We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful anniversary experience! Plus some things to consider.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandlake Country Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Sandlake Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Cloverdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delightful anniversary experience! Plus some things to consider.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

First off, we came here for our anniversary and stayed in the Timbers room, the one with the big jacuzzi tub. Let me confirm that the tub does fit two six-foot-tall people! And it comes kitted out with bubble bath. Right outside the door is the common room with a variety of very good regional wines to pick from if you didn't pick up your own on the way in at not too much of a markup (we like to poke around at wineries on our travels, but we also pulled from the selection on premise).

The location is private and the grounds are private (we got lost in the blackberry maze when we arrived, eating berries and spoiling our dinner)! We liked to sit on the back porch in our chairs. The innkeepers are private people and stay out of your way or are happyto engage you with conversation, should you desire. The filet mignon was flavorful and recommended. The portions for breakfast, dinner, and the picnic basket are all very generous. I think we ate only one meal not from the Inn on our three-night trip!

Here are some considerations:

1) There are two entrances to the room, one from the front which comes directly off the common room, and one off the back, which has its own little porch covered in wisteria. The door and wall adjoining the common room are very easy to hear through. If you like to sleep in past 8am, you might be disturbed. I used my ear plugs and eye mask, and I am not sure how the owners could make this less so without rearranging the house's internal structure. It's an old, quaint house. I'm sure doing so would detract from its charms.

2) The room is clean. I rolled around on the floor doing my nightly back stretches. This is the gold standard of cleanliness: when I stood up, nothing was stuck to me or my clothing. So many hotels fail on this. But if you pull aside furniture from the walls, you might find an old cobweb or two. It's a quaint inn. I was not alarmed. The lack of floor dirt and dust was more than satisfactory.

3) The breakfasts are BIG. You might have to limit yourself to two meals a day, they are so big!

4) The jacuzzi tub is BIG and clean and private. You can live in it if you want to. We did!

5) The room has a VHS/DVD player. It's very nice to cuddle on the couch and watch some of the selections from the library off the common room. Or you can always bring your own :)

6) No coverage for Virgin Mobile, but free wifi and an in-house telephone should do the trick. (But, seriously, you're on vacation. Let go of your network and live a little!)

We had a very good stay here and will most likely return. I removed one star only because of my poor sleeping when people would get their coffee in the common room in the morning. That was an issue for me, but it might not be an issue for people who go to bed before 2am! My husband, who gets to bed at a reasonable hour, had the best time ever, and would surely have given this 5 stars.

Room Tip: Timbers Suite has a huge jacuzzi tub for two, but may not be great for light sleepers who sleep past...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    8
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
148
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

This inn was very lovely, with a gorgeous, very private setting. Perfect for a romantic getaway. Diane was a fabulous hostess, and the breakfast was just unsurpassed, served in your private room for extra coziness! The grounds were gorgeous, with lots of birds all over the place, and nice paths to walk out around the property and bird-watch and appreciate the setting. Big bathroom with a roomy jacuzzi tub. Super comfortable bed and lovely bedding. Screen windows for nice night air, which we enjoyed. Just a very short drive to an estuary and the beach. The only negative was that the small refrigerator upstairs had not been cleaned before we arrived, and was dirty.

Room Tip: We recommend the upstairs Starlight Room, which has an outdoor rooftop deck just off the master bedr...
See more room tips
Green Features: They serve a nice organic coffee, that was delicious. Not aware of other factors.
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were blown away by the Sandlake Country Inn. We did not know what to expect but our expectations were exceeded in every way. The room was luxurious, with every detail taken care of, logs in the fireplace ready to go, bathrobes, spacious jacuzzi and so much more. Diane was the perfect gracious hostess. The breakfast was ample and delicious: fresh french-pressed coffee, amazing quiche, fresh pumpkin bread. Thank you Diane and Ron for a wonderful experience. We will be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jefferson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, OK
Level Contributor
208 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014

A lovely quiet retreat very close to many points of interest, including the three capes area. Great innkeepers with a great list to "to-do's". Gourmet breakfasts were art! Beautiful setting. Romantic!

Room Tip: The starlight suite was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastlvr, Owner at Sandlake Country Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Sheryl, it was so great having you stay with us and being able to share our beautiful Three Capes Scenic Loop area. I'm glad our places to explore list was helpful in finding off the beaten track beauty. I'm looking forward to seeing some of the wonderful pictures you took and offered to share with us.

If you're ever traveling to Oregon in the future, we love to see you again.

Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2014

This is the third time we have stayed here. we always have an amazing time! Diane is always a wonderful hostess she makes the best food and her coffee is the best, we never have to ask for anything when we stay there. I would always recommend staying at the SLCI.I always try to go once a year and will always stay there when we are at the coast.... Can't write enough about sandlake country inn.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bonneylake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastlvr, Owner at Sandlake Country Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review! We're so honored that you continue to return year after year. Our 4 course breakfast and home roasted coffee delivered to your door each morning really helps make for a romantic getaway, don't you think?

Thank you again for your lovely review!

Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molalla, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2014

Diana by far is the Best hostess world wide! She goes the extra mile to accommodate and make sure you are totally satisfied from the food to the warm smile she has to share that just make your stay comfortable and never wanting to leave! This is the Best place to stay hands down for any getaway you are taking, its cozy and romantic and made me feel like a queen! We will return any time we can! Thanks to you both for sharing this wonderful time with us! You are Amazing!

Room Tip: The starlight sweet is a dream come true!
See more room tips
Green Features: Everthing about this place is perfect. The glass bottles for shampoo and bubble bath were a great way of minimizing extra waste as with small sample bottles, smart choice,
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank insidenout10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coastlvr, Owner at Sandlake Country Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! We are so happy you had such a great stay with us, but I don't do it all myself! For the past 13 years, Ron and I together have found great joy in creating a private, romantic environment for our guests. We look forward to your return visit!

Diane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

This is our second stay at SLCI and we are even more impressed the second time around. We stayed in the Timber Suite this time and it was amazing. The room is beautiful and the accommodations clean and comfortable. We planned our first wedding anniversary weekend at SLCI because of how great the stay was our first trip and we couldn't be happier with our decision. The breakfasts were absolutely delicious and reminded both my wife and I of the home cooking we grew up with down in Texas. We decided to have our dinner at SLCI on Saturday evening and if you've never eaten dinner during your stay PLAN on it next time. The filet was buttery tender and everything was perfectly cooked. A three course, gourmet dinner for two for only $65?! I challenge you to find a better meal for a better price anywhere on the coast. It truly is a "home away from home" and is a steal at the cost per night. We are already planning our next visit and can't wait to go back. Five stars all around!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePhiffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloverdale
6.3 mi away
Inn At Cape Kiwanda
Inn At Cape Kiwanda
#1 of 3 in Pacific City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
17.8 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
6.2 mi away
Cottages at Cape Kiwanda
Cottages at Cape Kiwanda
#2 of 3 in Pacific City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Pelican Shores Inn
Pelican Shores Inn
#2 of 36 in Lincoln City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,029 reviews
7.2 mi away
Surf & Sand Inn
Surf & Sand Inn
#1 of 1 in Pacific City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pacific City RV & Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandlake Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandlake Country Inn

Property: Sandlake Country Inn
Address: 8505 Galloway Rd, Cloverdale, OR 97112-9701
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cloverdale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cloverdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandlake Country Inn, located just 10 minutes north of Pacific City, is a romantic secret hideaway nestled on the scenic Oregon coast. As a true country inn, we offer 24 hour service and room service lunch & dinner meals. Our historic farmhouse built from shipwrecked bridge timbers in 1894, is located in a country setting just 1 mile from the ocean. Experience the luxury and privacy of the 3 large suites in our historic farm house, and for the ultimate of privacy we also have a separate romantic Honeymoon Cottage situated on a babbling brook. Breakfast and beverages are delivered to your door. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Pacific City
Pacific City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing