We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hooked us up on our bike trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 5 Carlton B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We were bike touring through Oregon and ended up in Carlton on a whim. Within minutes of arriving at the B&B, Roselyn arranged massages for us and found a restaurant that would be open after our massages let out. The room was super comfy and the omelets Roselyn made for us were delicious. They even gave us some snacks for our ride the next day! Definitely staying there next time we're in Carlton.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (62)
There are newer reviews for R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 62 reviews

Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our room was great. Very clean and comfortable. The atmosphere though was just kind of weird. The house seemed cluttered and had an odd smell. It needs to be aired out and the clutter organized, not just stuffed into cupboards. The breakfast area was cramped. The food was just ok but the coffee was awful. Other guests have commented left reviews about this and it seems like it would be an easy fix. The owners try really hard but the place just has a weird feeling to it. I only write this because I wish someone had left a comment about it before we went

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Twotravellerz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rrthompsonhouse, Owner at R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

We work hard to provide an outstanding experience for our guests – from the pillow-top mattresses, to the homemade breakfasts. We listen to all comments/reviews and attempt to improve our level of service even more. We have taken this guest’s recommendation and removed some of our collectibles/items from guest areas. And as this review is directed to future guests, we would like them to know that we will be glad to satisfy their particular tastes or wishes. Perhaps they will prefer percolated coffee over French Press coffee. Finally, we will put into storage our Norwegian troll. Some may find it strange or even weird. Note this guest gave the accommodations, as well as our location, the highest rating possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This was our first stay at a bed & breakfast and we had an excellent stay at R.R. Thompson House. The owners were very welcoming and gracious, quickly explaining to us the setup at their place. We stayed in the Rose Suite and it was very spacious and well appointed. The breakfasts were very well done.

The principal reason for going to Carlton, OR is to tour the Willamette Valley wine country and the location of this B&B is perfect for that. There are more than a dozen wine tasting spots within walking distance of the B&B and all the top wineries in the vallley are within about a 20 minute drive. One day we drove to the coast and it was only about an hour away. All in all, I would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We visited the Yamhill-Carlton wine country in early June 2013. Roselyn and Mike, innkeepers at the R. R. Thompson B & B, were key to a wonderful two-day experience. Their vintage home put us in the spirit of this historical Oregon valley. Eclectic furnishings, a homey feeling rich with access to local historical reading material, and a great home-cooked gourmet breakfast topped off our visit. All in all, Roselyn and Mike’s hospitality led us to a fine wine tasting adventure.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karlo88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

I can't say enough about our experience at RR Thompson last weekend, when we were attending my son's graduation at Linfield College. We had an unexpected need to accommodate my daughter who had arrived late from out of town the previous evening. Roselyn and Mike were incredibly gracious, flexible and helpful in meeting our needs and contributed in a significant way to what turned out to be a memorable weekend. Besides that the house is beautiful, the Lavender Suite was fabulously furnished and comfortable, and the breakfast quite delicious. I travel a great deal all over the world and stay at many hotels - however this was definitely one of those rare places, nestled in Oregon's beautiful wine country, that I will always remember. We look forward to going back sometime soon.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fulhamrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The R&R Thompson Inn is something else. We stayed for a weekend as we toured the wine country and have nothing but amazing things to say about this place.
1) Perfectly located in Carlton, right in the middle of wine country. The town is walking distance and has great food, live music, and tasting rooms. All major wineries in this area are short drives away
2) Best breakfast - amazing eggs, french toast, juice, tea. Cozy ambience and wonderful setting
3) We stayed in the Rose Room, upstairs. Wow. That bed is the most comfortable thing I have slept on in a long time. Large (read: giant) room, lots of windows, super cozy and comfortable.
4) Lovely hosts - we had a wonderful experience, they were just SO warm!!

Would definitely come back, in fact, fingers crossed, hope to come back very soon!

Room Tip: Rose Room!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveleroftheworld10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

We were made to feel most welcome, with a tour of the house and the history of the development explained. Our intention to visit the nearby Aviation & Space Museum fortunately led us to this place. Our hosts wanted to ensure that the breakfast would meet our needs and was very tasty. The room was furnished and equipped to a very high standard ensuring a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Even though we were on the top floor - this did not limit our comfort in anyway. All the rooms are s...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JwithP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carlton
6.1 mi away
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
McMenamins Hotel Oregon
#2 of 6 in McMinnville
324 reviews
6.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites McMinnville
7.3 mi away
GuestHouse Vineyard Inn McMinnville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Red Lion Inn & Suites McMinnville
15.1 mi away
The DreamGiver's Inn
The DreamGiver's Inn
#3 of 7 in Newberg
180 reviews
6.1 mi away
3rd Street Flats
3rd Street Flats
#1 of 2 in McMinnville
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 517 North Kutch Street, Carlton, OR 97111
Location: United States > Oregon > Carlton
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Carlton
Price Range: $173 - $266 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
R.R. Thompson House Bed & Breakfast Carlton, Oregon

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing