We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We Love This Place!”
Review of Surfsand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surfsand Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
411 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 336 helpful votes
“We Love This Place!”
Reviewed January 3, 2014

We have returned to The Surfsand year after year because of the incredibly friendly front desk staff, the location right on the beach, the little extras like cookies in the lobby and movies to borrow for free, the gorgeous view overlooking Haystack Rock and the fact that dogs are welcomed guests. We just love this place and would not stay anywhere else in Cannon
Beach. We especially love Rachel at the front desk who goes out of her way to be helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GreenLakeReener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your most recent visit to the Surfsand Resort, we are humbely gracious that you stay exclusivly with us. We appriciate all of your praise for Rachel and the rest of the staff.

See you soon,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,341 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,750
    437
    112
    30
    12
See reviews for
933
1,025
63
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Have stayed here several times - with parents, as a couple and with children, and each time with dog(s). The service is always good, price is sometimes too good depending on time of year, and rooms are always spacious and spotless. They always do everything right regardless if we are driving through or staying for a few nights to relax and enjoy the beach.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PearsonX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
We are a super family and puppy friendly Resort and are thankful for your praising review.

Until next time,
Cheers,
Surfsand Resort Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

This was the third time we have visited Surfsand for our company work party. The rooms are always amazing. We love the huge tubs, comfortable bed, and the unique option of opening the wall and seeing the ocean while in the tub or showering.
The staff is always accommodating and so helpful. They have a movie selection, popcorn, fresh cooks, salt water taffy, ice cream, etc. in the lobby and that is a nice touch. The robes are also one of our favorites.
The food they provided in catering was also delicious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeremy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Glad to hear that your company has made us a regular retreat destination for the company party. Thank you for doing a detailed account of some of our many amenities.

Hope to see you next year,
Jerry W.Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013

I stayed here for one night in Dec on my way to San Francisco.

I can't really say enough about this hotel. I'm a tough customer and hard to please. I usually have a few complaints about something but not at the Surfsand. The service at the hotel was perfect. The suite was very clean and to make me even happier thus had L'occitane toiletries! I'm a happy customer!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Impressive perfect service for a happy guest, can't get any better then that. We appriciate you taking the time to review us.

Happy travels,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon Coast, Oregon
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

My wife recently surprised me with a 4 day stay at SurfSand Resort for my birthday. What an awesome experience. Our fireplace room overlooked the ocean, the resort restaurant was excellent, and we actually ate Thanksgiving dinner there. I had an awesome spa experience as part of my birthday present, with a massage with Jessica Rainey, a Massage Therapist there. Highly recommend Jessica,

Room Tip: Always go for oceanfront with fireplace. Also, a very very pet friendly resort, bring Skippy !
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winedude1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, January 11, 2014
Nice to hear from you on your recent surprise birthday visit to the Resort. The Wayfarer does an amazing job with food and service so glad that you enjoyed it. Thank you for your compliments on Jessica one of our massage therapist.

Lookig forward to hosting you again,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Washington
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2013

We were a family of four and had a two bedroom suite. It was beautifully appointed with quality finishes and furniture. We had a direct view of Haystack Rock and the beach, with a nice balcony too. They put out chairs on the sand in front of the hotel for guests to use. It was all lovely.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms have a view but it wouldn't hurt to ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
So glad you had such a wonderful stay with us! Thank you for the wonderful comments about the Surfsand Resort. Since you loved all of those amazing amenities we offer, next time try a beach bonfire that our staff can set up for you! We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Level Contributor
739 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

We came here without a reservation. We were able to get a nice studio with a porch, ground floor for around 200. We ate at the very nice restaurant and walked to Haystack Rock. It was a foggy day and the rock was hard to see until we were there. Amazing. Tidepools with starfish and seabirds nesting. Terriffic.
Our room was a little crowded with the amenities but so nice. The bed was excellent. This to me, is the Carmel of the Oregon Coast. Art and unique shops, no fast food or chain anything. Great location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarshallGulch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments! Haystack Rock is a wonderful place to explore tide pools and glad you enjoyed that while staying with us. The Tempur-Pedic beds are excellent aren’t they. We look forward to seeing you on your next stay.
Cheers
Jerry W Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,504 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,560 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,843 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Property: Surfsand Resort
Address: 148 W Gower St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3028
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfsand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. IPod docs, deep soaking tubs, fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing