We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location - amazing service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Surfsand Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surfsand Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Marysville, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect location - amazing service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Our preferred hotel was not available but we are extremely pleased to have found our new favorite. Great location with view of Haystock Rock. Our room was extremely clean with elegant decorative touches. The TV in the bathroom was also a fun touch. It's not located in the main town but it's close enough to quickly run in to poke around the shops. The beds are tempurpedic style and was extremely comfortable, the linens were also high quality. We enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Babikers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We are excited to hear that you found a new favorite place to stay in the Cannon Beach area. Glad you enjoy all the small touches in your room! Also next time enjoy our complimentary driving service to take you into town!

We look forward to having you stay with us again!
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,073
    291
    75
    23
    7
See reviews for
542
679
44
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Goldens Bridge, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Park yourself at this resort with incredible service, views and amenities. Cost is high end but Cannon Beach make memories with this hotel. A wonderful indoor pool and whirlpool add to the fun. Umbrella and chair set-up with wind barrier are yours for the asking. Handicapped accessible with elevators and ramps to all levels.

Room Tip: Spend more for a view of the ocean. Mezmorising sight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank school88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for staying with us! I’m glad to hear you enjoyed the beach set ups provided by our Cabana Service. We are so glad we could be part of the memories that were being made!

Hope to see you in the future!
Jerry W Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewis Center, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

We paid $900 for two night and the room was hot. No AC on the property. Great location though. They do have a fan in the closet if your ok with that. It was just an ok for the too. Some do not mind sleeping when it is hot but I don't feel that for the price was worth the temp in the room.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gotchk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2014
Thank you for your comments on your stay at the Surfsand. On the Oregon Coast we do not often need air conditioning due to the weather we get here but we do apologize that you found the room to be too hot. We hope if you return we will be able to help you feel more comfortable in your room.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bainbridge Island, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
211 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our first trip to Cannon Beach so we were not sure what to expect. This resort was recommended to us by another resort in town since they had no vacancy and we were traveling with a small dog. Positives: Fantastic location on the beach with easy beach access on either side of the resort. Very close to Haystack Rock. Rooms and bathrooms were very clean and well appointed with a small refrigerator, microwave, dishes, table and chairs, sofa bed, flat screen TV, DVD player, iPhone radio/alarm clock/charger. Great and abundant services: Indoor pool, gym, a la carte items such as purchase of robes, chocolates, flowers at reasonable prices. Love the fact you can be set up for a bon fire on the beach. L'Occitane bath amenities - but what you expect for the price. We paid nearly $400 for an ocean front King room. They have activities seems each day and warm cookies in the afternoon. The front desk staff is efficient, helpful and very welcoming. They even welcome the pets on a sign in the lobby. Amenities for the pooch included bowls, place mat, lightly padded blanket, towels and treats. Bath wash available on side of resort. Negatives: small balcony and closed in, expected more open balconies as in photo. With all windows open the room was warm, it was much cooler outside in the evening than in our room. No AC, poor ventilation. Would be nice with at least ceiling fans, we discovered a fan in the closet as we were leaving. We would stay here again but we'll know there is a fan next time.

Room Tip: We were on the top floor away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Thank you for making us a part of your first trip to Cannon Beach! I’m glad you and the pooch enjoyed all the amenities we have to offer during your stay.
Cheers,
Jerry W Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, BC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The resort is right on the beach or a few hundred steps away o you cant get any better than that. The resort is clean and well appointed however, our room had no air conditioning and no air circulation which meant it was very hot and stuffy even though it wasn't really warm outside. Beds are memory foam so they are very tough to move in, soft yes, but difficult to sleep in all night as it was warm and those beds tend to be on the warmer side. Staff were friendly. Bathroom toilet seat was not the right one for the toilet and was worn. It really was very misplaced given how nicely the room was decorated. Overall I might consider staying here again but I would have to ensure there was air conditioning in the room.

Room Tip: Ask for ocean view. Even rooms behind main building have partial view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SplashFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, December 12, 2014
Thank you for vacationing with us! Unfortunately the weather here does not often call for air conditioning in the rooms. We do have fans for our guests to use, however. We hope you will consider staying with us again.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent location and perfect view of Haystack Rock. Ask for a room on the third floor -- definitely NOT in the basement. We were in room 301 -- perfect with fireplace and great view. Only disadvantage was the the fireplace stayed very warm even after turning it off -- maybe need some air conditioning which normally wouldn't be needed since it's on the chilly side there. We had evening turn-down service (no charge) and got a handful of chocolate mints instead of the usual one each. The bed was very comfortable and the room was very clean and neat.

Room Tip: Third floor for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pauline422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
Glad to hear you enjoyed the view from your room, and turndown service! Sounds like the staff took great care of you.
Hope to see you in the near future!
Jerry W Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel knows how to wow you with the little touches. From the sliding door from the jacuzzi bath tub to the main room to freshly baked cookies in the lobby, Surfsand leaves no whole for improvement! The beds additionally were spectacular...and the sheets OH-SO-SOFT!

From the porch of the Ocean front rooms, you are able to walk right out to the beach. Or if the weather is poor, you can just hang fire-side from your room and watch the waves roll in in perfect comfort.

This is a hotel that you will not want to leave!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KelseyIvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, September 25, 2013
We’re thrilled to hear you had such a fabulous time staying with us! Next time you are with us enjoy our great amenities out on the beach; like a bonfire with s’mores! The sheets are from Jennifer Adams and are a great addition to our Resort!
Thank you,
Jerry W Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
1.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 1,223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 1,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,049 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#14 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
7.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Property: Surfsand Resort
Address: 148 W Gower St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3028
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfsand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. IPod docs, deep soaking tubs, fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing