We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surfsand Resort
Nearby Hotels
Tolovana Inn(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
$239
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ecola Creek Lodge(Cannon Beach)(Great Value!)
$147
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $198/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$389
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Schooner's Cove Inn(Cannon Beach)
$379
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Stephanie Inn(Cannon Beach)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lighthouse Inn(Cannon Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Courtyard(Cannon Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
McBee Cottages(Cannon Beach)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,071)
Filter reviews
3,071 results
Traveler rating
2,330
546
139
40
16
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
2,330
546
139
40
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscabana servicewayfarer restaurantkids eat freehaystack rocksurf sandsoaking tubbeach frontmemory foambeachfront roomcookiesindoor pooloregon coastturn down servicegreat amenitiespartial viewspring breaklove this place
Filter
Updating list...
2,626 - 2,631 of 3,071 reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2013

I love Cannon Beach, it was our first visit there. I would recommend the second or third floor.
We had 2nd floor oceanfront. It was beautiful. We got a glimpse of bottom floor and it felt like a basement. We ate breakfast at the Wayfarer restaurant, attached to the hotel and it was delicious and service was great. I highly recommend this hotel

Room Tip: We had oceanfront 2nd floor, it was wonderful.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

I’m glad you enjoyed your first trip to Cannon Beach and making us apart of it! Next time stop by around 3:30 and enjoy are fresh bake chocolate chip cookies! The Wayfarer does have a fantastic breakfast menu, next time maybe room service so you can relax in your room while you eat. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Ever grateful,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

For a first time visitor to the town and hotel Diana was a huge help in walking me through the myriad of room options available. We settled on an ocean front room and the balcony was perfect for enjoying the sunset. But as many have noted, this is really just a very expensive motel. Having stayed in water front resorts in Florida and Northern Michigan, at comparable prices, I have to say this greatly pales in comparison. The room was very small (no ocean front suites were available and I had no idea how tiny the room would be), the tv does not have HD (at these prices it should be a given), and the single computer in the hallway of the lobby is a cheap laptop connected to a printer. Additionally, the turn down service was nothing more than pulling the sheets back and dropping four chocolate mint sticks on them. A first rate property would have dimmed the lights, set the clock radio to a soothing station (if the room had a clock radio, which it didn't) and set four Godiva chocolates on the sheets. But this is an upscale motel, not a first class property or resort. Lastly, we could not close our door when leaving without the door latch blocking it. I got the impression it's been that way for decades. I suppose if they could get away with all that at these premium prices, all the power to them. But don't say you weren't warned.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Knoxman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2015

I would like to apologize for the sub-par experience you had while staying at the Surfsand. I hope if you return we will be able to give you a better experience.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

The hotel is situated right on the beach, just to the north of Haystack rocks. The beach is lovely to walk on, uninterrupted for quite a long stretch.
The hotel is very nice inside the rooms, they've been meticulously upgraded with marble counters, mini kitchens, gas fireplaces and oh-such-heavenly beds! Beautiful microfiber robes, lightweight but cozy, top off the excellent experience. My room had a balcony which overlooked Haystack rock- a sublime stay!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
Thank donna3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Thank you for such wonderful comments about our rooms! Sounds like your beach walks were wonderful! Next time enjoy a cozy bonfire on the beach with lovely views of Haystack Rock! We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Thanks again,
Jerry W Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed 4 nights for our 48th anniversary. We had stayed here for our 35th and decided to stay again because this hotel has level beach access, i.e., no steep stairs to reach the beach. We love the room's amenities including the walk-in shower, soaking tub, and gas fireplace (although it wasn't used due to warm weather). The hotel offers an on-demand shuttle service to and from town that was perfect for older customers. We would have liked better beach service. We were not told until check out that wind blocks were available. The hotel could do a better job at making known to their customers all the hotel services and amenities. We could have used bell service for luggage or a better explanation about how to access the elevator via a ramp (discovered after lugging luggage up some steps to reach the two-sided elevator. We recommend this hotel but not for those concerned about costs. We think it is excellent but overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for waterfront-facing.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunshineLadybird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2014

Happy Anniversary! I’m glad that you enjoyed our driving service we offer. I’m sorry you were not informed about our wind breakers that we offer on the beach at check in. Looking forward to seeing you in the future!

Gratefully,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our preferred hotel was not available but we are extremely pleased to have found our new favorite. Great location with view of Haystock Rock. Our room was extremely clean with elegant decorative touches. The TV in the bathroom was also a fun touch. It's not located in the main town but it's close enough to quickly run in to poke around the shops. The beds are tempurpedic style and was extremely comfortable, the linens were also high quality. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Babikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2013

We are excited to hear that you found a new favorite place to stay in the Cannon Beach area. Glad you enjoy all the small touches in your room! Also next time enjoy our complimentary driving service to take you into town!

We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews