We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Exceptional Effort Find Me a Rom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Certificate of Excellence
Huntsville, Alabama
Level Contributor
723 reviews
503 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 276 helpful votes
“Exceptional Effort Find Me a Rom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

I really needed to stay four five nights but there was no availability for the middle night. I was concerned I'd have to check out for the night I didn't have a reservation but the hotel staff kept track of the fact that I needed the room and a cancellation came in just in time. They made sure to call my room to make sure I knew a room had came available and they let me have the room at the same lower rate that I had for the other nights - something they didn't have to do. My room faced the streets I never had a problem with the trains. The room was very large and we had plenty of room to spread and all of our stuff. They had something I haven't seen in a hotel in more than a year and I travel a lot - they had a blue basket for us to place recyclables in. It is nice to see a place that cares about the environment. The room had a very large refrigerator and microwave (although this seemed underpowered). The AC ran continually and cold air blew on my head while sleeping. I gave up after my first night and turned it off at night and slept OK. Now for the breakfast: They sat out hot cocoa and hot cider packages near the coffee which was a very nice touch. The coffee was better than I find in most BWs and the breakfast was excellent as they had sausage gravy, biscuits, egg patties, sausage links/patties, ham slices, hard boiled eggs, Yoplait yogurt, skim milk for cereal (again many BWs only have 2%). This hotel does a very good job taking care of their guests and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AGoingGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    268
    55
    16
    7
See reviews for
227
396
44
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

Great location. Friendly service, clean and comfy. The view from my bed was awesome. Ground floor the trains were just a low rumble.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane
Level Contributor
156 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

The king size bed was outstanding in comfort. Unfortunately when we booked through AAA, we didn't find out about our ground floor view of the parking lot. The sink and bathroom was separate with isn't pleasant especially with more than one person. Shower temp as nice and hot. There seemed to be a pleasant outside seating area with a view of the river. We didn't hear any train noises on the parking lot side of the building. We didn't see many staff; at checkin there were two blonde women working the desk. One, who seemed younger and seemed to do most of the checkins at our time, was very patient and helpful; the other was rude and impatient before retreating to the office after checking us in. The woman maintaining the breakfast room was very nice. The breakfast was ok although American hotels have a bleh free breakfast, but it was ok for the price. I'd say the worst part about the hotel was the guests who came down to breakfast bickering or communicating loudly, wearing pajamas, and looking like they just crawled out of bed without bathing or combining hair (this seems to be common in every hotel on our trip).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon58759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Ground, Washington
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

We have stayed here in the past and really enjoyed it. The view of the river is great, the room was very nice and comfortable. Yes the train tracks are close by but we didn't hear it all that much.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skypay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshkosh, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
451 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

This is an excellent place to stay when visiting Columbia River Gorge. The rooms are spacious and clean. The beds are good. It has a decent pool and hot tub. Rooms have frigs and microwaves. The staff is friendly and helpful. They had great suggestions for restaurants and hiking.

The only possible negative that people should be aware of is that the train runs almost directly behind the hotel. If you have a river front room, you may hear the train going by at 3am in the morning. I should say that it never really bothered me and I'll a light sleeper. If you think it may be a problem for you, ask for a non-river view room and I'm sure the train issue will be a non-factor. Again I think for most people this won't be a problem.

I would highly recomend The Big River Grill in Stevenson, Washington. I think Stevenson has better places to eat than Cascade Locks, Ore. Aviod the drive-in in Cascade Locks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank photoguywisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Ga.
Level Contributor
56 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

The Best Western in Cascade Locks is about the only place to stay in Cascade Locks. The hotel is clean with large rooms. Breakfast was pretty good for a free meal. Food was plentiful and hot with good variety. The views of the river are great next to The Bridge of the Gods. Some people might think the trains being so close would make to much noise but I never heard them.

Room Tip: If train noise bothers you pick a room on the highway side. Views will not be as good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blind-Willie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

Everything about our experience here was good and that does not happen very often.

The Good:
The service desk lady was very friendly, helpful and “real”. I think her name was Dawn, but I waited too long to do my reviews, so I am not sure.
The price was a good value.
The room and beds were comfortable. There was enough room for a port-a-crib, which we really appreciated.
The pool was simple, but we enjoyed it.
Breakfast was great tasting, but I would really like more healthy options. Fr example, they could add yogurts w/o refined sugar, whole grain waffles and breads, and more fruit.

The Bad:
Nothing to report!

Room Tip: River view = train going by. We weren't too bothered by the noise, but we have CPAPs that make w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ASchroader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cascade Locks
19.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Hood River Inn
17.0 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
17.0 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel
Columbia Gorge Hotel
#3 of 9 in Hood River
4.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 9 in Hood River
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
19.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
24.7 mi away
Timberline Lodge
Timberline Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timberline Lodge
4.0 of 5 stars 831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn
Address: 735 Wanapa Street, Cascade Locks, OR 97014
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Cascade Locks
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Cascade Locks
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Columbia River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Columbia River Hotel Cascade Locks
Best Western Cascade Locks
Cascade Locks Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing