We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well maintained, helpful staff, average value”
Review of Surfsand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfsand Resort
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights over the Thanksgiving weekend. Nice facilities, well maintained. Hot tub and pool are spacious and in good shape. Fitness center also available. Good location on the beach and within walking distance of downtown. Spacious room but no fireplace. Small patio/deck for the nice weather. Staff responded quickly when two different problems arose. However, at $175/night for a room with a view of the parking lot with the ocean beyond was too much in my opinion.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MikefromSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded April 19, 2015

Thank you for spending your Thanksgiving weekend with us! It sounds like you were able to experience some of our amenities around the resort. If you come when the weather is nice you can enjoy a cozy bonfire down by the beach to watch the sunset. We are sorry the value of your room was not up to your expectations. Sometimes we will run promotions on our room rates so that you can enjoy an ocean view room at a lower cost. We hope you will consider coming back.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,606)
There are newer reviews for Surfsand Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,263 - 2,269 of 2,606 reviews

Reviewed November 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed at this resort a few times and LOVED it. The rooms are spectacular (there's a fireplace in every room.. woo hoo !) The hotel is very clean and tidy and the beds are all tempurpedic mattresses.

Lovely location, great staff, beautiful hotel.

Room Tip: Get a beach view room. You'll be glad you did !
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ace_Rimmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

We’re so glad to hear that you have had wonderful vacations with us. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Jerry W Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

Super friendly staff, no matter if they're greeting you in the lobby, bringing you a movie and popcorn, or passing you in the hall. Very clean. Their housekeeping staff is incredibly detailed and we were so appreciative! Everything was lovely and everyone who worked there was fantastic; we felt catered to and cared about. The Wayferer Restaurant's food was wonderful in every way! Excellent room service. We're going next month and I can hardly wait! YAY Surfsand - WE LOVE YOU!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melissari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2014

We’re so glad you had a good time during your vacation here at the Surfsand! It’s also good to hear that you got a chance to go to our onsite restaurant The Wayfarer. We hope to have you again soon.

Cheers,
Jerry W Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Had a glorious weekend at Surfsand Resort in Cannon Beach, Oregon! If you haven't stayed at this hotel you have to make the time to ENJOY this special place on the coast! It is an all-time favorite hotel!!!! Get the turn-down service, enjoy the warm cookies in the lobby at 3pm, ask for a movie for FREE from the front desk, and bring a book for the amazing bath! Take a walk, let your dog run on the beach and shop in the boutiques! You and your family deserve a weekend!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Thank you so much for spending your vacation with us! We’re glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again.

Cheers,
Jerry W Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Chose this resort through Trip Advisor. The entire experience at the resort was wonderful - even though we had one rainy, windy day. The room was beautiful will a gas fireplace and an incredible view! Even during the rain it was a wonderful room to look out at the ocean, enjoy the fireplace, a good book and a glass of Willamette Valley Pinot Noir! The staff went out of their way to meet every need. They were pleasant and very welcoming.

The Wayfarer Restaurant was nice. We had one dinner and two breakfasts there and the food was adequate.

I certainly would recommend this resort to all - ask for an ocean front room. It is really worth the extra.

Room Tip: Oceanfront building on the highest floor offer the finest views!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yiyia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2014

We love hearing that our guests had an excellent time here! The view really is amazing. We hope to see you again soon.

Thank you,
Jerry W Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Surf Sand has the best location on Cannon Beach of all the hotels. It's on the sand and an easy walk to town on the beach or sidewalk. Rooms are nice and the Tempurpedic beds are great.
There are a couple of hotels that are more luxurious but unless you are going to stay in your room - the Surf Sand is it.

Ask for a 'beach front' room on the 2nd or 3rd floor for the best views. 'Oceanfront' rooms have less of a view. If booking one of those ask for the North end of the building.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thank you for joining us on your vacation! Many of our rooms have great views. With a location near Haystack rock and downtown Cannon Beach, it’s easy to have a fun and relaxing time here.

Cheers,
Jerry W Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Just got back from staying at Surfsand Resort. My husband and I had a wonderful experience. The front desk clerks were all very nice and helpful. One of the reasons why we choose this resort is because it was dog friendly. And boy it sure was! The rooms were very clean. Love the separate bedroom from the living room. The living room had a really nice fireplace and we had a ocean front room, where we are able to walk out onto our private patio. The bathroom was huge! the shower was awesome along with the tub as well. Our bedroom was incredible. We slept on a temperpedic bed. Now we want to purchase one for our home.
The beach was wonderful. We were able to let our mini dachshunds run and play. What a nice and relaxing place to be. Can't wait to come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebekkah88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

It’s good to hear that you enjoyed your vacation here! We are very pet friendly and absolutely love it when our guests bring their dogs with them.

Cheers,
Jerry W Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
1.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,121 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,581 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,644 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,843 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
0.5 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#12 of 15 in Cannon Beach
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Address: 148 W Gower St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3028
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $139 - $383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfsand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. IPod docs, deep soaking tubs, fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing