We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, relaxing, perfect stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

First off, note that not all rooms have riverfront balconies. You should for sure pay extra and get one of those. The riverview is spectacular, with amazing sunsets,too. The trains are frequent but earplugs and the double windows really help. That shouldn't keep you from staying here. The front desk people are excellent and the breakfast is complete and very good. (Karie did a super job of keeping everything well stocked and clean) The nearby Charburger has really good sundaes and milkshakes. (We didn't eat a meal there.) Downtown is within walking distance and has a few stores and restaurants. A great base for travel in the area to things like Bonneville Dam and Mt. Hood. This will be our new base for visits to the Gorge.

Room Tip: Pay extra for a riverfront balcony and sit and watch the trains, the river traffic, and the sunsets.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cands2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,009)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

871 - 877 of 1,009 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

We got the last room on a Tuesday night. The staff was very helpful as we had issues with our key card. If you enjoy trains, be sure to get a room overlooking the river. Trains on both sides. We also had a view of the "Bridge of the Gods".

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TeardropTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

This looks to be the best place in the area, in my opinion--nicely located among many Gorge attractions. It's on the river and within walking distance of the Port, which is a nice park. I agree with other reviews that paying extra to be on the river side is worthwhile (some have balconies, others just big view windows)--although this also means that you'll need to contend with the sound of frequent freight trains quite close to the building. Rooms (at least on this side) are large and well-equipped. The breakfasts are complete with both hot items and the usual cold items. There are some nice indoor and outdoor common areas with views. Staff were friendly. Prices were high, but probably not out of line for this area during the peak summer season. We'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: See notes regarding river side rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TriRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This Bestwestern is very very nice, the view of the "Bridge of the Gods" can't get any better as the hotel is right beside it and pretty much stands on the bank of the Columbia River at the historic Cascade Locks. All of the rooms over look the river and have their own private balcony or patio....the balconies and patios are angled for maximum privacy. the hotel smells very fresh and clean. Our room was very well furnished with modern up to date/new furnishings and very clean modern/upto date. all is can say is if you don't like trains you may give the hotel another thought as they run right below the hotel and across the river,nigh tand day, about every 45 mins to 1/2 hr, however the hotel does supply ear plugs in your room. Breakfast food is pretty good with a good varies of foods to choose from. Awesomely comfortable bed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosemary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Best Western Plus in Cascade Locks has a wonderful location if you are visiting the Columbia River Gorge area. It is next to the Bridge of the Gods and right on the river. We stayed in a double queen room that was huge - had the 2 beds plus a couch, coffee table, and table with 2 chairs. We were there for 2 nights and had plenty of towels stocked the first day to last the entire time. The shower was good - had great water pressure. The views out the back from the balcony were beautiful.

The breakfast provided in the morning was decent - had to walk to the basement level to find the dining area, but food was hot and plentiful.The normal options were available (cereal, eggs, sausage, muffins, breads, waffles, oatmeal, etc.) I liked that there was fresh fruit and yogurt offered as well as hot tea besides the coffee and fruit juices.

We drove back and forth to outlying areas the entire time we stayed in Cascade Locks as the town is quite small and there is not alot to do right there. But the location is a good home base when traveling from Portland and heading to Hood River. On our last day, it was nice to be a little closer to Portland so the drive time was much shorter than if coming from further out.

Some things to be aware of if staying here......there is a train that travels along the river and can be noisy if you are a light sleeper. The hotel did provide ear plugs, but we did so much during the day that we were exhausted at night and had no trouble sleeping. The doors close hard, so this also can be a disturbance during the night if your neighbors stay out later than you do. The hotel was clean, but is getting a little of the musty smell in the hallways that hotels get after operating for a while.

We enjoyed our stay here and found the staff to be friendly and helpful when we asked any questions. Would recommend it to friends!

Room Tip: Get one of the back rooms with a balcony on the river = well worth the extra expense!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adro08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This hotel is a good place to stay if you are visiting the Gorge since it's the closest hotel - about 8 miles from the historic highway. The motel inself is nice, large rooms, quiet & a good breakfast. Spend the extra $30 to get a river balcony room which is very scenic & a great place to watch the sunset. Cascade Lock isn't much, so few dining options, but overall, a good bet for the Gorge.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tomfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

My wife reserved a room for three nights last August (2011) and requested a river view room with a balcony. When we arrived on 17th July 2012 we were allocated room 115, which was situated on the lower level (the hotel is partially built on a hillside so the reception desk is on level 2) – my wife queried this at the time and stressed she had requested a room with a balcony. The woman on reception assured us it did have a balcony. When we inspected the room the “balcony” turned out to be a patio! So we went back to reception to complain and request a room with a balcony. We were initially told all rooms with a balcony were now occupied, however we persevered and eventually were allocated room 415, which was on the top floor. Perfect we thought, and indeed the room was large and did have a balcony over-looking he Columbia River. We also discovered that in between the hotel and the river (about 40 yards from the hotel) was a twin track railway line, and the goods trains ran frequently both day and night. Just to round things off there is another railway track on the Washington State side of the river, and goods trains also run frequently both day and night. The hotel management thoughtfully did provide ear plugs! As the air-conditioning unit was quite noisy the trains did not prove too much of a problem. The AC unit was rather too small for the size of the room so it took hours to make the room cool.
The room was advertised as having a safe, and sure enough it did, however I did not use the safe because this message was embossed on the safe door, “A nominal charge per day is added to your account for this valuable convenience, Upon request this charge can be removed at check-out. This charge is optional”! So why charge in the first place. I carefully checked our bill on check-out to ensure we had not been charged
Another reason to remember this hotel is that we were asked by the “housekeeper”, if we wanted our room serviced or were we “OK”, my wife replied we wanted clean towels, to which the response was “do you want the beds made or are you “OK”, our reply was YES we wanted the beds made.
Our general impression was the staff here were not really interested in the guests, unlike the other Best Western Hotels we have stayed in.

Room Tip: Only a few room have a balcony, we had room 415
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gorpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cascade Locks
19.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
17.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
17.0 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
17.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
197 reviews
24.7 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn

Address: 735 Wanapa Street, Cascade Locks, OR 97014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Cascade Locks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Price Range: $116 - $231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel Cascade Locks
Best Western Cascade Locks
Cascade Locks Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing