We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secluded Country Getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandlake Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Cloverdale B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Secluded Country Getaway”
Reviewed July 20, 2008

As we pulled up to the Sandlake Country Inn, I was concerned that being in a place with no cel reception and only a satellite internet connection would send me into delerium tremens. However, upon being so warmly greeted by Diane and showed to the luxurious Rose Garden Room, I quickly forgot about my gadgets. With only a one night stay, we took Diane's suggestion and drove the Scenic Loop and had a great dinner at Roseanne's in Oceanside.

The accommodations were a delight. The jacuzzi tub was the perfect cap to a gorgeous day, and the king-sized bed had the softest featherbed imaginable.

The piece de resistance was the amazing breakfast, served en suite. I love B&Bs, but my least favorite part is usually the communal breakfast in the morning, since I'm not the most social person before lunch time. That morning, we were served homemade granola, a fresh pastry with bavarian cream, eggs in a creative canadian bacon "bowl", and fresh peach muffins. Amazing!

Diane and Ron are wonderful hosts. We've stayed at many B&Bs, but this was among the most relaxing and comfortable. I didn't miss my iPhone once. Highly recommended!

  • Liked — breakfast, jacuzzi tub, short distance to beach and scenic drives
  • Disliked — spotty internet access
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank technoluxe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    8
    2
    1
    5
See reviews for
5
148
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2008

We stayed at the Sandlake Country Inn for a week on our honeymoon. It was the most glorious and romantic week we have ever experienced. We stayed in the Timbers room and had our own private patio which we shared with wild birds, resident chipmunks and Sandy (the inn keepers’ dog). The room was rustic, comfortable and private. The whirlpool tube was fantastic after a long day of site seeing. We awoke each morning to fresh coffee delivered to our door and a short time later a delicious gourmet breakfast was delivered. In the evenings we enjoyed a fire in our real wood burning fireplace. Diane and Ron, the innkeepers, were at our beck and call when needed and totally invisible when not needed. Diane and Ron helped make our honeymoon one we will treasure forever.

  • Stayed July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SteveTonya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2008

My husband and I were looking for a nice romantic place to celebrate our 15th wedding anniversary. Online we saw the website for Sandlake Country Inn and immediately knew that this was the place to try.
We were amazed and delighted by the charm and hospitality of the Inn and Innkeepers. It was everything and more than we anticipated!! Beautiful grounds, great breakfast delivered right to our door each morning, and all the rooms are decorated with a different theme. We stayed in the "Cottage" which we highly recomend to any couple looking for a most romantic, private, and serene get-away!!
We loved it and can't wait to return again!!
Kevin and Lisa Irvin
Tualatin, OR

  • Liked — The comfort and charm of the whole experience
  • Disliked — Poor cell phone reception
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kevlvr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oregon
1 review
Reviewed July 3, 2008

We loved the Sandlake Country Inn so much that we came back, this time to stay upstairs in the Starlight Suite. We had the entire floor to ourselves with a sitting room, fireplace, oversized jetted tub, 2 tvs with dvd players, private deck with teleschope and lots of little extras like lotions, bath oils and soaps. We LOVE the gourmet breakfasts and the togetherness basket, the croquet and cheese fondue! Can't say enough good. After 4 children and dental school, we were ready for a get-away and we chose the perfect spot! We went horseback riding on the beach one day and shopping at the outlets the next. We'll be back next year, for sure! So peaceful, private and quiet! Just what we needed for sure!!! Thanks so much Diane and Ron!!!

  • Liked — yummy breakfasts, cozy accomadations
  • Disliked — A bit of a drive to get there.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lkpyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2008

We loved the privacy of The Cottage! We stayed 2 nights and couldn't have been happier! The cottage is your own small, private house with a living room, fireplace, bedroom, full kitchen, spa tub and even a little patio deck overlooking a brook. This was our last get away before our first child is born in July and it couldn't have been more relaxing! A wonderful breakfast is delivered in a large basket to your front door each morning! The cottage boasts privacy and romance. We arranged for the "anniversary package" and found chocolates, rose petals, soft music, and sparkling cider on ice (usually you get Champagne, due to pregnancy we requested cider) on our arrival. It was very romantic.

We really enjoyed the little brook that passes by the bedroom deck, and the jetted tub that is large enough for two!

A great place to stay! Diane and Ron are a pure joy to do business with! We will be telling friends about this place for sure!

  • Liked — Privacy
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Lis8198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2008

I could not say enough about how wonderful this place is. We stayed for a weekend to celebrate our 7 year anniversary and this was our 2nd time with Diane and Ron at the Inn. They are so dedicated and friendly towards all of their quest.

We love it that we get spoiled when we come here. From all the personal touches that shine through to the extreme privacy you receive. The coast just minutes away and some of the best little restaurants like Rosanna's Cafe is a definite stop for the location and a great meal. It is a small romantic place so you should go before 5pm or you can wait for a table which I think is worth it.

We love it here at Sandlake Country Inn and I am constantly telling all of my friends and relatives they must stay at least once here. Dianne is the best cook there is. Her breakfast is to die for. Ron is a relaxed and fun guy to talk with. These two people make the experience a joy to stay at such a wonderful place.

  • Liked — The location, service, privacy and Jacuzzi tub for two :)
  • Disliked — Absolutlely nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ColletteandJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard OR
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2008

We can't say enough about our weekend getaway to the Sandlake Country Inn. The location is secluded and although there are four rooms that were all booked during our stay, we never saw anyone but the innkeepers. So private and romantic...we appreciated the countless small touches that made us feel pampered. The breakfasts were phenomenal and we love that they are delivered to the room!! We have and will continue to unreservedly recommend this inn to anyone looking for a romantic honeymoon-like vacation.

  • Liked — private and secluded, cozy and charming, tastiest breakfasts ever
  • Disliked — not a thing!
  • Stayed April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michelleandjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloverdale
6.2 mi away
Inn At Cape Kiwanda
Inn At Cape Kiwanda
#1 of 3 in Pacific City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 476 reviews
17.8 mi away
Garibaldi House Inn & Suites
6.2 mi away
Cottages at Cape Kiwanda
Cottages at Cape Kiwanda
#2 of 3 in Pacific City
5.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Surf & Sand Inn
Surf & Sand Inn
#1 of 1 in Pacific City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
6.2 mi away
Shorepine Vacation Rentals
Shorepine Vacation Rentals
#2 of 4 in Pacific City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
4.7 mi away
Pacific City RV & Camping Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandlake Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandlake Country Inn

Property: Sandlake Country Inn
Address: 8505 Galloway Rd, Cloverdale, OR 97112-9701
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cloverdale
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Cloverdale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sandlake Country Inn, located just 10 minutes north of Pacific City, is a romantic secret hideaway nestled on the scenic Oregon coast. As a true country inn, we offer 24 hour service and room service lunch & dinner meals. Our historic farmhouse built from shipwrecked bridge timbers in 1894, is located in a country setting just 1 mile from the ocean. Experience the luxury and privacy of the 3 large suites in our historic farm house, and for the ultimate of privacy we also have a separate romantic Honeymoon Cottage situated on a babbling brook. Breakfast and beverages are delivered to your door. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Country Inn Pacific City
Pacific City Country Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing