We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great history lesson”

Bonneville Lock & Dam
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls
More Info
$56.00*
and up
Multnomah Falls and Columbia River Gorge Tour from Portland
More Info
$86.00*
and up
Portland Combo: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Trolley and Columbia River Gorge Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spans the Columbia River and links Oregon and Washington.
oregon
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great history lesson”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

We happened to arrive at the Visitors Centers as a bus full of tourists descended on the facility. Lucky for us as they had a prescheduled tour waiting for them which we were able to tag along on. After listening to a very interesting and interactive presentation we were taken into the powerhouse which is off limits unless you are on an official tour. When you visit take the time to visit the fish hatchery as well.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank barbararob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    152
    25
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Beaverton, Oregon, United States
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Herman the Sturgeon”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Of course, there are many who come here to see the dam, the hatchery and all that but let's get right to the point - it's all about Herman the Sturgeon!!! Whether viewed from above the water or in the viewing area below, when that huge sturgeon comes around the corner or rises up from behind a sunken fallen tree - excitement abounds with gasps and pointing by all who are present. Take in the beautiful Gorge on the way there from any direction and this is a trip well worth taking. (And don't take the clerk in the gift shop at her word when she says there are no more Herman the Sturgeon refrigerator magnets left, we found two different types after a search of our own.)

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cindy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Our family vacation brought us through Oregon where we stumbled across the Bonnevilly Lock and Dam. Having never seen anything like this we made an unscheduled stop to see what we could see. SImply amazing sight. Once inside we were greeted by a very informative volunteer. We did the self tour and thoroughly enjoyed our learning experience. From beginning to end (gift shop stop included!!) we were there about an hour. Would definitely recommend.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank diane b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colfax, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bonneville Lock & Dam”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

My husband thought the presentation by the Army Corp of Engineer employee was very informative and how the Columbia River had changed. We both enjoyed the visit to the Power Plant and seeing the fish ladder with the Salmon migrating.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank gigi g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“this was a "great" stop another must see.”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

ok I toured the dam interior once. and it was during the Salmon run, it was spectacular.
and yes the visitor center Ive seen a few times on other trips.
you can see the power generators and the mechanics of that if your interested.
[ok I was there awhile, I fed my nerd inside] and the sportfishing dude was fed too. :)

the other thing/place I have enjoyed is the fish hatchery. take the time to walk the path there to enjoy the fish pools. there are big rainbow trout to Sturgeon in these pools.
oh on a sunny day the coins in the sturgeon pool shine. and the Pirate in me saw treasures guarded by great sharks. ok the kid in me got fed too.
a guy must keep the stories of adventure alive.

these are "fine" places to see alone I-84.
the great North West has adventures for you to enjoy.
[yes it is close to Portland] and there are a great variety of things to do to see and great places to eat there.
Hood river is closer and that town has some great things. even a wal mart - lol
seriously - stop there to see the Columbia river lodge - it is more of an adult thing.
and dreams of a romantic kind can be found there on the rim.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank toknowlj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonneville Lock & Dam also viewed

 

Been to Bonneville Lock & Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing