We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Captain John's Motel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charleston
Reviewed August 4, 2014

We went to go charter fishing in Charleston and was going to stay at the Mill Casino(full).We then went to Captain John's Motel. Bed was comfortable, people were nice. Clean room. Close to the Betty Kay Charters. Booked another room for another day. Will now go to Captain John's whenever we are close to Coos Bay and North Bend.

Room Tip: Take a non-smoking room
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Valerie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Captain John's Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

32 - 38 of 57 reviews

Reviewed July 28, 2014

We stopped stayed overnight a Captain John's for an early fishing trip the next morning. Overall I would say it was a positive experience. The beds were fine, the water was hot, and there is a handy area to clean and cook your fish or crab from the day. I probably would not stay here alone, but the staff was friendly and the rooms were clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hilary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

Ok so not too bad and not great. It's the place to stay when you coming to charter fish. Mattresses were old, room smelled old but everything worked so hey no problem. Oh except no breakfast. But that's another review.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

First time we stayed at this Motel 8 years ago, our room door was kicked in while we where gone and the room was ransacked and while the criminals sat around and at our food.

8 years later same weekend (July 4th), we decided to give the place the benefit, and try it one more time. The second night we where a woken by someone pounding on the door next to ours where a fist fight occurred right next to our room/in the room next door. In the morning the fisherman fired up their diesel trucks for 30mins to allow them to warm up before heading to the marine.

If your a grown my looking for a place to crash before going fishing, this place would work great.

If you have a family, I would never suggest this place to anyone.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I can't rate this higher than a 3 because it's a very basic motel. However, our room was very clean and had a refrigerator and microwave. The staff members were very friendly and helpful. There are two restaurants within about a block - went to the sports bar and it was pretty good as well.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank sheilaoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I've read some unreasonable reviews, and am frankly amazed. I have stayed at this no-frills motel several times over the past 30 years, and keep coming back. The present owners work hard to provide a pleasant experience for guests; improvements have been made that serve to enhance the quality of ones' stay. The fish cleaning room is the outstanding feature of the motel (in my opinion), but the rooms are clean and comfortable. Unfortunately, too many people are rude, lazy, illiterate slobs who feel entitled to demand steak and lobster on a hamburger budget. These rubes lack common courtesy, a sense of decorum, and social grace... AND teach their progeny the same bad manners. Perhaps they should simply STAY HOME.

Room Tip: Bottom floor is easier access, but expect to hear people tromping around in the room above you... sh...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BvrFvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2013

If you are looking for a fancy room with an ocean view, keep looking. We love this place! Yes, the rooms are in need of update. Yes, there is a smell of low tide in the air (you are minutes from it). Yes, it looks like it was in it's prime in the 1960's. BUT.. the owner/managers are great people - always ready with a smile and curious to see our latest catch from the sea. The crab and fish cleaning station are a blessing when there is a line to clean fish at the boat ramp. There is plenty of parking for all of us with boats!! And... it's not even 5-minutes from the boat launch!! So.. if you are looking for a honeymoon hotel (I stayed here in 1990 on mine) or a fruit basket in your room with a chocolate and turned down bedding.. shop elsewhere. But we don't hesitate to stay here!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mari B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Charleston
17.0 mi away
Sunset Oceanfront Lodging
1.8 mi away
Plainview Motel & RV Park
6.0 mi away
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
Red Lion Hotel Coos Bay
#2 of 7 in Coos Bay
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Super 8 Coos Bay/North Bend
6.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites at Coos Bay
6.0 mi away
Motel 6 Coos Bay
Motel 6 Coos Bay
#5 of 7 in Coos Bay
195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain John's Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain John's Motel

Address: 63360 Kingfisher Rd, Charleston, OR 97420-6645
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Charleston
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Charleston
Price Range: $65 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain John's Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Captain John's Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain John's Motel Charleston, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing