We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must eat here!”
Review of The Horse Radish

The Horse Radish
Ranked #1 of 13 Restaurants in Carlton
Price range: $8 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Horse Radish offers the ultimate wine country experience to visitors and locals alike! Try one of our famous sandwiches made to order for lunch. Or come in for a delicious dinner - our menu changes often, based on the availability of quality local ingredients. Enjoy a Mimosa or Bloody Mary during Sunday brunch! We proudly serve Marshall Davis Wines and feature craft beers on tap, and House Cocktails. We are happy to have live music on Saturday nights year round. You can see the upcoming artists under our Live Music Schedule. So come early, enjoy a beverage, eat a great meal, and get the best seat in the house before the music starts! *last seating for dine in is 15 minutes before close
Reviewed October 24, 2015

The Horse Radish was a great find in Carlton. It's got good character and a welcoming atmosphere. They serve interesting, tasty sandwiches. Personally, I had the choice of three cheese and meat item and it was plenty of food. It also included a fig jam that was incredibly delicious.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank EMarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (271)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

149 - 153 of 271 reviews

Reviewed October 21, 2015

A small place located in-between wine villages. Willa Kenzie Estate staff recommended and it was perfect for a late lunch. I think it closes about 3 so we made it just in time. Their version of a 1/2 and 1/2 was tasty, flavorful and large. The sandwiches were served on focaccia - I had roast beef/husband turkey. The sandwiches came with fresh green salads. The price was just right - especially for the area. The coffee was served in a French press.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank pumpkinhead40
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2015

We were a group of 8 friends wanting a good meal and a chance to discuss our adventures of the day. We were seated at an appropriate table, but before our orders could be taken "live music" HAPPENED, in the form of a small band with a very loud saxophone. So much for conversation! The staff agreed to our request to be seated outside, even though the outside dining area was not open. We used our cell phone flash lights to illuminate the table and really enjoyed our meals (food was good!), with the sax safely separated by a solid door and considerable distance.

Date of visit: October 2015
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2015

While wine tasting in Carlton, we checked TripAdvisor for lunch options. This sandwich/salad/soup had great reviews so we gave it a try. This is a very casual, "seat yourself," place. Prompt friendly service, great food. Sandwiches made on focaccia and side of chips. Half sandwich & soup or salad options. We ordered pastrami, roast beef and BLT. Winetasting also available. Waitress was quite busy but took care of us. My husband and 15 year old son walked out of there happy and satisfied. Absolutely, we'd go back.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 558sharonp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2015 via mobile

We came toCarlton a friday afternoon and in the evening we found Horse Radish, with good food, live music and a fun local crowd to cheer the musicians. We alsk got a gteat bottle of a great Willamette PN to our meal. In short we had a great evening.

Date of visit: September 2015
Thank 182bj_rnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Horse Radish also viewed

 

Been to The Horse Radish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.