We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were a little bored...”

Bonneville Lock & Dam
Book In Advance
More Info
$105.00*
and up
Portland Sightseeing Tour Including Columbia Gorge Waterfalls
More Info
$56.00*
and up
Multnomah Falls and Columbia River Gorge Tour from Portland
More Info
$86.00*
and up
Portland Combo: Hop-On Hop-Off Sightseeing Trolley and Columbia River Gorge Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spans the Columbia River and links Oregon and Washington.
Seattle Area
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“We were a little bored...”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Okay we must have went at a time of year (Spring) that there weren't any fish, because we saw ZERO. So that made it a bit boring. There were lack of signs telling us where to go, so we wandered around different floors indoor and out trying to figure out what to do or where to go. There was some interesting information and a view of the turbine engines, which my son and hubby liked. The fish viewing area was boring (no fish, as I said). The ladders were boring (we saw no fish). The good part was that it was free. The security guard who waved us through and checked our trunk (he has to) was super friendly. The movie playing was a little boring in the movie room. But overall, I'm glad we did it. I was hoping there was more to see like the water flowing through, but we did not see that.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Northwestgirl37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    152
    25
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 6 Contributor
222 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Very Well Done!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Great interpretive experience. The docent giving the tour and talk of the dam and it's history was excellent. Even though it was not salmon running season there were a few salmon traveling up the salmon steps, very interesting. We stayed here much longer than planned. Strongly recommend!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Captain J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
548 reviews
319 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
“Loving the Locks”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

How lucky can you get? Just about the time we drove up a worker let us know a sternwheeler was nearby. We watched the locks go through the whole process. it's an amazing thing to watch. This boat was going east to west, so we saw the HUGE lock empty out in a matter of minutes. You will not believe it unless you see it yourself. The boat goes in, the water goes down and then the boat goes on its merry way. Really amazing.

Then we made our way over to the dam. I personally did not find this as interesting as the locks. I'd been to dams before and it was a little ho hum. However, there were lots of kids there and they were having a great time. The dam museum is on several levels with a lot of touchy feely and peek a boo exhibits. The kids were racing around having a marvelous time, urging each other to come see the next exhibit.

One thing I can say, the restrooms were nice. So if nothing else, this is a great potty stop.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
2,745 reviews
1,446 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1,520 helpful votes
“Spring - Best Time”
Reviewed March 9, 2013

Tip: During the winter this area is very windy and cold. And it's really hard to see the salmons. Spring is the best time to visit it.

Cons: (winter) we saw 1 fish, the doc wasn't very interesting, the native art in the shop was made in China...

Pros: the ranger was very nice.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank HelenaGuerra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gresham, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Interesting tour - best for late Spring/Summer”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Good visitor's center, but you have to make special arrangements to actually go inside the dam and get a tour. The fish ladders were pretty empty right now, but things pick up around April/May.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pat N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bonneville Lock & Dam also viewed

 

Been to Bonneville Lock & Dam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing