We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay near Crater Lake”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lonesome Duck Ranch & Resort
Reviewed July 16, 2012

We stayed at the Settlement House on property which is a very classy B&B! Debbie and Steve are terrific hosts, and their home is beautifully situated and decorated. This is by far the best place to stay near Crater Lake National Park. 100% recommended!

If you enjoy birding, Lonesome Duck is situated along the Klamath Birding Trail, and there are many good birds to be sighted on the ranch itself. Manager Marshal Moser is also a very good bird and nature guide.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacation00002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
There are newer reviews for Lonesome Duck Ranch & Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 40 reviews

Reviewed June 19, 2012

An absolute delight.....2 days of complete relaxation and peace with our friends. We stayed in the Settlement B&B and couldn't have imagined any better. Great conversations with our hosts Debbie and Steve, fabulous breakfasts while watching the hummingbirds, and a comfortable evening just sitting by the fire. More rejuvenation than a week at the spa!!!
The only regret was not being able to see the total splendor of Crater Lake due to snow.......I guess we just have to go back.....Lonesome Duck Ranch is everything the billing describes and more........We will definitely return...more than 2 days next time...

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2012

The Lonesome Duck is a gem! Our family of four (two boys age 10 & 15) stayed just two nights for a visit to Crater Lake. Everything from making our reservation to check out was fantastic. The setting right along the Williamson River is idyllic. The property is charming and very well kept, including three llamas, two sociable horses and a very friendly Lab.

We stayed in the River's Edge cabin, which is right on the river, but set back enough for a nice back yard. With with feeders all around, we always had great bird watching opportunities.

The inside of the cabin is immaculate. It is a very nicely appointed true log cabin with appropriately rustic but comfortable furnishings. Bring food, toiletries and a hair dryer Otherwise the cabin has everthing you need. With no TV the kids had a great time enjoying the out doors and visiting the llamas and horses.

Debbie and Steve were wonderful hosts. They are friendly, helpful and made us feel right at home. Steve offered snow shoes for our visit to Crater Lake and also offered use of the canoes for the placid river, but our short stay didn't allow it.

There is cell phone service but no wifi in the cabins. However, Debbie and Steve were kind enough to offer use of theirs so I could take care of some work email I had to send.

We couldn't have asked for anything more. You won't be disappointed. Thanks Debbie and Steve for your wonderful hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2011

Spent 3 lovely days at the Ranch as part of a 3 week trip to northern California and southern Oregon in early September. Reserved the Eagle's Nest guest house which was perfect. The house is very comfortable, beautifully furnished, very well equipped and in a beautiful setting. Made very welcome and enjoyed a great morning's bird watching with Marshall. Interesting area and range of local areas to visit including Crater Lake but ranch offered lovely walks and a great opportunity to relax. Sitting on the veranda overlooking your own pond complete with wild life and Golden Eagles calling from the bluff with a glass of wine, what could be nicer? Our only regret was that we didn't stay longer.

Sandra UK

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfd13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2011

Fantastic...fantastic place to stay! we stayed at the River's Edge and the lodge was GREAT! It was perfect to every last details...Views were great from every room...it's right by the river and there were plenty of birds to on view...The owner took us for a llama ride...it was fun...they even have kayaks and boats that you can take out to the river on your own...all in all...a great place to relax and enjoy some peace and nature.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ron4fur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2009

Really, there isn't any other place like it. We've searched far and wide! It's easy to get to, just off highway 97, but it feels like you're in the middle of nowhere, really off the beaten path. It's located right on the river, there's no need to drive anywhere else to go fishing. The cabins are comfortable and clean without sacrificing a rustic air of personality and authenticity. Plus they're large enough to accommodate 6-8 people, making this an ideal spot for a group of fishermen (and their wives). Bring your food and settle in for a long, cozy weekend.

Though the lodge is close to all sorts of wonderful things in South Oregon like Crater Lake and all the wildlife of the Klamath Basin, there's no need to go anywhere else, especially if it's fishing that you're looking for. You can literally walk a few steps right out off the back porch and throw your line into the river for some trophy class trout.

The owners, Steve and Debbie, and the manager, Marshall, are not just friendly, but care very deeply about the property and the guests' experience on it. The grounds and cabins are beautifully maintained. It feels a lot like staying with family, spiritually millions of miles away from the average Hilton or Holiday Inn experience.

For serious fishermen and novices alike, guides are highly recommended, and the folks from Rogue Fly Shop are terrific -- my WIFE caught a beautiful 20" five-pounder. Not only will they teach you and help you find the fish, but they're fun and knowledgeable guys to spend a day in the boat with.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheEconoclast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2009

This is a real gem among the many great places to stay in Oregon. It is small (2 log homes and 1 cottage,) so will never be overrun with people. It feels secluded, set in a wooded area along the beautiful Williamson River, yet is just off Hwy 97, the main north-south route through central Oregon. Just off the front porch is an amazing variety of birds and waterfowl. When in season, there is world-class trout fishing (catch and release at this resort.) And less than an hour away is incredible Crater Lake National Park. The accommodations look the way you would want them to look in this setting, and are charming and extremely comfortable. And the owners/managers are friendly, helpful and very knowledgeable about the area and its diverse wildlife.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank larryhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chiloquin
25.2 mi away
Shilo Inn Suites Hotel - Klamath Falls
28.1 mi away
Olympic Inn
Olympic Inn
#2 of 22 in Klamath Falls
883 reviews
26.8 mi away
Maverick Motel
Maverick Motel
#10 of 22 in Klamath Falls
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Klamath Falls
24.6 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn & Suites- Klamath Falls
28.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#15 of 22 in Klamath Falls
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonesome Duck Ranch & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonesome Duck Ranch & Resort

Address: 32955 Highway 97 N, Chiloquin, OR 97624-9725
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Chiloquin
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Chiloquin
Price Range: $113 - $275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lonesome Duck Ranch & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lonesome Duck is your vacation headquarters for year-round outdoor activities in Southern Oregon - visit Crater Lake National Park or the Klamath Basin Wildlife Refuges, snowmobiling, snowshoeing, cross country skiing, fly fishing, birding, family gatherings, getaways, corporate retreats. Beautiful housekeeping log homes ideal for naturalists, birdwatchers, anglers, photographers or other outdoor enthusiasts. Located between Klamath Falls and Crater Lake National Park along the renowned Williamson River, famous for trophy rainbow trout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Lonesome Duck Ranch & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing