out of your trip. I would recommend this motel to all who enjoy getting away from the hustle and bustle of the everyday life to do some fishing, or beach combing at a extremely affordable price. We love this place so much we are going back in two weeks for our deep sea fishing trip and we cant wait! They even offer a package for your motel room and fishing trip that is so affordable you cant miss out on it! We are taking friends with us this time because we feel that no one should miss out on this great place!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachhereIcome66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific NW
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

Having stayed here last year we were pleasently surprised with the improvements made since then. Staff was very helpful and friendly and our room was clean with fully stocked kichenette. We love the location and easy access to shopping and sight seeing. Next time, we want to try out some of the amenities they offer at a discount such as going deep sea fishing, clamming and crabbing. They even help you clean and cook your catches.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank imalol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2009

I should have turned around and gone back to Coos Bay but I didn't. The room was one stated price online but when using the Internet to register you pay a higher price when checking in ($94 for single). The bathroom shower stall had a curtain that looked like it was 1/3 of a regular curtain. Shower stall unclean. Kitchen utensils old, battered and decidedly not worth risking. Sign that YOU are to clean up and wash up all dishes etc., at $94 a night that seemed ridiculous. Carpeting sticky ... wear slippers at all times. The management's idea of security is to bolt plastic roofing to the kitchen and bathroom window exteriors thus giving you only one way out in case of fire. The curtains, windows and window sills were filthy.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Coos Bay hotels

Alturas, California
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2009

Ok so Need to knows.... This place is scary. Trailers..and I think I saw a dog tied to a car in front of one of the rooms. We drove in and drove right back out!! Did not stay.....

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank iamsparkl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 29, 2005

We stayed here on 8/30/05 in a duplex (aka vacation home) near the RV park. We got a little nervous driving in, because it's in a real "red-neck" area (lots of mobile homes, and junky yards) but the duplex itself was very nice. It's located between Coos Bay and Shore Acres State Park and the location was great for seeing the wildlife in the park. A full kitchen, carport, two bedrooms and a full sized living room (with bed) afforded plenty of room for our party of 4. The only inconvenience was the single bathroom. But the rate was nice: $116 total.

Helpful?
12 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Coos Bay
4.4 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
579 reviews
18.6 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
4.6 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#3 of 7 in Coos Bay
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend
4.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay
19.5 mi away
Best Western Inn at Face Rock
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plainview Motel & RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plainview Motel & RV Park

Property: Plainview Motel & RV Park
Address: 91904 Cape Arago Hwy, Coos Bay, OR 97420-8741
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Coos Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Coos Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Plainview Motel & RV Park 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sometimes referred to as the Mural Motel, Plainview Motel & RV Park is located along the beautiful Southern Oregon Coastline near Charleston. Charleston is situated along Cape Arago Highway and is part of the Coos Bay / North Bend, Bay Area. There are many outdoor recreation spots and attractions that make this the Bay Area's favorite and most traveled gateway along the Oregon Coast. Be sure to check out the events in our area this coming year! Our beautiful area makes for a wonderful vacation spot for families. So if you've been thinking about a great place to vacation, please give us a call and come stay awhile. We hope you make Plainview Motel & RV Park your favorite place to stay along the Oregon Coast. Don't forget we are just a short distance from Bandon Dunes Golf Courses and Southwest Regional Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Travelocity so you can book your Plainview Motel & RV Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing