We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! Will be back!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Carlton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Brookside Inn on Abbey Road
Ranked #3 of 5 Carlton B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 5, 2011

We needed a place to stay in the Carlton-Dundee area in a pinch. I easily located the Brookside Inn on the internet and very easily made a reservation. It was quiet, peaceful and very comfortable. We both enjoyed quietly reading on the grounds as there are multiple places to just be alone. We needed that and it's sometimes hard to find in a B&B! We'll be back!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank suzannepeters83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (127)
There are newer reviews for Brookside Inn on Abbey Road
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 127 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2011

Bruce and Susan are the perfect host and hostess. They made us feel special every moment we were there. They are a warm, engaging, soulful couple who appear to love opening their home guests. The house is beautiful and comfortable - the perfect place to unwind and the grounds are spectacular. We had the corner room on the first floor, which opens onto a large wrap around porch. I loved sitting there with my coffee in the early morning, looking out over the gardens. And did I mention the fire pit and s'mores in the evening - they've thought of everything. I left feeling as if I had made two new friends.

Room Tip: Corner room on first floor that opens to wrap around porch
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMP3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2011

Wonderful place to stay and explore the wineries of Willamette Valley just an hour from Portland, Oregon. Bruce makes a great breakfast and the grounds are lovely. A nice place for a special occasion get away.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
Thank CathyD06850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We stayed here for a couple of nights in June. Great location between the wine vallies and a spectacular property complete with a fire pit and nice walking trails. The hosts were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was excellent. They even have a s'mores kit ready to go near the fire. Nothing better with a bottle of wine!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Txjhwk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2011

Bruce and Susan are great hosts of this beautiful bed and breakfast in the Willamette Valley. With 9 rooms in two different buildings with gorgeous landscaping and spacious accommodations, we knew right away that we had picked a great place to stay for 4 nights. My husband and I were traveling with another couple who also enjoyed the environment. We spent our days wine tasting at the many great recommendations from Bruce and Susan. The lunch and dinner spots were also just the best recommendations.

Bruce is an awesome cook. The breakfasts we enjoyed were top notch. From polenta cakes with poached eggs and bacon, to creamy scrambled eggs, homemade corned beef hash, and homemade French toast we always left for our daily adventures just waiting for the next day's breakfast.

Their dogs Rizzo and Mondo along with the two cats were also great. If you are an animal lover you will be in heaven. The cats stay outside, but greeted us every time we walked up to the house. The dogs generally stay with Bruce and Susan, but sometimes they are allowed to come out to the living room to say hi.

The grounds are beautiful. With waterfalls, lush gardens, fire pit for roasting marshmallows in the summer, and trails for exploring one can definitely become so relaxed that you forget about the hustle and bustle of City life.

Our favorite spots were the Anderson Family Winery, Willakenzie Estate, Cuvee Restaurant, The Painted Lady Restaurant, Tina's Restaurant, Red Hill Provincial Restaurant, Horse Radish, and shopping in McMinnville. Oh, and I can't forget about the Evergreen Aviation and Space Museum where you will find the Spruce Goose airplane. This is a great place to take a break from all of the wine tasting.

We are already looking forward to visiting Bruce and Susan again at the Brookside Inn.

Room Tip: Excellent location, fun people, great wineries
Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank StephanieL67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2011

Just a lovely getaway that takes you back to a simplier time where your tensions can just melt away. Some of the most beautiful country to hike and walk in, whether by walking around a gorgoues lake or by a stream. The rooms were so cozy and well appointed. Susan and Bruce were two of the nicest people we have ever met and they took excellent care of us.
They embrace diverse and interesting visitors! The breakfasts were just delicious. We look forward to our return very soon and we will be bringing friends!

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank magsterky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

Beautiful grounds. The owners were friendly but missed some of the things we've received at other B&B's- no snacks when sitting on the porch in the evening, no offer of help to start a fire in the pit, no tour of the grounds.
The rooms were smaller than the online pics appeared. We're fine with no TV or phone, but no alarm clock seems cheap rather than rustic. And the only place to hang our clothes was a hook on the inside of the door, with three hangers jammed on to it.
All-in-all, a nice enough place but seems overpriced for what we got.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GearheadJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
6.3 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
324 reviews
7.3 mi away
Best Western Newberg Inn
5.7 mi away
McMinnville Inn
McMinnville Inn
#4 of 6 in McMinnville
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
3.9 mi away
La Bastide Bed & Breakfast
6.3 mi away
3rd Street Flats
3rd Street Flats
#1 of 2 in McMinnville
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brookside Inn on Abbey Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brookside Inn on Abbey Road

Address: 8243 Abbey Road, Carlton, OR 97111-9503
Location: United States > Oregon > Carlton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range: $228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a truly exceptional Northwest lodging experience in the heart of Oregon's wine country. Situated on 22 shaded acres, Brookside Inn On Abbey Road is a secluded bed and breakfast retreat 45 minutes southwest of Portland in Yamhill County. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Brookside Inn On Abbey Road Carlton, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing