We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay, great views from beachfront units”
Review of Surfsand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Surfsand Resort
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 5, 2014

We stayed in a third floor, beachfront suite for a three-day weekend over spring break. Some of the things we particularly liked about our unit were the views, fireplace, a living room separate from the bedroom, three tvs (although we only used the one in the living room), a lavish bathroom, the video lending library, the ease of walking into town (about 10 minutes) -- (a shuttle is also available), the nearby coffee places, the layout of the unit, the convenience kitchen (microwave, refrigerator, plates, wine glasses, etc.), the service. It was also nice to have access to a pool and moderate size workout room although we did not use it. The only drawback are the walls are thin -- we could hear the person next door coughing and a baby crying. The view was important to us -- I recommend a higher floor. We enjoyed eating at the Lumberyard, Stephanie Inn, Bistro and Castaways while we were in Cannon Beach. It's an expensive property (or at least it was over spring break), the three for 2 special that we found on Amazon is what encouraged us to try it for the first time.

Room Tip: If views are important, choose a beachfront suite on a higher floor in the beachfront building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rshoregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

We’re glad you enjoyed the many amenities we have to offer and it sounds like you were able to explore the town a little during your stay. We look forward to seeing you again.

Thank you,
Jerry W Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,359 - 2,365 of 2,852 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2014

This was the second time I stayed here and it is very over priced. I know you are paying for the location but I don't think it's worth it. The furniture feels like hospital furniture. It's an old motel remodeled and it feels just like that. It just doesn't fit what they are charging. Renting a cute house nearby is a much better option in this area.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Portlandmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

We appreciate your feedback about your recent stay at Surfsand Resort and are sadden that you where not happy with the value of the property. Thank you for sharing your comments, we are currently changing some of the rooms furniture due to feedback like yours.

My sincerest apologies,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

It is true the weather (sunny and nice) was a factor in our great weekend at the coast but another big factor was staying at the Surfsand. Our room was in the Ocean Front building which is right on the beach. Don't confuse it with the Beach Front building which is also on the beach. The Ocean Front building is newer but set a little farther back from the beach than the Beach Front building. The room had many very nice features: a gas fireplace, DVD player (the hotel has a library of free DVDs), a refrigerator with an actual freezer which would keep ice cream frozen (a step above the standard mini-fridge), a microwave, a soaking tub and separate shower and a tempurpedic mattress. The rooms in the Beach Front building are a little smaller than the Ocean Front but it worked out okay for the weekend. In this building the view of Haystack Rock is obstructed but still have a great view of the ocean and the beach to the north. The couch in the room matches the more modern décor of the resort but could be a little more comfortable . The room also has lots of great lighting. The DVD player, the fireplace and the microwave for popcorn made for very cozy evenings. The resort is also pet friendly which is great - they even put your pets name on a welcome board in the lobby on the day you check in.

The staff at the Surfsand is really great. They are very friendly and helpful. When we arrived, we asked if we could extend our stay 1 night. They said we could but that we would have to change rooms for that last night. They were ready for this sort of thing and were very helpful and friendly to make it happen which extended our fun 1 more night.

If you want a fun and relaxing stay in Cannon Beach, you can't beat the Surfsand.

Room Tip: The Beach Front and Ocean Front buildings are both right on the beach but the Beach Front building s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mrpeanut3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

We’re excited to hear that you had a great weekend with us! We offer many great amenities in our rooms and we are glad you were able to take advantage of them. Something to do here when the weather is nice also is to enjoy our seasonal cabana service down on the beach. We look forward to hosting you again.

Thanks,

Jerry W Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2014

I had been wanting to stay at this hotel in Cannon Beach and was finally able to for a couple of nights as part of a road trip. The rates always looked a little pricey online but once we stayed here, it seemed like a really great deal. We arrived early so our room wasn't quite ready yet but they gave all four of our kids sand buckets and shovels so we could play at the beach while we waited. They were also having free waffle ice cream cones on one of the rooftops that afternoon, so that was pretty great. Our room was spacious, had an enormous jacuzzi tub that all the kids could fit in and we were right on the beach with a beautiful view of the ocean and Haystack Rock. The closet had four kid-sized robes that they wore to the indoor pool each day. They had an outdoor shower on the side of one building for rinsing off our sandy feet. One of the nicest touches I thought, while we were here, was that kids eat free at some of the restaurants in town. One of the restaurants was right next to the hotel and the other was just down the street. They both had very good food and service. Each night there were little toys left in our room for our kids and the second evening they were roasting hotdogs on the beach, which was also free. They did not have a do-it-yourself laundry facility here, however, so we had them take it for us since we had accumulated a lot of dirty sandy clothes. The clothes were not done in the amount of time they had told us so they didn't charge us for it, which was nice of them. Anyway, it was a great experience and we would love to stay here again next time we visit Cannon Beach.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank snowgirltwentytwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

We’re glad you enjoyed your retreat with us! We pride ourselves in creating a family friendly environment and are glad you were able to enjoy the many amenities we offer for guests who bring their kids with them. We hope to have you again soon.

Thank you,
Jerry W Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

The Surfsand has a directly on the beach location. This is a fabulous long beach framed by dramatic forested mountains. The property has rooms with fireplaces, deep soaking tubs, comfortable beds, and terraces overlooking the beach and ocean. Our room had a mini fridge, microwave and coffee station along with DVDs that you can check out at the office. The property has a detached restaurant. The swimming pool is indoors only which is unfortunate but perhaps in Oregon a necessity. All of this wrapped up with the beach set in a cute coastal town. Be careful to get a room where your view will not be obscured by another building as ours was and the higher floors the better. There is some noise from the hallways. Big plus for this
property - they are pet friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelstoomuch1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

We love hearing that you and your family had a great vacation. It sounds like you were able to make great use of the various amenities that we offer here. We pride ourselves in being pet friendly and love it when our guests bring their furry little friends along with them.

Thanks,
Jerry W Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Hailing from the east coast, I didn't have extraordinarily high hopes for our family vacation to characteristically chilly Cannon Beach, despite my mother's daily "Just wait and see"'s. After three days at the Surfsand Resort, I realized that I couldn't have been more wrong. From s'mores roasting on the beach each evening, to beach bike riding, to striking views of puffins on Haystack Rock from our room's spacious window, it was truly the perfect trip. I've never stayed in another hotel like this. We gushed over our luxurious room equipped with a beautiful fireplace and a wide, seemingly panoramic view of the Cannon Beach coast. Needless to say, I'll be back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NYCVisitor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

We’re so happy the weather was nice for your stay. We’re glad to hear that you were able to experience several of our amenities and activities—sounds like quite the adventure! Next time you vacation here, you should be sure to check out our indoor heated pool, Jacuzzi, and fitness center.

Thanks,
Jerry W Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had booked one night at the Surfsand Resort in Cannon Beach and before we knew it, one night had changed into two, then four and then 6. What was planned as a road trip with a stop over in Cannon Beach turned into a 6 night luxurious stay at Surfsand. The friendly staff, relaxing room, great amenities and peaceful area made it a place we could not leave. We loved everything from the fresh baked cookies in the lobby in the afternoon to the DVD library (with popcorn!) to the "Tillamook Ice Cream Social" on Saturday. The pool and hot tub were clean and perfect. The beds were comfy and falling asleep to the surf each night was wonderful. The staff were some of the friendliest staff I have ever met - anywhere. They went above and beyond to make sure we were happy and comfortable during our stay - even mailing postcards for us! I can't wait to return to Surfsand - our time there was the most relaxing holiday I have ever had.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2014

Thank you for staying with us! We’re glad you were able to enjoy so many of the amenities that we offer. Our staff is great, including our wonderful cabana staff. They can take care of you down on the beach during the day and even set up a bonfire for you and your family to enjoy down on the beach complete with s’mores in the evening.

Cheers,
Jerry W Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,670 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,304 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,714 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,020 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Haystack Rock
Inn at Haystack Rock
#11 of 15 in Cannon Beach
204 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Address: 148 W Gower St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3028
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $136 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfsand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. IPod docs, deep soaking tubs, fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing