We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love Collier!”

Collier Memorial State Park
Ranked #1 of 6 things to do in Chiloquin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Fort Bragg, California
Level 6 Contributor
282 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
“Love Collier!”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

This Oregon State Park is really swell...it sounds like in the summer time the campground can get full and crowded (what a zoo that would be).......But not the case in the off season when we camped here.(Mid Sept.)...Now I can not say this about many places but I could spend a week here...There are so many things to do within a 50 mile radius.. The area around the campground is swell too. Last visit we canoed up the Williamson River and saw bald eagles, one sitting on a nest! It is most unusual at the fork where the black Williamson River meets the clear Spring Creek..

I would say to buy supplies from a real grocery store in Klamath Falls if coming from the south, or La Pine (Ray's) if coming from the north...We went into Chiloquin to the Superette market and I couldn't get any meat or produce...Leaves were starting to change color early when we were here, it gets cold in these parts in the winter at 4,000 ft elevation..

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoTeaTotalers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    31
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ellensburg, Washington, United States
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Imagine the lifestyle....”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Glad we took the time to visit this museum which is dedicated mainly to the history of Oregon logging. It is an open walk around wooded acreage sprinkled with relics of logging as old as 1862, including some authentic pioneer cabins, outhouses, grocery store, and doctor office (slightly creepy). We would probably go again, but wait for the guided tour which doesn't happen til the afternoon in the off-season (post Labor Day).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Loggings History all around you -”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Oregon is lucky to have this outstanding display of logging equipment. It is a 'work-in-progress" park and the staff & volunteers are continuing to set it up so you an easily walk through the local logging history. As it sits, you travel through time and see how 'thing's change' with the times, and at your own pace. Have plenty of spare batteries for the camera as you'll have lots to take pictures of. The staff at the information center is a great help and very informative. Plan to come back in a couple of years when all of the equipment it placed in their final display points - it will be well worth it. The campground is large enough to feel an 'open space' between friends, and the Day Use area is great for picnics. We'll be coming back.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Loved the Logging Museum”
Reviewed September 10, 2012

The "Friends of Collier Park" have put into place the most amazing place here. There are real machines and equipment exhibits set up across the site, all connected with a very walkable trail. Loads of information, signs, hands on things to do. Your camera will be busy here! No admission when I stopped the week after Labor Day. The little cabin/gift shop was manned by a volunteer who was very helpful and pleasant. This really is a must see for anyone traveling through, as you won't find anything else like it.
Very clean restrooms here too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bmonson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klamath Falls, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Interesting displays and great campground”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Collier State Park is a fun place to visit. It has a nice, well-maintained campground on the banks of the Williamson River. You can make reservations but generally there is space available. It is close to Crater Lake National Park - don't miss this wonder of the world. Collier State Park also has a fine logging museum so if you come from a timber family (or even if you don't) you will find this interesting, as well as the pioneer cabins. Spring Creek runs into the Williamson River at Collier Park, and is a nice creek for fishing and floating, but too cold for swimming. I believe that the Williamson River is a catch-and-release river in this area, so check your state regulations before fishing. There are whoppers in the Williamson. The nearby town of Chiloquin has grocery stores, restaurants, churches, and a gas station. There is also an amazing new-and-used bookstore there that has many out-of-print, hard-to-find books, and you won't want to miss the Chiloquin cultural center with some impressive art work. Klamath Falls is another 35 miles or so from Collier Park, but there are fine museums there as well.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GrandmaWen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Collier Memorial State Park also viewed

 

Been to Collier Memorial State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing