We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Horrific experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Eagle Crater Lake Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Eagle Crater Lake Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Chemult B&B and Inns
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Horrific experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We booked 2 rooms in this inn (now called Crater Lake Inn) based on the owner's description of the rooms as "newly renovated." When we arrived, one of our rooms appeared to have been freshly smoked in.....a lot. The beds were something out of a 1960s parody, and the smell of mildew was rampant. When we informed the owners that we would be unable to stay here (allergies), they became belligerent and charged us for the rooms we did not use. We are currently in a dispute with the credit card company about this....but be ware...do NOT stay here.

Room Tip: Please, do yourself a favor, RUN away from this place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ScottinPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    19
    17
    8
    9
See reviews for
16
26
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Pacific City, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

My Wife and I stayed here for three nights and it was awesome. The new owners Bob and Bev are great. Our Room was very clean and comfortable, and what a great price. Bob and Bev are the best. We will definately be back and won't stay anywhere else...See ya soon!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lance920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gas City, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

My husband and I took a month and traveled through 8 states. Of all the places we stayed, Crater Lake Inn was our favorite. Our room was reasonable and very clean and comfortable. Bob and Barb were the best, offering old fasion hospitality that just can't be found anymore. We stayed 2 nights and they grilled hamburgers and all the fixings for us on our last night there. Something I have never seen offered at the big fancy chain motels!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilmea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

New owners who are making some nice improvements to the hotel - now named the Crater Lake Inn. We actually stayed here 2 years ago and appreciate the new paint job & carpet, cleaner rooms, and welcoming hosts. They gave us a nice home-cooked breakfast to boot. The comfort of the beds are hit-or-miss, but we'd stay here again for sure

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rfsapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
john day
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2011

the company i work for was logging out of chemult and we all stayed at the crater lake inn. they were the most welcoming hosts i have ever known. Thank you Bob and Beverly for the wonderful visit. I will see you again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank burril9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nampa, ID
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

So, lets be honest. You are looking at staying at this hotel because (like me) you are cheap. This is a super cheap hotel so obviously you shouldn't expect anything fancy. But, the room was clean and the managers were super nice. They were extremely accommodating and tried very hard to make sure we were happy. The owner made us dinner ($5 per platet wasn't gourmet but it was made with love :)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank goddessrfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

Stopped unplanned here on a solo motorcycle trip. Owner/manager was super helpful. Room was nothing fancy, but was clean, comfortable and quiet. Favorite place I stayed on the whole trip.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iowatraveler100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chemult
22.6 mi away
Crater Lake Lodge
Crater Lake Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crater Lake National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
6.3 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#2 of 2 in Chemult
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
23.8 mi away
Lemolo Lake Resort
Lemolo Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Idleyld Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Eagle Crater Lake Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Eagle Crater Lake Inn

Property: Eagle Crater Lake Inn
Address: 10891 5 US 97, Chemult, OR 97731 (Formerly Featherbed Inn)
Location: United States > Oregon > Chemult
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chemult
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Eagle Crater Lake Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Crater Lake Inn is located in Chemult Oregon, 25 miles to the north entrance from Crater Lake National Park, 60 Min. from the South entrance of crater lake . The North entrance is closed during the winter months... it opens once the snow is clear. Our motel units offer amenities such as satellite TV, refrigerator, microwave, and free high speed internet. Sorry we do not allow pets, service animals with proper documentation only. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Eagle Crater Lake Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Featherbed Hotel Chemult
Eagle Crater Lake Inn Chemult, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing