We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEAUTiFuL ViEW... but the train traffic kept us awake all night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Certificate of Excellence
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“BEAUTiFuL ViEW... but the train traffic kept us awake all night”
Reviewed February 24, 2013

The exterior of this hotel was inviting as we found ourselves too tired to continue the drive on highway 84. The cozy entrance and fireside lobby looked comfortable and inviting as we decided to stop for a few hours sleep. We have stayed at many Best Western Hotels so we thought this would be a good spot to rest before continuing our adventure. Unfortunately the experience was less than average and the train traffic right outside our window prevented much sleep. The bedding and towels were light weight, low quality and the breakfast food lacked anything special. Last week we stayed in a Lacey, Wa Best Western that exceeded our expectations in everything from the bedding, comfort and fancy fresh fruit selections, so this more expensive Columbia River Inn stay was a disappointment. I must say the pluses were very kind and courteous staff at check in, check out and in between. The room was clean with nice paint but the carpet was worn and the bedding was too lightweight and low quality. Next time we will likely stop at a different location and just enjoy the beautiful view of the river as we drive down the highway. We have paid much less for luxury hotels.

Room Tip: You may want to ask for a room away from the train tracks if you want quiet. If not, what you give...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
I am so happy that we were there when you needed to stop for a rest and experience our fabulous view of the Columbia River and the Cascade Mountains. If I could move that train track I would do it today. We are taking under advisement the linen and breakfast comments you made.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    572
    283
    57
    16
    7
See reviews for
259
427
47
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sault Sainte Marie, Michigan, Usa
2 reviews
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Good place to stay. Nice little town the hotel is in. Close to scenic places. Friendly staff. Good pool. Reasonable rates. Only negative, the hall I was on smelled like an old man smoking a bad cigar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Dear Guest,
I am happy you were able to enjoy all the fabulous opportunites in the National Scenic Area and stay with us on the Columbia River. I'm sorry you smelled that "old cigar" in the hallway, we are tracking it down and hope you will give us a nother chance to smell fresh as a river breeze. We look forward to meeting you again. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spanaway, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our first stay at the Columbia River Inn won't be our last. We stayed on the second floor, the floor reserved for those bringing pets. It was clean and comfortable, even our shy, old girl, yorkie liked it. We have often found hotels that allow pets sometimes have residual odor, Columbia River Inn, clearly maintains their pet friendly rooms. Some hotels accept pets, then pull the pet nazi card, Columbia River Inn does not. The only suggestion, pet related, would be to have clearly marked pet areas. As a pet owner, we don't want to show disrepect by allowing our pet just go anywhere.
Pool and hot tub are warm, clean and we enjoyed both. The tiles on the wall and windows could be freshened up and the jets checked, as only three were working.
The view from our room was BEAUTIFUL ! The windows needed to be cleaned, so we could see the view better, the greasy hand prints were distracting.
The trains do go by all night long, but it wasn't too bad, at least not as bad as the clicking/dripping of the heater at 3AM. Luckly, the pillows were soft and plentiful so I could pull one over my ears as I am not a fan of the earplugs. Traveling in the winter can be iffy as far as having decent heat in the room, this was not a problem.
Upon check in there was a problem with our reservation, the person at the desk, was blunt, non-hospitible, with a take it or leave it attitude about policy (as if we knew the Inn's rules).
The snarky attitude gave us concern about our stay and made my husband upset.
Later I were able to dicuss what happened with the person we made our reservation with. Donna explained what happened and was very gracious about it, her hospitible attitude and willingness to explain what happened was the deciding factor if we would sign up for their rewards points membership and if we would return. Other than our first encounter at the front desk, all the the staff we encountered was pleasant, polite and even smiled.

Room Tip: They don't allow pets on the 4th floor where its quieter, only the 2nd floor is available which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
I am happy that you enjoyed your stay with us even though your experience at check-in did not go well for you. It certainly is not what we want to have happen. I am very pleased that Donna used her training skills, and was able to make your bad feeling turn into a positive and you were able to enjoy the rest of your stay. We look forward to your return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aliso Viejo, California, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

The Best Western in Cascade Locks is a very nice, spacious, clean, and comfortable hotel, stayed on 4th floor. We had such a good time that we extended our stay from 2 to 3 nights, Nov. 2012. The staff made us feel very welcome. Staff provided maps to Hood River area with Naked Winery and maps to local restaurants like wonderful Big River Grill, a class restaurant and bar in Stevenson, Washington, just under 10 minute beautiful, easy drive across The Bridge of the Gods. Watch for speed trap by cop on the bridge, seriously. Best Western also provided maps to VERY BEAUTIFUL WATER FALLS that you can almost walk up to. The morning hot breakfast was outstanding with friendly service. Our first visit to Cascade Locks area was fun and memorable, including views of the Columbia River and freight trains and trees.

Room Tip: Consider 4th floor since freight train goes by frequently. But train is NOT very loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonora, Arizona
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Very pleasant room with balcony....clean... warm ....staff accommodating and helpful. Price seems a little high until you check in and then you realize it is worthwhile: The location is stunning! Easy access to the Bridge of the Gods... Recommended.

Room Tip: Of course you want a room facing the river -- with a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuietWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy P, General Manager at Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for staying with us while in Cascade Locks. I hope you will return to the area and invite you to stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellensburg, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

This hotel was very clean, staff were very friendly, this was my first time to oregon on a trip with my husband I only stay at best westerns and this has been the best ever, we will be back again with our family.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brookes2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cascade Locks
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
17.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
17.0 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
699 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
17.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
189 reviews
24.7 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn

Property: Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Address: 735 Wanapa Street, Cascade Locks, OR 97014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Cascade Locks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel Cascade Locks
Best Western Cascade Locks
Cascade Locks Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing