We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Portland Clackamas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Portland Clackamas
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clackamas
Seaside, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2007

The hotel is off the freeway and accessible to Portland by 20 minute drive. But when we got back to the hotel in the early evening, we found the experience enjoyable. Though a business hotel, it is freshly updated and the little extras (nacho chips in the lobby, cookies at arrival) made it feel cozy and comfortable. The rooms are small, but clean and well appointed, with great linens and good beds. Breakfast had enough options for most diets and tastes. I was most impressed with the service. It was a busy hotel and all staff from front desk to food service and housekeeping staff were intentionally friendly and appreciative of our business. The business center was great for last minute maps and the jacuzzi was a nice addition for the end of the day ahhhhh. Well done Hampton Clackamas.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mysticalmind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    166
    115
    68
    27
See reviews for
188
137
47
171
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2006

My husband & I stayed at this hotel on 7/4/06-7/05/06. We were on a driving trip up the West Coast, from San Diego to Seattle and back. This was one of our longer driving days, we were very exhausted, and it was around midnight when we checked in. We chose this hotel before our trip for basically three reasons: 1)We had some family in Oregon City, so this hotel put us slightly closer to them than a Portland hotel would have, 2)We've stayed at many Hampton Inns before and they have always been of similar, very nice standards, and 3)We saw there was an Old Spaghetti Factory listed close to the hotel. We only ended up staying at this hotel for about 10 hours, and if it hadn't been so late when we checked in and if we hadn't been so exhausted, we might have put up more of a fight or changed hotels altogether. But we figured we'd just bear it overnight. I never had any interaction with the front desk or staff, but my husband did, and he said things there seemed very disorganized, and they weren't very helpful with our few requests. My main issue immediately upon entering the hotel was the smell, and it unfortunately was even worse in the room itself. I thought maybe it was some overwhelming cleaning products used in the carpets or something, but my husband said it smelled like mold, and seemed to be originating from the A/C wall unit. The smell was so overpowering, it just made the entire experience in the room very bad. We turned off the A/C unit and opened the windows all night, in hopes of lessening the smell, but it didn't help much, and there was lots of noise outside and next door from our neighbors, who I guess were reveling into the wee hours after the 4th of July. The room was very small, and we were extremely surprised and disappointed to find NO refrigerator or microwave, which are supposed to be standard at all Hampton Inns! I should also mention that my husband travels so much on business that he is a Gold VIP member for this branch of hotels, so we're very familiar with what a Hampton Inn should be. It became very clear from our short stay that this hotel is NOT a true Hampton Inn, but a poorly done conversion. They have slapped on some Hampton Inn signs and decorations, but very little, if any, of the Hampton Inn quality or amenities were present. The smell in the room was so permeating that the nightgown I slept in at the hotel that night still carried the awful smell from the room when I pulled it out of my suitcase a few days later in another city. Considering we didn't even check in until after midnight, we left quite quickly around 10:30am, but we still had more unpleasant experiences in that short stay. I was awoken several times during the night by loud bangs that shook the room and people's loud voices, and for the first time in many many years (back when we couldn't afford to stay anywhere but low quality hotels) I didn't feel very safe in the room, and was kind of afraid to go back to sleep, because I felt like someone might enter our room. I guess I wasn't completely off, as around 8:30am in the morning after we had woken up, I thought I heard a small knock, but I couldn't tell if it was at our door or someone else's. My husband was just getting out of bed to check it out, when we heard our door opening and someone starting to come in. Assuming it was maid service, my husband called out "Hold on, hold on!" and whoever it was quickly closed the door and disappeared. I understand maid service needing to service rooms, but they are supposed to adequately knock before entering, and they should have known we were checking out, so in a short time the room would be clear for them anyways. In all our hotel stays, I've never had this happen with staff surprising us by entering the room almost completely unannounced! And after reading some of the other reviews about how their personal food was stolen from the room and remnants found in the service elevator, it makes me wonder if someone was perhaps up to something more sinister in entering our room. Regardless, the only good thing I can say is that it was a short drive to the Old Spaghetti Factory, but I'm sure there are other hotels close by, or given the choice I would rather have stayed further away at a better hotel. Like I said, if we hadn't been so exhausted, we wouldn't have been able to tolerate these standards, but we were desperate to get some sleep, and then we got the heck out of there a few hours later, and didn't even bother with breakfast, so I can't report on how this aspect compared to other Hampton Inns. As a comparison, a few nights later on our drive back south, we stayed at a Hampton Inn in Redding, CA, where we paid $10 more than we did in Clackamas, but the quality was so much better I can't even put into words. The rooms in Redding were spacious, smelled fine, looked very nice, and had microwave and fridge along with coffee, tea and popcorn. The price in Clackamas is not so cheap that it's worth such poor quality, in my opinion. I would certainly not stay here again, and it was a big negative on our trip (and on my husband's birthday, too!!), so I would advise anyone else to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2006

Not a bad little hotel. One of the older Hamptons but clean and close to lots of stuff. Cathy at the front desk was just great! The breakfasts are always great! For the price it can't be beat

Helpful?
1 Thank a_really_red_dress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2006

We read the earlier reviews and requested a room away from the freeway. Our request was honored. The room was quiet, clean, and comfortable. It was inexpensive to begin with, made even more so with an AARP discount.

Check-in staff was particularly welcoming and helpful, and breakfast was adequate. Hampton Inn, Clackamas made a good first impression. We would stay at a Hampton Inn again.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Maisie2290
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2005

The hotel is sandwiched by the freeway, a busy highway, and a very busy street. The freeway is elevated, so on many floors, you get lights and noise.... BE SURE to ask for a room away from the freeway. They have a map, but it doesn't begin to tell the story. In addition, the toilet, malfunctioned and in three days and two nights, we couldn't get anybody to fix it.

Furthermore, we left food in our room which disappeared within 15min of us leaving the room. the containers were found in the service well.

The good thing is that Hampton refunded our money...kept their word..surprising in this day.

  • Stayed October 2005, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
westminster
Level Contributor
114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2005

The desk clerk was very pleasant on check-in, but unable to answer any questions. As Hilton Diamond VIP member we asked if she had been able to upgrade us which is one of the perks for achieving that level in the frequent guest program. She said she didn't know. We then asked what type of room we had been assigned and she again said she didn't know, On the way to the room we noticed a strong, unpleasant moldy odor. The room also smelled very badly. We opened the window hoping to air out the room and went down to the Manager's Reception. When we asked where the wine was , the same clerk said she thought the Manager went out to get some, but again didn't know when or if the manager would return. The snacks consisted of a bowl of tortilla chips, a bowl of salsa and some popcorn. We left and returned to the room. The noise from the open window and the adjacent highway was very loud. We decided to leave and when we asked the same desk clerk if she would cancel the charge, she said she would try, but it was a new computer system and she HOPED it would cancel it. This experience was time consuming and frustrating. We eventually checked into another hotel for the night.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank countessjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
185 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2005

After travelling all day from the East Coast to reach PDX, we drove about 12 miles on an Interstate to reach the Hampton Inn in Clackamas. Upon arrival, we were thrilled to find that they provided some snacks, sodas, wine and beer. It was perfect because we were tired and weren't that hungry so we didn't feel like going out to find a restaurant (even the Dennys that is just a few steps away). Rooms were clean and quiet, the staff was friendly and helpful, and like all Hamptons they provided a nice breakfast in the morning. We had considered staying in downtown Portland since we planned on spending a day exploring the city, but it was just as well that we stayed in Clackamas since it was an easy drive to the Portland Zoo and Rose Gardens (though there is certainly plenty of traffic around Portland!). Anyway, the Hampton Inn is highly recommended in my book.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Oskarduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Clackamas
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites Clackamas
Comfort Suites Clackamas
#6 of 8 in Clackamas
3.5 of 5 bubbles 105 reviews
1.4 mi away
Courtyard Portland Southeast/Clackamas
1.5 mi away
Monarch Hotel and Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Plus Rivershore Hotel
2.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portland SE-Clackamas Area
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Clackamas Portland
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Portland Clackamas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Portland Clackamas

Property: Hampton Inn Portland Clackamas
Address: 9040 SE Adams St, Clackamas, OR 97015-9501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Clackamas County > Clackamas
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Clackamas
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Portland Clackamas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Clackamas is located in Clackamas's Southeast Portland neighborhood, close to Clackamas Promenade, North Clackamas Aquatic Park, and Kaiser Permanente Sunnyside Medical Center. Nearby points of interest also include Clackamas Town Center Mall and Clackamas Town Center. Hampton Inn Clackamas features a restaurant. A complimentary hot/cold buffet breakfast is served each morning. Guests can enjoy a complimentary evening social available on Mondays, Tuesdays, Wednesdays, and Thursdays. Recreational amenities include a spa tub and a 24-hour fitness facility. This hotel has a 24-hour business center and offers a meeting/conference room. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in public areas. Self parking is complimentary. Additional property amenities include laundry facilities, express check-in, and express check-out. 114 air-conditioned guestrooms at Hampton Inn Clackamas feature coffee/tea makers and safes. Bathrooms feature complimentary toiletries and hair dryers. Wireless Internet access is complimentary. In addition to complimentary newspapers, guestrooms offer free local calls (restrictions may apply). Televisions have premium cable channels, video-game consoles, and pay movies. Windows that open, blackout drapes/curtains, and irons/ironing boards are also provided. Guests may request refrigerators, microwaves, and wake-up calls. Housekeeping is available daily. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Hampton Inn Portland Clackamas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Portland Clackamas Hotel Clackamas
Hampton Inn Clackamas
Clackamas Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing