We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“French Onion soup - yum!”
Review of Empire Cafe - CLOSED

Empire Cafe
Cuisines: French, Italian, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“French Onion soup - yum!”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Ate lunch with sis and husbands on Wednesday. I had the french onion soup and salad, and it was very good, dripping with cheese, and full of sweet onions. Hubbie had their steak sandwich. It was flank steak, sliced on bias, with grilled sweet onions on a homemade roll. We would go back. They're only open Wednesday through Saturday (open at 11 am), and only have 8 or so tables, so plan ahead. It's worth it.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    10
    4
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bend OR
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We were so happy to discover this little gem of a cafe! Not only is it clean as a pin, but the food is delicious! We had the flank steak sandwich & their specialty French onion soup. Both were "melt in your mouth" delicious. Plan to go back tomorrow, Saturday, to buy the Seven Grain Sourdough bread.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Korkifam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great find!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We stumbled on the Empire Cafe. We where looking for something place to eat dinner and the clean and inviting looks of the outside, made us decide to stop.

When we arrived it was just minutes before closing time for the restaurant, but without hesitation,we were invited in. The atmosphere is warm and the design is simple elegance. The menu is limited, but it still gives you options from fresh fish, and beef to pasta. My wife had the Butternut Ravioli's, with an amazing cream sauce. I had the fresh fried oysters, which was excellent as well. The prices are reasonable, they have a impressive selection of wines and the services was excellent.

A hidden treasure in Coos Bay. Make sure to put this restaurant on your short list when in the Coos Bay area. We plan to visit for lunch after a morning at Sunset Beach Park.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 75zedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medford, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Steak Sandwich You'll Think About...Until You Return to Have Another!”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

I eat at Empire Cafe about every three weeks and have reviewed this wonderful establishment before...but this time I want to review their Steak Sandwich. I came in about 3 weeks ago and had this wonderful creation of grilled and sliced steak and carmelized onions stacked on homemade/handmade/baked onsite ciabatta bread with either blue cheese (the superior option!) or Monterey Jack. I was literally looking forward to this sandwich (great for lunch or dinner) since my last trip to Coos Bay. And like some things that your memory can enhance over time...not so with this--it was every bit as delicious tonight as it was 3 weeks ago! This along with a Rogue Valley salad and a glass of Cab was perfecto!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StoneflyBri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Bend, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“great breads”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

eat in and take some home too. i especially enjoy the cinnamon raisin bread - delicious! lunch was very good as well.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank johnelrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Empire Cafe also viewed

Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing