We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired and noisy”
Review of Cascade Locks KOA

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cascade Locks
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cascade Locks KOA
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We unfortunately didn’t have an opportunity to read the Trip Advisor reviews of this campground before we arrived. Trains, trains and more trains... you don’t want to stay here if you are a light sleeper, or at least bring your ear plugs. It was mid-march, only a few sites were fully serviced; you should check in advance to make sure that you get a fully serviced site. The sites were well laid out and treed. Overall the place looked a little old and tired.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HD53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (112)
There are newer reviews for Cascade Locks KOA
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 112 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

The place is noisy--I mean trains & trains whistles all night long! The cabins are spittin' distance apart and the next door lodge had a bunch of kids the "parents" let outside unattended the whole time. The kids, again unattended kept lighting the fire pit using green wood & then leaving! The KOA worker had to come put it out with a hose because smoke was unbearable for the whole camp ground... when the kids got back, the parents disappeared inside the little snots built another smokey fire and thumped and bange wood against the ground for evening and started again at 6:00 a.m. The trains go by constantly and the street traffice. The lodge was a $100 for the night and a nice hotel up the street would have been a few dollars more! The camp ground does not provide linens, including towels and the wood in front of the shower was rotting from there not being a bath mat in place. The whole place was dirty... didn't even touch the dishes they supplied because on a scale of 1 to 10 for cleanliness the Lodge was a 2. The firepits are right out the front door so you get smoke from your own fire as well as the neighbors. I would suggest the Best Western in town & bypass this place.

Room Tip: If you want to stay in Cascade locks--this is a bad choice--go Hotel or Motel.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank She_Taz68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

stayed here withe friends but did not read the reviews for this venue. The trains pass by hourly and sometimes 30 minutes in between. If you're a light sleeper then you will wake up hourly in the middle of the night.

Horrendous!!

Stay away, and especially if you're with kids!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank weloism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

This place is FAR from a place we will ever stay again. Upon arrival , they informed us that the power was going to be shutoff from 1am-6 am, why could they not have notified us sooner, did they just find out when we arrived ? They had a sign at the front counter when we arrived, pretty sure they knew. They said they HAD to inform us in case we a CPAP machine. We do ! I'm sure glad I didn't stop breathing and die in the 5 hour window with no power so I could enjoy a GOOD camp trip in the future.! We can't wait to get home. At first glance the place looks great, pool, small arcade and clean looking sites. As soon as we unhooked, the trains started. The same LOUD trains other reviews have referred to and they came though ALL NIGHT LONG !!! After we heard our first train, the pitch droplets started falling from the trees overhead, what a mess these things can make. Be careful if you leave your lawn chairs out. The next thing you know you have pitchy hands and clothes.......

It was nice weather and the campfires were nice, but not very romantic with the BLASTING of the train whistles... If you like pitch and trains, this is the place for you ! Might want to check well before your camp dates and confirm the pitch isn't falling and that they will have power.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 805Kim805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We booked in here for 4 nights. We were aware beforehand of the train tracks and almost hourly noise. What we were not aware of was that staff allow the garbage dumpsters to fill to overflowing and then tell you sorry no pickup til Monday. Have they not heard of an additional dumpster? We went to the adults only hot tub and found it full of screaming children. Mentioned this to the front desk staff and was told sorry cant leave my post. Same thing happened next night. This is despite signage stating no one under 18 allowed. The showers have slimy shower curtains and broken seats. The washing machines are rusted. The staff does not take negative observations well. Be prepared for back paddling . This is a very old run down KOA with little being put back in for upkeep and repairs.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bogdan999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2012

It's located in a picturesque location with no view. It's a relic, old, and over priced. We are surprised its a KOA. We met family here. But if you have kids don't stop. They charge $ per child over 6. Whew! It cost us $45.00 (2 adults + 1 child)and our daughter stay was 60.00 (3 teens, 1 young child) We found another location that overlooks the river. $25.00 Shop around.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Summertravelors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Thank you KOA Cascade Locks , My husband and I just had a wonderful weekend at your campround,we really enjoyed it there beautiful grounds well kept,great pancake breakfast,I was worried after reading some reviews,it was awesome for us we meet great folks we swam and sat in the hut tub enjoyed some lovely campfires,next time we will bring the kids.It was a great weekend!!!Thanks so much!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MelbPortlandoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cascade Locks
1.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Columbia River Inn
15.4 mi away
Columbia Cliff Villas Hotel
18.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Hood River Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#7 of 8 in Hood River
197 reviews
15.4 mi away
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
Columbia Gorge Hotel & Spa
#5 of 8 in Hood River
770 reviews
17.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Hood River
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cascade Locks KOA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cascade Locks KOA

Address: 841 NW Forest Ln, Cascade Locks, OR 97014-6651
Location: United States > Oregon > Cascade Locks
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Cascade Locks
Number of rooms: 128
Also Known As:
Cascade Locks Koa Hotel Cascade Locks

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing