We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Food Fare” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sharkbites

Sharkbites
Ranked #5 of 76 Restaurants in Coos Bay
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Food Fare”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Roaming around the Oregon coastline and nearly missed the sign for this eatery. My mom had the Clam Chowder which was awesome and not thick at all. The flavor was great and the potatoes were sliced thin instead of chunky. Her husband had the Beer battered Onion rings. Our server warned us they were good but we had no idea they would be THAT good. I enjoyed the Cod fillets with tartar sauce and coleslaw. The tartar sauce was creamy and a much lighter flavor which went great with the cod. My mother hates tartar sauce but she loved this one. Coleslaw had just the right amount of tangy. This is definitely a must for return visits so we can try out the rest of the menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RaeRaeSama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    146
    133
    47
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“below average service and food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2012

many good restaurants within walking distance of downtown. we chose wrong. We had a great meal at Bennettis later the same day.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank waterpup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, cleanliness issues”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

Foods was pretty good, but it was hard to look past the cleanliness issues. Highchair was so nasty had to wash hands and unusable. Floors dirty or unfinished. Not many seats.
The good: onion rings excellent, black bean sandwich very good but messy, beer battered fish was good but not as great as some reviews state. Very nice that they had fresh, hand-peeled and cut carrots for the kids meal

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PDX-FamilyTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Loved their clam chowder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Friday night was a VERY busy night there, so food took a bit of time to get to us. It was great, though. The chowder is on the thin, creamy side and out of the three chowders I tasted this weekend, was my favorite! If you order a bowl you will get a VERY generous, big portion. Their fish and chips were very tasty, also. Only one beer on tap, but they do have a decent bottled selection, and from the looks of the bar, you can also have a wide array of wines and spirits if you are so inclined. If I return to this neck of the woods, I will gladly eat here again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ArgentLupine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Layton, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A happy surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

The oysters at Sharkbites were the freshest-tasting we'd had on the coast. Excellent onion rings and cole slaw, too.,
Reasonably priced drinks and beer made it a perfect dinner for tired travellers. We hope to be back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Laytonian2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sharkbites also viewed

 
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to Sharkbites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing