We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I love this place.....”
Review of Surfsand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfsand Resort
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This hotel has the nicest rooms, the most comfortable beds, overlooks the ocean and "the rock", and is in close proximity to the Wayfare Restaurant (where they serve incredible food)! So incredibly perfect for a romantic weekend. The rooms sports a king bed, a sitting area, a fireplace, and a bar. If you are looking for place to take your spouse for a romantic getaway in Cannon Beach, this is the place to look!

Room Tip: Ask for a beachfront room, it's worth it!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

It really does not get much more romantic than a beach adventure does it? I am glad you choose us for your romantic beach getaway and thank you for your positive recommendation to others.

Thank you for your review,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,597)
There are newer reviews for Surfsand Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,239 - 2,245 of 2,601 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2013

I looked at some of the negative reviews for this property and can't imagine what the people are talking about. The front desk crew was amazing, especially Taylor. Being off-season and mid-week, he got me into a great ocean view room on the top floor for a very reasonable price. The room was incredible with a super-comfortable bed and REAL matching dishes in the mini-kitchen area. The privacy screen on the huge soaking tub slides back to allow you to sip wine, soak, and watch the ocean all at the same time. After enjoying a massage with Pam, I slid between the pristine sheets and enjoyed one of the best sleeps I've had in a long time. Not sure what they could have done to make my mini-vacation any better.

Room Tip: If you're going to go to the beach, I can't imagine booking any room that didn't have a...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vancouver427
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

I am so glad you decided to give us a chance even after reading negative reviews and that we were able to show you that our resort strives hard to make every single guest happy! We are so happy to have Taylor as one of our many personable, outstanding front desk personnel. Pam, as well as our other massage therapists, is so wonderful and I am glad you were able to enjoy one of our many massage treatments available.

We hope your next stay is just as excellent,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a beautiful property and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The fresh cookies and milk every afternoon are a nice touch. Our room was extremely nice with fireplace, 2nd TV in the big, modern bathroom and the views of the beach were great. It's a solid 15-20 minute walk to downtown which is no problem - when it's not raining, lol. Dinner at the Wayfarer restaurant right next door was excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2013

Thank you for your great review! We are glad you enjoyed your room and our staff. We do offer a free shuttle service that will take you to any location in town as well as pick you back up. I so wish that you had been informed of that so you wouldn’t have had to worry about the rain! Although dinner at the Wayfarer is always a nice treat! Please take advantage of our shuttle service the next time you are here. Our front desk staff would love to help keep you dry and warm on those rainy Oregon days.

Thank you again,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Surfsand Resort lived up to its number one status. My wife and our two kids visited in February for three nights. We spent a lot of time at the indoor pool and walking around the beach. The kids ate for free at the lumberyard and wayfarer restaurants through a discount program with the hotel. I took the advise of previous reviews and requested a room ending in an 03 or higher, anything closer and your view is quickly obstructed. I would also recommend staying on the third floor if you are in building 2. Free cookies and milk was a nice touch each afternoon, ice cream was a good idea but the flavors were not kid friendly. View was nice from room but you did have to look over a building to see haystack rock.

Areas for improvement were a dog or two barking pretty late at night, bed was a bit soft and room was smaller for a family of four. Wifi was hit or miss. On the pro side the bathroom was top notch, ample pillows were provided, nice robes for the family, and gas fireplace in the room.

It's a pretty good value for what you pay, I would give it 4.5 stars if I could.

Room Tip: Ocean view building is number 2. Pick a room on the second or third floor ending in 04.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

We are grateful for your affirmation of our #1 status on Trip advisor, it is not something we take for granted. Thank you for your detailed review on pro’s and areas for improvement for the Resort.

Happy travels,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2013

We stayed at Surfsand Resort for 1 night in January. We had a 1st floor room and a partial view of the ocean. The room was very lovely and perfect for a cold and rainy night. Cookies at 3pm were a great touch as well as a free movie and popcorn!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank iheartcoheed129
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

Thank you for your cozy comments on the Resort, so glad that you loved the room.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

My family just stayed two nights at the Surfsand. We have stayed there many times before. I can't say enough good things about our stay. Its all about the little things that they do that make it special. Ice cream hour, cookies and milk, free movies to watch, sand buckets, turn down service, I can go on and on. The rooms are modern and clean, the staff are great, you just can't go wrong at the Surfsand! Can't wait until we get to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2013

We appreciate all of your wonderful review about all of the little things that add up to a great stay.

We look forward to your return,
Graciously Surfsand Resort Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Our stay at the resort was great. The staff went above and beyond to make us feel welcome. Everyone we came across was very friendly. Our room was out of the world. We had a beach front king suite. In our room was a note welcoming us back with a treat of taffy. well done. The food at Wayfare on the property was very good. It was so relaxing to sit on the balcony and watch the waves on the beach. If you want to waqlk on the beach it is only couple of steps away. Looking forward to our return visit of the Surfsand Resort.

Room Tip: Room 1210 was great
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elkmon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2013

Thank you for the raving review and wonderful comments about the staff. We have some great deals now through April.

See you soon,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
1.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,109 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,579 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,836 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.5 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#12 of 15 in Cannon Beach
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Address: 148 W Gower St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3028
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $140 - $404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfsand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. IPod docs, deep soaking tubs, fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing