We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You've got to be kidding”
Review of High Tide Cafe

High Tide Cafe
Ranked #3 of 12 Restaurants in Charleston
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“You've got to be kidding”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was here on a Saturday in August, 2013. I ordered the half sandwich and cup of chowder. The sandwich was French bread, one piece of cheese, and a few small shrimp. The chowder was just okay. The price was $10...really? To top it off, the hostess/owner was rude and forgot all about me three times. The place wasn't that busy, either. I will NOT be going back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scarlette O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    47
    22
    17
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Overpriced!”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Had dinner with family recently at the establishment. Restaurant was so dark that I needed the flashlight on my phone to be able to read the menu. Service was okay. Prices were high considering the general ambiance -- old tables, no tablecloth or place mat, minimal lighting. When spending $24 for a plate of beef stroganoff with a small salad I expect more.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Joanne V M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NORTH BEND, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Sunday brunch at its best”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

This quirky little place is always crowded and the food it always the best ever. It is our favorite after church spot to share with friends. There is a view of the bay and it very close to the Charleston Boat Basin. Some great shops,too.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WILLIAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anderson, California
Level Contributor
96 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Disappointing Meal”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

On a recent trip to the Oregon Coast, we were searching for a nice spot to have lunch and a local told us about High Tide Cafe. It was Saturday afternoon on the long 4th of July weekend. Maybe that's one reason the place was not up to par. I ordered a bowl of their "Award Winning Clam Chowder", my mind going back to the creamy, velvety, luscious chowders I've had the fortune to have eaten and made for our large family. At first taste, I thought it was a little odd-there was something in it that just didn't seem to belong. Then my husband tried a taste. "Yuck!, what in the world did they do to that poor chowder?" I ate some more, putting oyster crackers in it, but nothing helped. Was it tarragon? Dill, maybe? Anyway, I couldn't eat it. The waitress asked how our meal was and I told her the chowder wasn't very good. She said she was sorry and took the bowl. That's it? Award winning chowder, and obviously I'm not the first one that had a problem with it. We paid and left. The only redeeming feature was the view out the window.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1horseshay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent food Friendly staff”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We were there Mother's day weekend and had a table out on the deck over looking the bay. The wait staff was very friendly greeting us with a happy mother's day weekend and being patient when we kept going back and forth before they could even tell us the specials. The sea food was fresh and cooked well without being over cooked.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Vicky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed High Tide Cafe also viewed

Charleston, Oregon Coast
Charleston, Oregon Coast
 
Charleston, Oregon Coast
Charleston, Oregon Coast
 
Charleston, Oregon Coast
Coos Bay, Oregon Coast
 

Been to High Tide Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing