We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BW-Great View”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2013

After the US Government closed all the National Parks we had to make other arrangements. We were headed to Portland but saw this Best Western and stopped. The front desk people were delightful and we ended up staying for 5 days, would have stayed another few days but they were sold out for the weekend. Had our grandkids with us for a sleepover and they loved the pool, it could have been a little warmer for us older folks!! We had a top corner room which was beautiful, looking out onto the Columbia River. There are 2 train tracks right below the back of the hotel but you can barely hear the trains go by. We got to see the paddleboat go by and the trains.

Room Tip: Get a top floor room on the corner, beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBFlorida2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2013

How lucky for us the sudden change in plans, we has such a lovely Fall here in the National Scenic Area and I am happy you could experience it. Thank you for extending your stay and we hope all of your family will return to stay with us, it was a delight to have you here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,037)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

753 - 759 of 1,037 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2013

We had three different rooms. All were large and very clean. The location is perfect for exploring the Colombia River Gorge area. The three staff members we talked to were all ready willing and able to make make suggestions on restaurants or things to do and see. The continental breakfast was nothing to write home about but it needed saying here. The view of the bridge, the Columbia River, and the surrounding hills were terrific. We enjoyed our stay and slept very well. The earplugs provided by the hotel were a nice touch because of the trains that are always going by. Everyone in our group would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the gorge side!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glkmnarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

We are so pleased your "gang" had a good time, we enjoyed having you all here. It is a great location for families to meet as we are centrally located in the beautiful Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area. Thank you for staying with us and we invite everyone to return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pullman, Washington, USA
2
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Get a river view room with a balcony if you can. Every so often a train will go by just a few yards from your view. But is is a low kind of rumble and does not seem bothersome at all. The Columbia River is just beyond meandering along to the sea. It is not the roiling river of old but it is still very picturesque. The scenery surrounding is just gorgeous no matter what the weather and one can get a good view of the Bridge of the Gods. The location is very good for going to Mt. Hood as Highway 35 is just a few miles east out of Hood River. If you want to be closer to that exit, you can stay at the Best Western Riverside in Hood River. The Pacific Crest Trail head is just across the street from the hotel in Cascade Locks and there are many other trails nearby. A hop across the bridge ($1.00 toll) takes you to Stevenson and more trail heads and lunch or dinner at the Skamania Lodge. If you want to go to Portland to shop, it is about a 30 to 40 minute drive and you can come back to quiet relaxation in Cascade Locks. They accept pets. One of my main reasons for staying there. Plenty of walking areas and no pressure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

We are pleased you enjoyed your experience here in the National Scenic Area. We are very lucky to be located in Cascade Locks and I agree the trains are not as bothersome as you might think. The beauty of the Gorge is stunning and it is particularly beautiful today with very cold temps and crystal blue skies. Thank you for staying with us and we invite you to return for a restful time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

It has taken me a while to sit down and write reviews of our August vacation to Oregon. We made last minute plans to stay here because of the fires in Idaho. We were happy our plans had to change after our stay in Hood River. The hotel is right on the water with wonderful views of the bridge and water activities. I am a light sleeper and never heard the train people mention. As you face the hotel our room was to the far left, so maybe that made a difference. I have Celiac and must very strictly Gluten Free. It turns out this place has hosted some Celiac conferences and they really had it down. I had completely safe food, delicious , with a lovely view of the river sitting at a terrace table. Great service. We also had coupons they gave us to reduce the cost of the meal. This was in addition to the vouchers for free wine tastings at about a dozen wineries. Lastly, they set us up on a rafting trip with Zoller Outdoors wit a discount that was one of the best experiences of our vacation. Every person from the person who made my reservation, to the desk staff to the restaurant staff, all were professional, friendly and attentive. The room was very clean. I would recommend checking on line more than once as the rates seem to fluctuate considerably. I would stay here again in a heartbeat. Great value. Don't miss all the nearby waterfall walks while you are here!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happyarchitect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2013

It sounds like your stay in Hood River was wonderful, all of us here in Cascade Locks are pleased you enjoyed your experience at that location and the fact they were able to meet your expectations. The National Scenic Area has so much to offer to all travelers whether staying in Hood River or Cascade Locks. Thank you for staying with us and we invite you to return to either location.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2013

Stayed here after a very long day. Very comfortable and quiet. No hallway or highway noise at all.Highly recommend this Best Western. I didn't get to enjoy the amenities of the motel, but I am certain that they were as excellent as the room, service and personnel i encountered.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Bryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 23, 2013

I am very please that we were there for you when you came in late off the road. We hope you can plan a return trip to the Columbia River Gorge National Scenic Area to enjoy all the Gorge has to offer and we invite you to stay with us again. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This hotel is tastefully furnished, well maintained and every staff member is pleasant and helpful .. I have business on the WA side of the river but stay here because of the accomodations, the staff and the value ...

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Jo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 19, 2013

Thank you for staying with us while you travel on business. It is nice to know that we can attract business travelers from the Washington side of the beautiful Columbia River. We look forward to your return trip to the Gorge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013

We have stayed there before and always had a good experience. What's not to like? It's a very well run Best Western with friendly staff. It has a pool and a good breakfast. The scenery at Cascade locks is worth the stay.

Rooms on the parking lot side are inexpensive for a Best Western. We paid $85 plus tax (off season) and it's certainly cheaper than Portland Best Westerns if that the direction you are heading. If you are headed to a Washington State destination, consider crossing the Bridge of the Gods and driving on the very scenic (2 lane and curvy) Washington side to Vancouver, Washington to join up with I-5.

As others have mentioned, we usually eat somewhere else on the way to Cascade locks. We stayed in November, 2013 and the handy restaurant next door to the motel was closed for renovation.

Room Tip: Rooms on the parking lot side are further from the train tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jubilado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2013

We are very pleased you are a return guest and thank you for your continued support of our property. Columbia River Inn is very excited about the renovations taking place at the restaurant next door to us, you are correct we do not have many choices in Cascade Locks itself but the town of Stevenson across the river from us has some fabulous options. As a whole the National Scenic Area is jammed packed with all kinds of dinning experiences, wineries, breweries, shopping and of course the wonder of nature. We invite you to return and stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cascade Locks
17 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
19.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#5 of 8 in Hood River
793 reviews
24.7 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
1,071 reviews
17.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn

Address: 735 Wanapa Street, Cascade Locks, OR 97014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Cascade Locks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Price Range: $108 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel Cascade Locks
Best Western Cascade Locks
Cascade Locks Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing