We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best B+B I have ever stayed in. I...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandlake Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Cloverdale B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston, TX
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The Best B+B I have ever stayed in. I...”
Reviewed October 9, 2010

The Best B+B I have ever stayed in. I actually knew the co- owner Diane 29 years ago in northern California, but had been out of touch until recently. We were coming to the NW for vacation and decided to extend our roadtrip down to the Tillamook area so that we could stay at SCI. We had wanted the Starlight suite but it was booked and now we would request the Timbers because it was so awesome. It has the exposed ship timbers, nautical decor, a huge jacuzzi bath, a private patio, and best of all, a REAL fireplace. On a gloomy day, it is the perfect cozy hideaway. Diane and Ron are the perfect hosts, there when you need them and out of site all other times. As the other reviews say, the attention to detail is what makes this B+B the best. There is no stone left unturned. I especially enjoyed the library where I could take a paperback to go, the fabulous breakfast and pots of coffee delivered to the suite, and the art work and antiques everywhere. I have special dietary needs which were catered to also (Diane will accommodate vegans, gluten-free, sugar-free, etc.). This is a very romantic place and the guestbooks show that many people are celebrating anniversaries or on honeymoons. Only a mile to the beach, and in a beautiful wooded area with lots of charm, I highly recommend this Inn. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnviroSci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    169
    8
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
151
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2010

We found Sandlake Country Inn on the internet and decided to give it a try for a Labor Day weekend getaway. We had no idea what to expect, but the pictures looked great and the price was affordable for the coast. Any trepidation we might have had was gone the minute we were warmly welcomed on the front porch of the inn. This is a beautiful home built in 1894 from timber from a shipwreck and has been restored to a quaint lovely B&B. We were made to feel as if this was our own home. From the delicious cookies always available to the 4 course hot breakfast each day, our entire stay was DELICIOUS! We had our own private patio for eating, a jacuzzi bathtub and a huge poster bed full of soft cushions and linens. The room was clean, and we felt a million miles away from our daily grind. Each morning your breakfast is brought to your room..there is no group meal area, which we loved! It is less than a mile to the beach and 10 minutes from Pacific City. We enjoyed traveling and hiking through the 3 capes area. We will return again and again.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jillbo55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2010

This is truly a Country Inn. A very quiet, comfortable and relaxing place with excellent breakfasts. The hosts were great, and shared information on local places to go and do.

They made us feel like we were right at home. We loved it and will be back.

Dave and Cheryl

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyHikerDFT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2010

We stayed in the cottage, which is simply wonderful. A stream passes just outside the door. A jacuzzi rested our weary bones. Diane and Ron are terrific hosts, and we cannot recommend their country inn more highly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donaldo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 18, 2010

It was delightful. Listening for the knock on the door each morning and anticipating what was going to be waiting for us for breakfast was fun as was then sitting in our room and eating the delicious breakfast. At night we went out and enjoyed the clearness of the skies and constellations. The recommendations of the Innkeepers for restaurants and sites to see were "right on". Our stay was private, peaceful, relaxing and way to short. Lincoln, NE

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scodog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregom
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2010

The Sand Lake Country Inn has a lot going for it -- good location, attentive hospitality, quaint history, free wireless, in-suite Jacuzzi -- but we would never return. Why? The first B.

The positives -- a mile from a secluded estuary, in the heart the gorgeous 3 Caves area of the mid-coast, spacious quarters, excellent guidance -- are undeniable. BUT -- and it s a deal breaker -- the bed in our upstairs suite was undersized and flaccid -- so uncomfortable that we considered fleeing in the middle of the night. It was like trying to sleep in a receding swamp. You'd think proprietors who get most other things right would invest in some decent beds.

One other quibble and one heads-up that may appeal to some and turn others off. There was a mildew-like order that would not go away -- not pervasive, but distinct enough to be noticed. Maybe par for a beach locale? And if you consider swapping stories at breakfast as a plus for choosing a B & B, this is not the place. Breakfast is served in-room and is ample with good home-roasted coffee. but you are likely as not never to encounter a fellow traveler. So add a star for privacy and subtract one for community.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Edward H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastlvr, Owner at Sandlake Country Inn, responded to this review, September 15, 2010
We are saddened that these guest's experience with us did not meet their expectations. We take all reviews and feedback seriously and will do our best to fix or change things when possible. It seems that the guests enjoyed their stay with us except for the bed. When choosing beds, we have tried to purchase beds that would suit all tastes and needs. The bed in the upstairs suite was purchased approximately 1 year ago, is a standard queen size (not undersized) and is a Eurotop luxury bed. It seems that it wasn't the best fit for this couple and in the future we will solicit feedback from our guests to make sure they find it comfortable or it will be replaced.

It seems that this guest would have preferred a traditional style bed and breakfast with a communal breakfast service and more social interaction with the other guests. Our style here at Sandlake Country Inn is to offer romance and privacy for couples who are looking for private time and appreciate the opportunity to reconnect with each other. Again, it seems that we were not the perfect fit for this guest but we feel that our website clearly defines what we offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Very quiet setting located near the beach. Of special note was the privacy of our stay with a four course breakfast brought to our room. Very
friendly innkeepers who offered lots of good ideas about the surrounding area including a tour of their historical Inn. Amenities of special note included fireplace, jacuzzi, robes, and special coffees and cookies. Very unique in many ways.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillMarleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloverdale
6.2 mi away
Inn At Cape Kiwanda
Inn At Cape Kiwanda
#1 of 3 in Pacific City
502 reviews
12.7 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Tillamook
17.8 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.1 mi away
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
Liberty Inn Lincoln City
#17 of 35 in Lincoln City
370 reviews
6.2 mi away
Cottages at Cape Kiwanda
Cottages at Cape Kiwanda
#2 of 3 in Pacific City
50 reviews
22.2 mi away
Surftides Lincoln City
Surftides Lincoln City
#9 of 35 in Lincoln City
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandlake Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandlake Country Inn

Property: Sandlake Country Inn
Address: 8505 Galloway Rd, Cloverdale, OR 97112-9701
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cloverdale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cloverdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandlake Country Inn, located just 10 minutes north of Pacific City, is a romantic secret hideaway nestled on the scenic Oregon coast. As a true country inn, we offer 24 hour service and room service lunch & dinner meals. Our historic farmhouse built from shipwrecked bridge timbers in 1894, is located in a country setting just 1 mile from the ocean. Experience the luxury and privacy of the 3 large suites in our historic farm house, and for the ultimate of privacy we also have a separate romantic Honeymoon Cottage situated on a babbling brook. Breakfast and beverages are delivered to your door. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Pacific City
Pacific City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing