We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could this be the worst KOA in the PNW?”
Review of Cascade Locks KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cascade Locks
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cascade Locks KOA
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If you don't care about sleeping through the night, the lack of grass anywhere, the tiny swimming pool or the small, dirty, out of date bathrooms, you should be fine. If any of those things matter to you, you should find someplace else to go. The playground is decent size but the ground cover is plain dirt, as it is throughout the campground leaving our kids dirty after just 5 minutes of play. The bathroom was constantly dirty with bits of toilet paper all over the floor. The showers looked like they would not be out of place at the grungiest state park. But worst of all was the train. Constantly, 24x7. Even at 3am. The train is literally next door to the campground. Probably only 50 feet away. The noise from the whistle in indescribable. This is not something you get used to. When the train goes through, as it does at least 10 times a day the entire campground shakes.
I've often stayed at state parks. When you pay $14 a night, you don't expect too much and so I never fault those campgrounds. But when you pay more than $60 for a cabin you expect a little more, and usually KOA delivers. Not this time.

Room Tip: Try to be as far away from the train tracks as possible. And bring ear plugs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EarlOfSWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (114)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 114 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

From the time we checked into this place was terrible, the woman at the desk was obviously annoyed by our mere presence. They have stuffed as may spaces as close as possible. A little watering would go along way, the majority of the sites were dirt or dead grass. The shower stalls were either broken or dirty. NOT pet friendly like they say. Children are however allowed to run wild without supervision. And any thought of using the pool is out unless you are a child unsupervised. None of the usual KOA rules are enforced, quiet time is obviously whenever you feel like. Trains didn't even bother us as much as the rest of the stuff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elkies08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We were further away from the railway track so it didn't bother us in a big way. Overall this is a nice camping site with good amenities. It has swimming pool and spa. Restrooms were clean and there are no charges for hot shower. This was our first time staying in KOA as we've always stayed state park campsites. I would say we were impressed by KOA.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dipak S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Continuous train traffic and dust wold be the complaints, the dust could be helped with a little more grass watering and watering the dirt roads like I have seen other KOA's do. The trains are part of the Gorge! The corners are not cleaned good, cob webs are happy here and the staff while friendly, polite and very helpful are seemingly all seniors and everyone moves at the speed of snail....:) It happens, just not very fast and that is an observation not a complaint! Main building and pool/sauna area dated, small and in a little disrepair, cedar roof needs to be cleaned and oiled. All in all it is a very friendly, nice, kinda clean camp ground that could improve a bit and get 5 star reviews!

A lot of trees and a lot of shade and that is a very good thing! It can get hot in the Gorge....

They could also use a camera security system, we had a incident that might have been prevented with fake security cameras and would have been captured and possibly prevented with a real surveillance system! The owner dealt with that issue in a prompt and professional manner and we would like to thank them for that...:)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wildchinook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Booked this through the KOA website as it was listed as being a "Portland" campsite. It is not. Nevertheless, the staff were very accommodating and showed us all the waterfalls to see, which were impressive. Also, Hood River is a nice location to visit.

Tent sites were in the shade of trees, good kitchen facilities. Very clean toilets.

If you are a light sleeper the trains will keep you awake!

Wifi was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roamincorkonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We just got back from a camping excursion and spent 2 nights here. The staff were fabulous - friendly and helpful. The bathrooms were clean. Showers were good. Pool is very small but we weren't interested in that. Lots of shade trees for the warm days. The trains go by constantly - day and night - and blow their whistles. So really hard to sleep. Pancake breakfast for $1.99 is a bargain. Nice little store with the essentials if you forgot something.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BethM920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We were travelling through this area a few years back in our RV with some family from England. It had been a long day and we spotted the KOA sign. The staff were very friendly. They gave us all the information about the pool, pancake breakfast etc. They directed us to a spot in the far corner of the campground. We couldn't understand why were in an area with no one else around us (lol)! Once we were set up, unhooked, sitting in a chair with beer in hand, one of the attendants came over to say "did anyone tell you about the trains?" Low and behold the train came through and then again every half hour after that. The back of our fifth wheel lit up and I thought the train was coming right through us in the middle of the night. Needless to say not much sleep was had that night! Still...we look back and laugh about it now. Definitely a memorable stay!!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mark Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cascade Locks KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Locks KOA

Address: 841 NW Forest Ln, Cascade Locks, OR 97014-6651
Location: United States > Oregon > Cascade Locks
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cascade Locks
Number of rooms: 128
Also Known As:
Cascade Locks Koa Hotel Cascade Locks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing