We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view of the Pacific Ocean & great service!”
Review of Surfsand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surfsand Resort
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at the Cannon Beach Surfsand! It is right on the beach with great views & beautiful sunsets if the weather is good like it was for us. We stayed in the Oceanfront Building on the 3rd floor. (Rooms with good views are best on the 3rd floor with 2302, 2303, 2304 & 2305.) The Beachfront Building is located closer to the beach than the Oceanfront building & partially blocks some of the Oceanfront rooms' views in rooms with partially blocked ocean views are: #2301, or the 2nd floor #2201-2205 or 1st floor #2101-2105. The Oceanfront building definitely has the best views & I would recommend a room above the ground floor.
We loved our time there & did not want to leave!!! The weather was sunny & warm! The Surfsand does a lot of little extras to make your stay special - ie. free bikes to check out for up to 2 hours, fresh baked cookies in the lobby each afternoon, free dvd movies to rent, free umbrellas & chairs that they will set up for you on the beach & for $10 they will build you a bonfire on the beach in the evening to roast marshmallows & enjoy the evening. The service was great & everybody was very helpful! This is a great place for couples or families. We will definitely stay at the Surfsand again soon!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank BHOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 28, 2014

Thank you for vacationing with us! It’s good to hear you found a room to your liking. We’re glad that the weather was nice for your stay, and it sounds like you were able to experience a lot of the amenities and activities we offer. Hope to see you soon!

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,770)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,248 - 2,254 of 2,770 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2014

We stayed in this hotel a few weeks ago and had a wonderful experience! We arrived late and had no reservation. Michael, Matt, and Ashley were extremely helpful and not only made sure were had a room that met our needs but also provided us with plenty of information about the property and nearby town. The rooms were very cozy and luxurious, all new, and extremely clean. We had a corner room on the first floor with a balcony overlooking the beach. The bathroom was well appointed and twice the size of a typical hotel bath. We hate a wonderful meal at the restaurant and then we toasted marshmallows on the beach (an amenity provided by the hotel).

Cannon Beach is an adorable little town with plenty of unique shops and cafes.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAP34550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

We’re glad you stopped by the Surfsand on your vacation! It’s good to hear that you found the room to your liking. Our friendly and helpful staff will look forward to your return.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great location on the beach, wonderful personnel. However, our room was 100 feet from the construction in the entry drive of the hotel. Whenever I tried to sit on our little balcony to enjoy a quiet moment enjoying the view of Haystack Rock, there was the buzz saw , or the planer. Really annoying to have been given this room. Otherwise, a lovely destination with great access to the beach.

Room Tip: Take a beachfront room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank judithsaxs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2014

We apologize for the noise issues that you experienced while we were doing construction on the resort. We hope next time you visit we will be able to make it up to you.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on a girls trip. There were three if us.
We got an ocean front room and the view was to die for!!!
There was a King size bed in the bedroom and a pull out sofa. We fought over the sofa because we could leave the sliding glass doors open and smell, hear and see the ocean from it.
I lost so I'm not sure how comfortable it was. The King size bed was very very very comfortable. Unfortunately I could hear a ton of noises early in the morning so I woke way earlier then I wanted.
The bathroom was very nice. It even had a TV in it.
There was a small fridge which was nice as Cannon beach has an open container law that allows you to walk anywhere with alcohol in hand. Which made have beers and sightseeing fun.
All in all I would want to stay here again and again if I can afford it.
We paid a little over $400. I feel like it was over priced. They allow dogs which unfortunately made our room smell like wet dog. Also the balcony was amazing BUT it's very open to the next door neighbor and they had a dog. When we went on the deck in the morning the dog jumped up started barking and scared us to death. We couldn't enjoy our beautiful deck and ocean view. Not sure where the dogs owner was.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kellylmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2014

We’re so glad to hear that you loved the location and the view that comes with it. We are also glad to hear that you enjoyed your room and the amenities. We hope you were able to make some wonderful memories with your friends!

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

My Family and I enjoyed our stay at Surfsand resort, friendly enviroment,great costumer service and mostly the breath taking view that we have was amazing. I will most definitely recommend to my friends and family. My family and I was already planning to come back next year.

Room Tip: Beachfront view/breath taking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bettybooplady2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2014

We’re so glad you were able to bring your family to come stay with us! Hopefully the weather was nice enough during your stay for you to take advantage of our seasonal cabana service. We also offer many family activities such as a hot dog roast on the beach, an ice cream social, and kid’s crafts for the little ones. We hope to have you again soon!

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

I have stayed at the Surfsand twice and will keep going back. It is worth the splurge to stay right on the ocean, with a gorgeous view, in a comfortable and clean hotel room. The staff is so friendly and helpful, on places to see, things to do, places to eat, needing extra accomodations, anything you ask for! I love the cookies available at check-in, and I love the planned activities. I also love the bonfires on the beach, which is an experience you come to Cannon Beach for. The staff will make you your own, bring you blankets, smores packets, wine, whatever you want! This is what a vacation is expected to be like. Thank you to the friendly, hard working staff that work at the Surfsand!

Room Tip: I have stayed in the oceanview rooms on all stays. The view is amazing, and you can sleep with the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Kris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

It’s great to hear that you had another fun vacation with us! The view is amazing from our ocean front rooms—and you can even see Haystack Rock from some of our partial view rooms. It sounds like you were able to enjoy our seasonal cabana service. Next time you stay with us you should make sure to check out our complimentary driving service if you want to explore downtown Cannon Beach. We’ll see you soon!

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This place is dreamy. My husband and I had a lovely trip together for his fortieth birthday. I cannot wait to come back here. I think the best thing is having staff members not only make your fire on the beach, but bring you a bottle of wine as well. :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mobilegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2014

We’re glad you were able to celebrate your husband’s birthday at the Surfsand! If you get a chance, next time you’re here you should check out the wonderful spa services that we offer—very relaxing. Hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,644 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,962 reviews
0.5 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#12 of 15 in Cannon Beach
187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Address: 148 W Gower St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $135 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfsand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. IPod docs, deep soaking tubs, fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing