We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food”

Sam's Restaurant and Lounge
Ranked #4 of 84 Restaurants in Clackamas
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2014

We have had breakfast, lunch and dinner here over the last 30 years. Also have had a number of large group events. We are always pleased with the service and quality of food. We often meet friends for a great breakfast. Most recently had lunch with my daughter. We totally enjoy the atmosphere as well as the meal. Renate is very friendly and efficient but also knows when to let us just enjoy a nice converstion with friends. We will be back soon.
Chuck,
Clackamas, OR

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Sam's Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, February 13, 2014
Dear Judy and Chuck -

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experiences with Sam's, Renate and the Monarch. It has been our pleasure to serve you over the past 29 years and we look forward to the opportunity of serving you for many more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    11
    4
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clackamas, Oregon
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My gathering place! The best place in town to eat.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

I brought two friends to Sam's who had never been, and now it is their favorite place too. Renate always gives the best service, I enjoy it each and every time.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ginny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Sam's Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Ginny -

Thank you for posting about Sam's Restaurant and everyone's favorite lunch server, Renate.
We are glad to be your favorite gathering place and appreciate you bringing your friends in so they may share in the experience of Sam's.

Thank you for your continued business! We look forward to serving you for many years to come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Great Lunch Spot!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

Always friendly service and great food! Renate is always our waitress and takes excellent care of us. She knows what we typically like and is always ready to offer suggestions. Their lunch specials are always outstanding!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kimberly D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Sam's Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Kimberly -

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about Sam's Restaurant at the Monarch. We appreciate your continued patronage! Keep your eyes open for our new lunch specials coming in a couple of weeks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa
Level Contributor
171 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“A great place for breakfast.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

I'm asking myself why I haven't walked up at night for a cocktail at the bar, but I haven't. I have had many breakfasts at Sam's at the Monarch. Last time I went, the waitress recognized me though it had been quite a while since I'd been there. The breakfasts are, well, very good, and the service is first-rate. Sam's (and the Monarch) are a short walk from the Courtyard, where we are very regular visitors. But the Courtyard's breakfasts lack variety and are just OK. The food at Sam's is a huge improvement.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank srca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Sam's Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for your review of Sam's Restaurant at the Monarch Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to comment on our breakfast menu and staff and think you would enjoy the cocktails and service in our Lounge (open until 2:30am!) just as well. Plus, if you stay with us, it is even a shorter walk! :)

Thank you again for your comments. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sam's Restaurant, Monarch Hotel Portland, OR!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

Held our National Gamewardens of Vietnam Reunion at this hotel in 1998. Have been visiting on a weekly basis for the past several years with my brother for lunch once a week. Renate is a very helpful server in the Restaurant. Thank you, Renate!!!!
Larry Bissonnette

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Sam's Restaurant and Lounge, responded to this review, December 18, 2013
Dear Larry -

Thank you for your comments regarding Renate, as well as the compliment of visiting us in Sam's weekly! We appreciate your continued patronage!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sam's Restaurant and Lounge also viewed

Clackamas, Clackamas County
Clackamas, Clackamas County
 
Clackamas, Clackamas County
Clackamas, Clackamas County
 
Oregon City, Clackamas County
Clackamas, Clackamas County
 

Been to Sam's Restaurant and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing