We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely worth it if you can lock in a good price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Surfsand Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfsand Resort
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Tacoma, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“absolutely worth it if you can lock in a good price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

sincerely enjoyed my time here. Found the staff to be warm and genuine. The best part was the view from our 4th floor ocean side room. From bed we could watch the waves by the moonlight. We had the balcony door cracked a little so we could be lulled to sleep by the ocean sounds. That really made it for us. Bathroom was nice(especially the oversized tub). The bed was better than average. The internet reception was poor but functional for emails but not netflix. Who needs netflix when you have that ocean view though:) They also have a nice DVD collection. The secret to this place is making sure you go when its not to crowded and can get a good deal.

Room Tip: Higher the better. We found the 4th floor to be perfect. No noise and an incredible view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Happyeater66_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your patience regarding wifi issues; we are currently working to improve upon internet service for our guests. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,234
    327
    90
    25
    9
See reviews for
663
752
48
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
365 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 312 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We have been guests at the Surfsand for many years and have always enjoyed our visits to this beautiful resort. We have never have any problems during our frequent stays, but during our annual New Years Eve vacation we encountered a couple issues in our room that we reported to guest services. On the first morning we discovered the blind in our room was broken and would not go up, and on the second day the shower head fell off. In both cases, guest services responded promptly and fixed the situation within an hour while we were out on our morning beach walks. We were very impressed with how quickly and efficiently they addressed our concerns. They responded immediately and made sure everything was fixed right away. We have always loved the staff at the Surfsand and feel they really care and try their best to make sure you enjoy your time there. They are simply the best!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GreenLakeReener
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
We at the Surfsand Resort thoroughly appreciate your feedback and patience while we addressed those issues. We look forward to seeing you again and hope to improve upon your experience during your next visit.

Thank you
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

We've lived in Oregon 20 years and have made numerous trips to the coast, but never for some reason to the Surfsand. We read the good reviews here and are happy to confirm that this is a very special place. We had one-bedroom oceanfront suites which were will furnished and supplied. The view of the ocean was great, and we sat by the fireplace and watched the storms come in. We will definitely be coming back

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Bruce J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
We are thrilled to hear that you decided to try out the Surfsand Resort. We are even happier to hear that you have decided to return. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Thank you
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We stayed here for our honeymoon. Had a wonderful corner suite with a beautiful view of haystack rock. My only complaints would be that the light switches for the toilet area of the bathroom were on the outside of the doors, which was slightly inconvenient, and the fireplace in our bedroom didn't work. The heater worked fine, though, so we didnt really need it, and the living room fireplace worked. The bed was extremely comfortable, the staff very friendly, and the room service was excellent! Would definitely reccomend this place.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a beachfront room...great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sacha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2015
Thank you for spending your honeymoon at the Surfsand! We are glad you found the room and the bed comfortable. We hope to have you back.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
compass_77_USA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

We had a great weekend at Cannon Beach. The entire town is shut down over Christmas so I would suggest dinner reservations if you are going over a holiday weekend. We found two restaurants. One allowed customers without reservations and the other restaurant required reservations. I would not pay extra for a partial view room. We were looking across a parking lot and between two buildings to see the ocean. The hotel staff was very nice and allowed us to check in early. It was raining and very windy so with no shopping, it made our weekend that much nicer to sit near the in-room fireplace. The indoor pool is great, the bathrooms were spacious with a huge soaking tub and stand alone shower. You are steps from the beach. My only negatives were it is a pet friendly establishment. I have allergies and requested a non-pet room. I had short white hairs on my socks and clothes so I'm guessing it wasn't pet free. I didn't break out so I didn't complain to staff. We had a great stay but there was nothing unique about this facility so we will most likely try others in the future. If you haven't stayed here, I would certainly recommend you try it at least once.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank compass_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2015
Thank you for spending your Christmas at the Surfsand! We hope to see you again.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

We just returned from a 4 night/5 day stay at the Surfsand Resort in Cannon Beach. It is the perfect location for a Pacific Northwest getaway and one where you can bring your furry friend with you!

Upon arrival, we were immediately upgraded to the top floor of the ocean facing building fourth floor, where we had sweeping views of the Pacific and Haystack Rock from our balcony. In our upgraded room they had already placed a pet arrival basket (treats, dog blanket, towels and food/water bowls) + they had left a nice treat of microwave popcorn and salt water taffy for my birthday celebration. Nice touches there.

The rooms are very clean and have all the top amenities - HDTV, DVD player (FREE rentals from an extensive/new list), microwave, small refrigerator, coffee maker with coffee from Sleepy Monk (local coffee roaster), TemperPedic mattress, Aveda bath products, large tub and separate shower.

Park your car and forget using it as you'll be inclined to walk everywhere. And you definitely can from the Surfsand.

We enjoyed our time there and look forward to going back soon!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PacificNW_Dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, November 10, 2015
We're glad you and your furry friend had a fun time at the Surfsand. We hope to see you return.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

There was a storm the night we were coming and the 101 had flooded and the staff called us as well as everyone else to let us know. That way people could adjust there route and not have to backtrack as much. Beautiful place with great rooms and we had a fantastic couple nights. Will stay there again next time we are at Cannon Beach. Thanks so much. Jason Logue

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasonmillerL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2012
Your feedback is very much appreciated, we are happy to hear that the unruly weather did not take away from your stay. We look forward to your next visit.

Thank you
Jerry W. Martin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
1.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,280 reviews
0.9 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 1,165 reviews
1.1 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 1,294 reviews
7.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean View Resort
0.9 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#14 of 14 in Cannon Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Property: Surfsand Resort
Address: 148 W Gower St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3028
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfsand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. IPod docs, deep soaking tubs, fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing