We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Dawson House Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Dawson House Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Chemult B&B and Inns
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

Wonderful lodge! We stayed here on our way to Crater Lake. We stayed in the 2 bedroom suite. Almost everything has been updated ( if you travel with a laptop bring a 2 to 3 wire adapter) and was an amazing experience. It does sit across the street from the Pilot truck stop and Amtrak is behind the hotel, but that just adds character to this amazing place.

Room Tip: Caddie's room has two bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelerCory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    20
    31
    8
    4
See reviews for
19
38
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2012

Cute and quaint lodge. The check in area had lots of cool old photos to look at. Free coffee was nice when we left. Rooms were comfortable and decorated like someone's home. We felt very welcomed by Colleen. Thanks for a nice stay...The Vail's from Portland OR

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buddette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, MN
Level Contributor
120 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2012

It looks old from outside, but, it has been well-renovated and is clean & nice inside. Room was small, but quite comfortable. We stayed in the Cowboy Room and it would be cramped for more than 2 people. The hostess was very nice and helpful. Had heard about truck noises from the truck stop opposite disturbing people during the night, but, we did not hear much at all - the rooms were decently insulated and the A/C noise drowned out all other noises. The A/C was a bit loud, but not overly distracting. Price was very reasonable. Bathrooms were neat. We were on the way to Crater Lake NP and this is a good place to stay, esp. if you don't get a reservation at Crater Lake Lodge. This is only a short distance to CLNP; and that it is a great advantage if you want to get to CLNP early in the morning before the crowds get there.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaviMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, Iowa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Clean and comfortable room and bed. Hotel built 1929. Old building charm. No air. It was upper 70s with 2 fans very comfortable at night. Very nice and helpful owner. Appreciated refrigorator and microwave. Across from Pilot gas rather noisy all night. We are sound sleepers so it did not bother us very much.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

From the photos and reviews, I expected it to be a bit different, but not dusty, smelly, and extremely shabby. Needs a good old clean, and white clean cotton bed linen would be much better than the ones used.
Bathroom needs a bit of an jup date and good old lean too!
Only stay at your peril!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dillard, oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

This lodge was old with old wiring and no A/C. You need that in the summer in Chemult Oregon. We expected old and rustic and we got it. We checked in about 3:00 p.m. and were not told that the rooms had not a/c. when showed the rooms they had fans blowing and I thought it was great to be energy efficient. We then went out for a day in the sun and upon our return at around 9:00 p.m. were surpirsed to find a very uncomfortable evening of sweating and tossing and turning. Ick, no cross ventilation or air flow of any kind. The bed even slanted crooked to one side. We wanted rustic and we got it. The t.v. was placed precariously on a small dressor with the cable boxes stacked on it. the plugs were all 2 prong and antiquated to solve this they had a three prong plug installed to handle a power strip. oh my goodness. O.k. so here is the good part of the review, it is pretty historic and would probly be neet in the winter if you were passing through and had no other options.

Room Tip: use AAA, AARP, CDL or military discount
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank karl_Oregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2011

We stayed here one night on the way to the Crater Lake. We were 2 couples travelling together and shared the Loft. It was huge and spacious(can easily sleep 6-7 adults), but not terribly clean. The bathroom was about ok. The thing that put me off was that there was no sink in the bathroom - you have a common sink for the bathroom and the kitchen. They do have a full kitchen, but I would use my own silverware and dishes if I were to use it.
Free coffee in the lobby 24 hours is a plus.Also, it is just about 30 mins to the north entrance of the park, which is a good deal.
We had the windows closed all the time since the room was air conditioned, so the noise was not a big deal.
Overall, I would probably stay here again if they cleaned it up a bit more. Friendly proprietors.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SeattleGirl111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chemult
17.7 mi away
Woodsman Country Lodge
Woodsman Country Lodge
#1 of 1 in Crescent
3.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eagle Crater Lake Inn
Eagle Crater Lake Inn
#2 of 2 in Chemult
3.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.0 mi away
Budget Inn Motel
Budget Inn Motel
#2 of 2 in Chemult
3.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Lemolo Lake Resort
Lemolo Lake Resort
#1 of 1 in Idleyld Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
29.2 mi away
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
Shelter Cove Resort & Marina
#1 of 3 in Crescent Lake
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawson House Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawson House Lodge

Property: Dawson House Lodge
Address: 109455 Highway 97 N, P.O. Box 189, Chemult, OR 97731-9701
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Chemult
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Chemult
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Dawson House Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dawson House Lodge built in 1929 enjoys travelers from all over the world. Only 25 miles from Crater Lake National Park we are a popular place to stay for those visiting the park & wanting to enjoy the many outdoor wonders in our area. Hikers, fisherman and 2 & 4 wheel bikes enjoy the area in the summer while the winter attracts fisherman, hunters, snowmobiling & skiers. We are one block from the Amtrak Station in the center of town. With rooms to sleep 1-8 we have one to fit your needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Dawson House Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dawson House Lodge Chemult, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing