We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Beachside Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Surfsand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfsand Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Beachside Resort”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2014

First visit to Cannon Beach Oregon and we opted for a less expensive, non-beachfront room. Upon speaking with the very helpful reservation staff, we booked a room that was not a beachfront room, but that afforded a spectacular view of Haystack Rock on the beach.

The location of this hotel is perfect - a short walk to the charming town of Cannon Beach, and an even shorter walk to the beach itself, and Haystack Rock.

The staff were so helpful and friendly, and really made us feel welcome, and at home, with really nice little touches! We will definitely return ... soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TSK1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, February 18, 2014
Some of our limited view rooms do get a nice little peek at Haystack Rock, so glad that you enjoyed one of them. Our friendly and helpful staff will look forward to you return, hopefully sooner then later.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,627
    407
    108
    28
    11
See reviews for
862
973
62
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Shores, Washington
Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

My friend and I have been staying at multiple-locations at Cannon Beach, but now she owns a rescued canine-unit (a pooch). Her dog is very shy and we don't think she had ever been to the beach before. She took to it like a seagull to water! She was so ecstatic there. Thank you Surfsand, we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
So glad that your friends shy pooch introduced you to the Surfsand Resort. We will leave the light on for your next visit.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Puyallup
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

After 6 months living in the dust and decay of RC-E in Afghanistan, my wife wanted to let me relax near water. LOTS of water.

This resort is amazing. Our room opens onto a balcony that faces the ocean! There is not decker able noise from the adjacent, occupied rooms (very quiet). The heated indoor pool and hot tub are located in a vaulted ceiling timber framed structure...very PNW...very nice.

We purchased our very own Bon fire on the beach. The staff set it all up and gave us blankets too. It was a very special time to sit around a roaring fire in the inky darkness, roasting dinner with my family.

The weather has been great and I have many pictures of the spectacular views (Haystack Rock).

This was something very special. These are the memories made that are worth the expense.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for serving our country and taking the time to comment on your visit to our Resort. Delighted to hear about all of your beach experiences that you had during your visit.

Enjoy the Memories,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
180 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2014

last year I wrote a review about booking this hotel purely because of the customer care I received from Taylor one of the staff when I phoned. As I reviewed then I had to wait 6 months before I could post again to review out stay. Our whole experience at Surf and Sand was excellent and Taylor was there to check us in when we arrived! he gave guidance on places to eat! and attractions nearby! a true gentleman who was lovely to meet. This was followed up by a phone call from Taylor to check if we were happy with our room, which was a 1 bedroom with corner views to haystack rocks etc. Surf and Sand is a great location but all the other beach hotels are within close proximity to each other so in terms of location they are all top notch. We loved Surf and Sand & Cannon beach and hopefully one day may get back again. They also provide a car which will take you to some of the restaurants I reviewed free of charge. Would recommend a stay here. The fact that I remembered to review this hotel six months after I stayed is testament to how happy we were with our stay. A special thanks again goes to Taylor!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank providence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
We are so appreciative of all of your grand comments about the customer service that you received during your stay with the Surfsand Resort. Nice to hear that you where able to take advantage of our complimentary car service around Cannon Beach.
Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

My daughter recently stayed the weekend at the Surfsand Resort and accidently left her house keys and a small case containing numerous gift cards in the nightstand drawer. When she got home and realized she didn't have her keys or her gift cards she called the resort. They mailed them to her the next day.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Just_Jane2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment.
Excellent to be able to serve your daughter,
Surfsand Resort Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The staff is friendly. They have milk and cookies and taffy in the lobby as well as newspapers, coffee and tea. Have stayed here at the surfsand several times and each time we have had an issue with people smoking next to us or above so we were unable to leave our sliding door open so we have hear the ocean as we always stay in one if the dog friendly rooms near the grass area. Each time I call the desk to complain but the on going smoking issue never gets resolved. Rooms are nice but you do hear noise from your neighbor above you or next door. No breakfast is offered. Complimentary toiletries in bath are nice as is the bed, sheets and towels. Pillows are feather and too soft and squishy for our taste. No air conditioning in rooms but a fan is available in the room. Coffee and tea provided in each room along with mugs, bowls and utencils. The mugs are awkward and are not a good for coffee drinking. Exercise room is really nice. Didn't use the pool. Pet friendly resort but very little grass area available to take your dog to. They do leave some dog towels and treats for your pet in the room on arrival. I have found the pet bowl they provide for your pet is way too small so we bring our own.its fine if you had a cat or a small yorkie. We may be back if they enforce the smoking policy.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lanalange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, February 8, 2014
So sorry that other guest did not respect our non-smoking policy, we try to inform neighboring guest of our policy in a hospitable way. So glad that you enjoy numerous amenities that we provide.
Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
400 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 325 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have returned to The Surfsand year after year because of the incredibly friendly front desk staff, the location right on the beach, the little extras like cookies in the lobby and movies to borrow for free, the gorgeous view overlooking Haystack Rock and the fact that dogs are welcomed guests. We just love this place and would not stay anywhere else in Cannon
Beach. We especially love Rachel at the front desk who goes out of her way to be helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenLakeReener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent visit to the Surfsand Resort, we are humbely gracious that you stay exclusivly with us. We appriciate all of your praise for Rachel and the rest of the staff.

See you soon,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,441 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,726 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.5 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Property: Surfsand Resort
Address: 148 W Gower St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3028
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfsand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. IPod docs, deep soaking tubs, fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing