We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Monarch Hotel and Conference Center
Nearby Hotels
$110
$94
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
Hampton.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$143
Courtyard
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$94
$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Average 3/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Clackamas Inn & Suites(Clackamas)(Great Value!)
$99
$93
Priceline
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
$102
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Econo Lodge Southeast(Milwaukie)(Great Value!)
$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
$93
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (279)
Filter reviews
279 results
Traveler rating
111
90
45
17
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
111
90
45
17
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskroom was cleanclackamas town centershopping mallrestaurant staffchecking inconvenient locationmini fridgegreat customer servicestaff was very friendlyparking lotportland areabrunchloungeangieshuttlesams
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
161 - 166 of 279 reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The bed, the room, the furnishings, etc, were all about 4 star, very good, but the hallways, etc, are very drab, and the rooms did not seem very well insulated from noise. Reviews which mention that this is an older hotel refurbished but not quite up to the higher standards of a new hotel seemed accurate.

Some people are very sensitive to noise, and I'm one of them. We were not facing the freeway, but an internal court, so freeway noise was not an issue. If a little noise doesn't bother you, you could take this as a 4 star. If you are bothered, well, the doors to the hallway were not well sealed at all. There was a gap underneath and along the side. You could hear people talking loudly in the hall in the morning and doors slamming down the hall at night. Someone also decided to start pacing in the room overhead shortly after midnight. I couldn't figure out what on earth he/she might be doing, but it was fairly loud, and it went on intermittently for almost five minutes. Anyway, maybe I just had the wrong room, but it wasn't quiet enough for me. The restaurant seemed nice, we had breakfast there. The staff was also friendly and polite.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joevincent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear Joe -

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments about your stay at the Monarch. We appreciate the honest feedback!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Stayed at the Monarch during the last week of March of 2014. Hotel was conveniently located for Clackamas County with easy access to I-205 North and South. Room was a good value for the money. Hotel was a little dated but well kept. Room was clean upon arrival and housekeeping was on the ball every day. TV, coffee maker, fridge all worked fine. Linens and towels were clean.

I was at the far end of the 2nd floor next to the stairwell and found the room to be quiet. Only real noise was from the people on the 3rd floor who seemed to have a very heavy step. Rarely saw other guests in the hallways and there was no hallway noise to speak of.

Plenty of parking every day. Note that I don't think any major conferences were held that week.

I didn't eat in the hotel, but there were plenty of other restaurants in walking distance, even in the rain. The Old Spaghetti Factory was across the street and Chevys / Red Robin were about a block down the same road. If you stay here be sure to check out Gustav's, a German restaurant just across the freeway on SE 97th. There is a large mall just a city block or two away with many more food options, and Target is 1/2 block away for those forgotten items.

Freeway and highway access are great. You can get onto the I-205 immediately by the hotel. There is also easy access to 212/224 for heading east.

Overall a very good value for the money. Yes the hotel could use an update, but it was clean and comfortable as it was. It was a clean, quiet, safe place to return to each day.

I didn't really interact with the staff except at check-in and check-out. Both of those went smoothly. Staff I passed in the hallway seemed to be friendly when not otherwise occupied.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil97023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Phil97023 -

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at the Monarch Hotel. We are glad to hear that you found your stay enjoyable and a good value for your money.

Phil, we appreciate your business and hope to have you as our guest again in the future!

Thank you again for the post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

The hotel rooms are ok but not a value for money. However their front desk folks are very rude and not willing to help customers. Not a suitable place for families. One advantage is proximity to the 205 freeway.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BizWhiz22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Dear BizWhiz22 -

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your recent stay at the Monarch.

While the Monarch is primarily a conference hotel, we do cater to a wide variety of guests including associations, tour busses, sports teams and individual travelers. We are located near the Clackamas Town Center, which houses a 20 screen theatre and numerous shopping and dining options, as well as the North Clackamas Aquatic Park, both of which offer a selection of activities for families. Our outdoor, seasonal pool was unfortunately not open during your stay and unavailable for any children traveling with you.

We have shared your comments about the Front Desk staff with the appropriate manager so she may address the perception of her employees.

Thank you for your post.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014

We celebrated our 50th high school reunion using the Monarch banquet facilities in August 2013. BJ was the crew chief that day and did a wonderful job of accommodating our needs. The service was good, the food was good and the cooperation was superb. Everyone had a grand time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear David -

Thank you for taking the time to write in about the David Douglas 50th class reunion. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your event and the service provided by your Banquet Captain,
BJ. We look forward to serving many more classes of DDHS alums. Go Scots!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We go to Sam's (the bar) at the Monarch a few times a month. The food is very good and we always get great service! This is a fantastic place to go for a drink and some food, before or after an event or just for a place to relax and enjoy. The bartender is very friendly and accommodating.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Hobiep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MonarchClackamas, Director of Sales at Monarch Hotel and Conference Center, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Hobiep -

Thank you for sharing your comments about Sam's. We are glad to hear that you enjoy the atmosphere, food and staff of our lounge. We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you for many years to come!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews