We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Plus must mean something”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Certificate of Excellence
Happy Valley, Oregon
Level Contributor
30 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Plus must mean something”
Reviewed May 12, 2014

An unusual surprise for a fair fair price. With a georgous view to boot. I did not expect much from Best Western but the Plus must mean something this was an exception place in a beautiful part of the world and only an hour out of Portland Or.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank BigMikeOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
We are so please you stopped in beautiful Historic Cascade Locks in The Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area. We are so lucky to be surround by all of this natural beauty. Thank your for staying with us and we invite you to return and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

919 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    560
    279
    57
    16
    7
See reviews for
250
422
46
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (218)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

We will definitely be going back and next time getting a spot on the river. The whole gorge area is wonderful .. and having this clean, well laid out hotel was fortunate. Great view of bridge of the gods and of the cascade locks.

I believe all even numbered rooms face the river. Decent parking here as well, which is sometimes hard to come by these days.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elynde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay in the National Scenic Area and with us, thank you so much and we invite you to return and stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayden, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Rooms were comfortable and nicely decorated. The view was gorgeous! I would definately recommend this motel if you are in the area. The pool water was a comfortable transition from the jacuzzi. Not too cold! There are restaurants and a nice pub just down the street that carried local brews.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Viet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
We are so lucky to have the million dollar view of the Columbia River and I am pleased you got to enjoy it while staying with us, thank you. We invite you to return to stay with us and take in all the wonders of the Gorge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2014

What a special Best Western! Book early as they fill up in advance, for a reason. The king room we have stayed in was large, nicely appointed, and mostly- (make sure you get a room on the view side) had a balcony/ french doors right overlooking the river, complete with railroad tracks. Sound annoying? Well, if you don't love trains it would be. But this corridor provides goods on a constant basis from Eastern Oregon to Portland and beyond, so the freight trains moving up and down both sides of the river brought us way back to remembering that everything nowadays is NOT instant or electronically transmitted. Trains are old-fashioned and cool! We were not kept awake, in fact we were lulled to sleep, and coffee out on the balcony was wonderful in the mornings. A great place to take day trips from, and the staff was great and courteous. A very good breakfast in the dining room, and the room rates are quite reasonable for what you get!
We plan to stay there each Oregon trip we make to that area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Epiphany1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, May 10, 2014
We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in the beautiful National Scenic Area, and the trains did not bother you. If I could move those tracks I would do it today, but you are right they are moving commerce east and west. We invite you to return and enjoy all the beauty of the Gorge and stay with us again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Staff were MOST helpful anytime I needed assistance. Gorgeous view, clean and comfortable, wonderful breakfasts with plenty of fresh cooked food. I have traveled a lot in the past 30 years and this is one of the best hotels I have found. I will be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Rothwell, Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Thank you for staying with us and your lovely comments about the property. We are so very lucky to in the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area and all the beauty. I invite you to return and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
151 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had stayed here in the 1990's, remembered the lovely setting, and returned last week for an overnight stop on our trip up the Columbia Gorge. Our king room was very large and recently painted, with new furniture and a HUGE flat-screen TV. Nice granite vanity.

The bathroom itself, however, was fairly tiny (pet peeve), with a bath-fitter-style tub/shower. Unlike many tiny motel bathrooms though, this one had a very effective fan.

We had our dog with us, and were pleased to discover that the pet fee was only $10.00. However, the online reservation system somehow didn't communicate the fact that the dog was coming along; the desk clerk was surprised to hear that we needed a pet-friendly room, and we momentarily worried that there wouldn't be a room for us....

Our favorite part of the stay was breakfast. They have a large, lovely breakfast room here (not a converted meeting room, or two guest rooms with the wall broken out). Plenty of tables (another pet peeve), plenty of hot breakfast options plus the usual cereals, rolls, yogurt, etc. And everything was kept well-stocked and clean by a cheerful young woman--kudos to her for doing such a good job!

The weather was fairly awful, but we managed a walk up the street to Marine Park--very interesting old locks there. Otherwise, there isn't much to do in Cascade Locks besides watching the river, the interesting boat-and-barge traffic, the Bridge of the Gods, and the hills of Washington State. This is a great place to stay as you visit the gorge.

Room Tip: It's worth it to pay a little more for a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agoneil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We are please you stayed with us again after so much time had past since your last venture to the Gorge. A lot has changed here over the last 15 years and we are pleased we met your expectations. We invite you to return again in the Summer or Fall when we can depend on the weather a little more here in the Gorge. Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 28, 2014

If you can get past the poor registration, you will be delighted to stay at this hotel. Beautiful view of the river/Gorge. Close to everything, easy access. They will be remodeling soon and not sure why as room, bed, amenities, (pool,hot tub, work out room, lobby, lounge, outdoor area) all very nice and relaxing. It was better than I anticipated! I will stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank Gail N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
I am very sorry that your arrival process did not meet your expectations, this is not something we like to hear and I apologize. We are pleased you enjoyed the beautiful Columbia River Gorge and we invite you to return and stay with us so that we can prove our service is "top-notch". Thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cascade Locks
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
17.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
17.0 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
4.5 of 5 bubbles 669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
17.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
1.7 mi away
Skamania Lodge
Skamania Lodge
#1 of 4 in Stevenson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Address: 735 Wanapa Street, Cascade Locks, OR 97014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Cascade Locks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel Cascade Locks
Best Western Cascade Locks
Cascade Locks Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing