We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love this place!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of East Wind Drive-In

East Wind Drive-In
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Cascade Locks
Cuisines: American, Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
North Bonneville, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Love this place!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

There's nothing quite like an Eastwind burger! I absolutely love them. For me, they just seem to melt in my mouth and the flavor is top notch! I'm a local and have been going here for roughly 30years and will continue to do so. Most comments refer to the wait, which can be long, especially in the summer months. The trick is to call in your order to go before hand. They will give you a time frame (10-15 min or so) then go pick up your food! Keep in mind that food is made to order and the place is equipped with a small fryer and small grill. They can only cook so much at a time. For tourists, their ice cream is a must. I always tell people they may not want to order the large because it is literally a foot high.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Virginia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    51
    18
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
155 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“"chicken strips and fries!"”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

Have ordered take-out for up to 10 persons before, food good, portion size decent! there is usually a line at the walk-up take out window! a must stop for icecream for travelers and tourists! we usually do the drive thru window it is much quicker than parking and standing in line! there is no inside seating, prices decent for a driv-in.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank CAROLYN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, OH
Level Contributor
308 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Fun to say I've been here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

While on vacation from OH, the next stop in the Columbia River gorge area was Cascade Locks, a small town near the Bridge of the Gods. We weren’t there for the bridge or the locks, but to go to the Eastwind – a little walk up eatery I read about in Wild! They have good & cheap soft serve, so I had to try the $2 cone. It was good & worth it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank cmchristensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“ice cream for me please”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This is a great stop for a soft-serve ice cream cone. The hamburger was just average (frozen patty), but the fries were good.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank halfCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiamondGirl419
Level Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Didn't try the ice cream--food is average”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

We used the drive-in portion of this eatery to experience what all the hubbub was about. We ordered a cheeseburger, bacon cheeseburger, order of onion rings and two sodas....$13.60. The burgers appeared to be cooked from frozen patties and were lukewarm by the time they brought them out to our car. Onion rings were just okay. I was disappointed that the food was not as good as I had expected it to be. Although the place was mobbed, I saw that it was mostly with people ordering ice cream and not other foods. Honestly, the only reason I would come here if I were a local is that there aren't a lot of eateries in Cascade Locks. Otherwise I would definitely make the 20 minute drive to Hood River and go to their Dairy Queen or McDonalds for a lot less $$ and about the same or better food quality.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DiamondGirl419
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed East Wind Drive-In also viewed

 

Been to East Wind Drive-In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing