We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Food in High Desert Oregon”
Review of The Round-Up Grill

The Round-Up Grill
Ranked #1 of 4 Restaurants in Condon
Restaurant details
Lake Oswego, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Local Food in High Desert Oregon”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Round Up Grill is great, solid food with lots of variety and a cowboy flair in this ranching high desert country in Central Oregon. Great basic foods of burgers and sandwiches. Tasty specials such as fish tacos that were so good had them three nights in a row. Lots of local art and photos on the walls including local cow brandings on the walls.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LyonsPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    9
    3
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington State
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Really good food and lots of it”
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Thankfully, they were open until 10pm because we blew into town a bit later than planned. Their chicken gumbo was killer good. Their halibut fish and chips was mighty fine. I had the chicken fried steak--enormous and delicious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LovesNeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baker County
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Early dinner”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

walking distance from the Hotel Condon. Be sure to get settled in your room in time for dinner before 8pm. (Condon has a movie theater across the street so eat real early and catch a show at 7pm)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank visitbaker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Astoria, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly great dining experience!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We were running late getting back to Condon from the John Day Fossil Beds. The Round-Up Grill kept their kitchen open late just for us! We were very happy with the quality of food and service at the grill. Salad was crisp and cold, steak was cooked to perfection, and the Philly Cheesesteak was great!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Baker_Bay_Bandits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grande, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An important asset for Condon!”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Condon is a teeny town with a very few businesses, and the Roundup Grill is a significant addition. If you're in the neighborhood, make it a point to stop!

I stopped here for breakfast and had a nice egg-white, veggie omelet that was perfectly cooked. No, they didn't have egg whites on the menu, but were happy to make it for me. Also, sweet potato home fries, and the toast!

They bake their own bread from wheat grown in the county. The toast is a bit crumbly, because generally soft white wheat doesn't hold together for bread flour, but the taste is wonderful. I bought a loaf of rye and a loaf of whole wheat to take home.

I can't wait to try lunch or dinner. A great meal, decent price.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kath541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Round-Up Grill also viewed

Been to The Round-Up Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing