We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“book the ocean front rooms”
Review of Surfsand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surfsand Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
128 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“book the ocean front rooms”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

For some reason, I thought this resort was old. I was expecting old, musty-smelling rooms. But hubby booked a ground floor ocean front room and surprised me with a great view and nice bathtub. So I'm posting pictures for this review.
We arrived around lunch time and hiked the Ecola State Park trail. We did not even venture 'into town' to check out the restaurants as we just wanted to enjoy the room and the view.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunflowii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2015
We love hearing that your stay was an excellent one! Please join us again soon.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,754
    438
    112
    30
    12
See reviews for
936
1,027
63
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (244)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nevada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Over the years, I've stayed here on several occasions. Every time I return, I'm happy I did. The location is ideal, the scenery breathtaking and the staff very friendly and accommodating.

I stay on the second level in the main ocean front building. These rooms are ideal if you are traveling with a family. The bathrooms are quite spacious, the bedroom a little small but adequate and the living area quite comfortable. The living room offers a sofa bed but they are not very comfortable.

I would recommend staying in the main building but closer to the center or North end which affords a better view of Haystack Rock. The views from the South end of the building are limited because they are blocked by an adjacent building. Be careful where you book because the ocean front building offers rooms on the lower level. This is actually a basement. These rooms are smaller and have windows but NO balcony.

The hotel offers to set up for nightly bonfires on the beach for a fee of $10.00. They provide chairs, wood and blankets. There's a small grocery store close by that sells everything to make s'mores.

The Wayferer Restaurant is on the premises and offers a decent menu. I would recommend reservations if you are visiting during the summer.

Adjacent to the hotel, you will also find a location to rent bicycles. My family and I really enjoyed cycling on the beach.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank luvtotraveljw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2015
It’s good to hear that you enjoyed your vacation with us! We’ll leave the light on for you.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is great because of its location on the beach, its proximity to town, the fact that it is dog friendly and the indoor swimming pool. It is the perfect family spot. And the staff is very helpful and hard working.

Some of the interior is a little bland, but not so bad. The beds are just ok.

And there are microwaves, small fridges and a kitchen sink in the rooms, so that is really nice when you want to eat in for a meal.

All-in-all I will stay here again and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MRD2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2015
We’re glad you had a great stay and enjoyed the location. We hope to see you again.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Three generations including a 5 year old stayed here for 4 nights and had a very enjoyable vacation. Being originally from N.J and now from Texas., the beach experience is quite different but we had a great family vacation. The Pacific is quite cold but our grandson loved "walking/running" on water. We had one really nice warm day with little wind; the other days were variable but we were able to use the pool, rent bicycles to ride on the sand, explore the marine life around haystack rock during low tide, enjoy the short walk into town where our grandson also made friends and had fun at the playground/park and join the nightly bonfire to make and consume smores.

Our room was below ground with the windows at 'boardwalk' level. We opened the windows both day and night to keep the room a comfortable temperature. We also spent time with the rest of the family in their oceanfront room with balcony, bedroom and living room that had a sofa bed for the 5 yr old.

The staff was fabulous and very attentive. The cabana staff were especially nice and helpful, providing towels, chairs, sand toys, kites, making fires at night etc. The staff was also very understanding when we had to admit that we somehow had messed up our entry into the safe so that it didn't work. They sent someone to the room immediately to reopen the safe without any problems. They also sent a maintenance person to the room soon after we arrived when my daughter-in-saw inquired about the refrigerator not seeming cold enough.

The price of the rooms seemed a little high compared to the cost of living in Texas but the Surfsand Resort was well worth it. Our son and his family live in the Seattle area so I am sure we will return to Surfsand Resort, especially when our grandson said " I miss Oregon".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hondo3700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2015
We love hearing that you enjoyed your time here! Please come vacation with us again if you are ever back in Oregon.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool. Lancashire
Level Contributor
295 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

We had a fantastic view from our oceanfront room which had its own balcony/veranda. We were at ground floor level at the back and slightly raised from the boardwalk at the front which was great. The room was furnished to a very good standard and a very elegant bathroom with a huge tub and a walk in shower. The beds were comfortable too. We had room service which was very good indeed. The room was directly on the beach and overlooking haystacks rock - wow.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanside room - worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2015
What a great review! Thank you so much for visiting us at the Surfsand. We pride ourselves in providing a fun, comfortable stay for our guests. We’re elated to hear you enjoyed the view and the location.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quebec
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I just wanted to thank Surfsand and all the great staff for another fantastic visit!! My family has been coming here for over 50 years, it is our once a year pilgrimage to the Oregong coast. Every year, we don't know how you do it,you keep improving an already perfect haven. From the minute we arrive we feel we are home- first saying hi to all the friendly staff at check -in (and eating all the peanut butter salt water taffy at the desk), then getting to our cozy rooms, to hitting the beach and saying hi to Haystack Rock,swimming in the pool and hottubing, coming back and eating those amazing choco chip cookies, then over to the Wayfarer for the best happy hour- then later my fav- going down for campfire and s'mores- oh yea- i could set out there all night!! Thank you for your constant great service- see you next year- all the best rhonda

Room Tip: Go to Ecola State Park and hike on the amazing coastal trail!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rhondaQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2015
We love to have returning guests and it sounds like you had a great experience with us. Thank you for taking advantage of our many activities like the ice cream socials and bonfires. Our cabana service is also a great way to spend a day on the beach. We’re glad your room was comfortable.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We stayed at the Surfsand Resort after reading an article in the Oregonian about dog friendly places on the Oregon coast. This was a wonderful hotel, right next to Haystack Rock. The staff was incredibly friendly, even on one of the busiest weekends of the year because the temperatures in the valley had reached near 100. When we checked in, there was a welcome chalkboard with our dogs name on it, and a "water fountain" for dogs in the lobby. In the room was a very cute doggie welcome basket with treats, towels, blankets and sheets for the dog. We had what they call an "eye-level" king room, it was on the bottom floor, and "eye-level" describes exactly what it was--beach front, but not with a balcony; the long windows, which ran the length of the room, looked over the hotel deck, onto the beach and ocean, so even though the room was below ground level, there was still a lot of light coming in. The windows opened as well, which was great, so it was nice and breezy. The room was very spacious and nice, with a fridge, microwave, gas fireplace, big flat screen TV in the room (and even one in the bathroom), a sitting area with chairs and table, very comfortable bed.

On Saturday nights they have a big bonfire on the beach, or for $10 you can have your own beach fire which the staff will start for you and set up chairs. They also an ice cream social on the 3rd floor deck in the afternoon (free ice cream with a beautiful view of Haystack Rock!).

The hotel restaurant, The Wayfarer, was delicious and the hotel will make reservations for you. The best clam chowder i have ever had!

This was pretty pricey, but we were there in high season (Saturday night in summer), and i felt it was worth the price to be able to stay right on the beach with my dog, in a beautiful room, and definitely felt like they took good care of us!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, September 28, 2015
Thank you for vacationing with us! We love it when guests bring their pets along with them.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,512 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,563 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,688 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
224 reviews
0.5 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#11 of 14 in Cannon Beach
182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Property: Surfsand Resort
Address: 148 W Gower St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3028
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfsand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. IPod docs, deep soaking tubs, fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing