We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”
Review of Hotel Condon

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Condon
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Condon
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Condon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I spent the night of my birthday at the hotel in February, part of a weekend checking historic hotels in NE Oregon. The special birthday attention was a pleasant surprise, including warm birthday wishes from Rachel, the assistant manager, and a free upgrade. But I imagine she's pleasant and helpful whether it's a birthday or not. The hotel interior itself is quite pleasing to the eye and unexpected in the remote town of Condon. It makes a great base for exploring nearby areas or just as a special night out. I was delighted with my discovery and look forward to a return visit.
Pat

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RetiredLastSummer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (145)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Condon
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 145 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had always been curious about the Hotel Condon having read about the history of the building and the region. We decided to have an adventure during Winter Break and made online reservations. Tha next day we headed East from Portland, stopping on the way at the new state park Cottonwood Canyon for hiking. We pulled into Condon and easily found the Hotel. Once inside we were met with very friendly staff, and a cozy and welcoming lobby. Our room was wonderful with a very comfortable bed. The sheets had a high thread count, very soft, much like sheets at home. The room was very clean. They have a wine and cheese time in the lobby every evening, a terrific way to relax after our drive. After a quiet night of sleep, we had a tasty continental breakfast here as well. Overall, we had a lovely experience at the Hotel Condon and would go back any time.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Wonderfully restored 18 room historic hotel - a must stay if you ever visit the area. The hotel offers old-world charm but with all the modern conveniences we all expect these days. Its location in the heart of Gilliam County, make it a perfect jumping-off point to explore the John Day River, or fossil beds.

Room Tip: Each room is unique - lots to choose from.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2013

My husband and I had a great weekend in the small town of Condon, Oregon this week, made all the better by our warm welcome and cozy room at the Hotel Condon. Wine and cheese in the evenings encouraged guests to visit with each other, and Powell's Bookstore has a space across the street in a fun gift shop (where we bought a French crepe pan!). Rachel, who comes over from Portland regularly to help out with the front desk, made our stay so interesting--she's helpful and informative, and tells great stories! My only suggestion would be that breakfast (continental) be a tiny bit more substantial, like maybe healthy muffins. Lots of hiking, hunting and fishing to burn calories! All in all, we're looking forward to our next trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aquaBend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

Can't say it much better than the other five star reviews. Will give a "shout out" to Rachel who hosted a wonderful wine and cheese hour and provided friendly and helpful information. We wanted an overnight visit to the Painted Hills and the surrounding towns and rural vistas. We got it and Hotel Condon provided a warm and inviting atmosphere. Would love to spend more time but one night and two days of touring made for an enjoyable experience for Portlanders.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wascocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I know everyone's tastes are different, but I found Condon Hotel super charming and quaint. The owner and his assistant are very friendly and helpful. It had the feel of a bed and breakfast, but the privacy and accomodations of an upscale hotel. We were very comfotable during our stay here and felt like guests of the community. Great downtown location too.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We had high expectations given the reviews and in our view the hotel does justify the positive reviews. Our room was exceptionally well-appointed, smartly presented, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Welcoming feel much enhanced by the opportunity to chat to other guests over the complimentary cheese and wine provided by the hotel. We were glad we chose to stay here, but, for the price, were a little disappointed by the limited selection for breakfast. That said, if we were passing through again we would nonetheless stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Overnight2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Condon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Condon

Address: 202 S Main St, Condon, OR 97823-2058
Location: United States > Oregon > Condon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Condon
Price Range: $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1920, The Historic Hotel Condon has been completely remodeled combining its historic charm with the luxury of modern amenities. The hotel offers 18 rooms and suites, several with double shower heads and/or claw foot tubs. Fold out sleeper sofas and roll away beds are available upon request. We offer a free classic continental breakfast for all of our guests everyday from 7:30 A.M. to 9:30 AM with an assortment of fresh fruit, cereal,yogurt, coffee and juices. The newly opened Rick's Speakeasy offers a diverse menu on Friday and Saturday nights from 4PM-9PM. Everything from 12 hour slow roasted Herb-Crusted Prime Rib, to seafood and pasta selections and nightly specials. Be sure to save room for house made desserts and ice cream! Gluten free and vegetarian options are available too! The taps at Rick's Speakeasy feature unique and local craft beer, and our souvenir growler is available for you to take them home with you! Due to the beautiful scenery and vast winding roads Condon is a destination location for many car clubs and motorcycle enthusiasts. Be sure to check out our farmers market, First Friday events including concerts in the park, and our great Gilliam County Fair in September! We are happy to arrange for your company party, corporate meetings and pre-wedding festivities in our private dining room. The city of Condon offers several options for meeting spaces. From its location in the scenic wheat county to the elegantly furnished guest rooms, Hotel Condon makes a unique and relaxing getaway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Hotel Condon Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing