We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice value-great cioppino”
Review of Fisherman's Grotto

Fisherman's Grotto
Ranked #44 of 79 Restaurants in Coos Bay
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice value-great cioppino”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We ate at Fisherman's Grotto twice while visiting the Oregon coast. While a VERY casual atmosphere, the food was delicious, and hot when served. Hubbie had the cioppino, which he declared to be some of the best ever, and my fish was, hot and not greasy. They make their own tartar sauce, and several other of the sauces. The clam chowder was delicious, also some of the best ever. The wait staff was very friendly, and made us feel at home. A nice selection of beers compliment the menu. We were not fans of the french fries (they were just the frozen kind), but the mashed red potatoes were good. A great value at a casual location.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    19
    8
    10
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bend OR
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Don't judge a book by its cover!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Yes, it's fight next to a fish plant. Yes, it's old & a bit run down. But if you are looking for the best clam chowder, ciopinno, or fish & chips, you MUST see Davene at Fisherman's Grotto. The locals know, & now you do too. It's worth the trip just to hear Kim's contagious laugh.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Korkifam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fresh and tasty”
Reviewed September 5, 2012 via mobile

Good value for the price, check the specials, very tasty, and fun. Clam chowder was good, order garlic bread with your meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dadeegreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Obnoxcious Service”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you enjoy listening to the horse laugh of a server, throughout your entire meal, then this is the restaurant for you to go to.

The food is o.k. The fish in the fish in chips was declicious, the fries not the best. Would I ever go back NO. Service was slow. And although our waitress was good about getting our food out and checking back with us, the overbearing laughter of the other waitress was unbearable. She stood over her customer's table and talked, and talked, and talked, until our waitress brought their order out. During this whole time she also laughed, and laughed, and laughed. To the point that when we left, I was a nervouse wreck.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank B S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbent, OR
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dirty, Dirty, Dirty”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Dirty air vents in ceiling, dirty food crumbs on floor under tables, dirty silverware on tables. Restaurant offers a variety of smells, and none of them good. Overwhelming fry oil smell permeates the dining room. Cleaning ammonia odor was so strong in the ladies restroom it almost caused an asthma attack. Ordered 3 piece fish and chips. Fish was plump and juicy, but coated in an underdone batter that needed to be picked off to be able to enjoy the fish. Chips were of the deep fat fried frozen variety kind. Coleslaw greatly benefited by a shake of salt. Food was OK, but the condition of the eatery was so filthy, I would never go back.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fisherman's Grotto also viewed

 
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
North Bend, Oregon Coast
 
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Fisherman's Grotto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing