We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be the nicest oceanfront accommodation in Oregon.”
Review of Surfsand Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surfsand Resort
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 8, 2011

We had made no reservations for our recent driving trip through coastal Oregon and Northern California, preferring to choose each day where we would end up for the night. We thought it would be easy to find cute towns and oceanside inns on the Oregon coast and while we had no trouble finding quaint beachfront accommodations in California, we were disappointed that this was not so in Oregon. That was until we drove through Cannon Beach. Now this is what we were hoping to find everywhere! There were so many perfect places, it was kind of difficult making a choice. Eventually we chose the Surfsand Resort. As walk-ins on a quiet weekday in May, we were given a beautiful oceanfront room with a balcony at a very good rate. This was probably the nicest room we have ever stayed in on a whim. The decor was charming, the bed fabulous and the bathroom/towels/robes luxurious. The staff were really great and we had a truly lovely one-night stay.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tad02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2016

We're glad you stopped by the Surfsand on your way through Cannon Beach. Hopefully you will be able to return.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,764)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,595 - 2,601 of 2,764 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed here two nights, ocean view, ground floor. While the rooms, room service, housekeeping and staff were wonderful the internet barely worked. We tried getting it fixed to no avail. For the prices this hotel charges their internet should be excellent. Also while visiting we tried to take advantage of their free bonfire on the beach but by the time we had gotten there another person (not a guest) and her kids had eaten all the smores, what a bummer. I'd stay here again only if the price was a little cheaper. They also allow dogs which is a plus, $15 per pet per night.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2016

Thank you for visiting the Surfsand. We hope to have you back.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

We stayed at the Surfsand for three nights and were completely satisfied with the experience. The room's decor was lovely, with contemporary style and furnishings. All staffpeople were helpful, and our ocean view was stunning. The food at the Wayfarer, closeby, is excellent. We would love to visit again.

Room Tip: Ask for the Oceanfront Building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbaraJD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2016

We're glad you loved the room and the beautiful view. We look forward to your return.

Thank you,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

What can I say......we have stayed here many times,same experience!From the elevators for my elderly inlaws to the great pool for the teens!Great view,great service,great beds,great parking,great workout room,great cookies and milk in the lobby,best access to the beach,and you don't even need to bring beach chairs...everything including towels are provided!Steven the "cobana man" was awesome providing service up front on the beach for chairs,smores,windbreaks and bon fires!We had 23 people in our party and Chad really helped book our rooms so we were close together.It was another wonderful experience from our friends at Cannon Beach!I would also suggest a drive up to Indian Beach for one of the most beautiful views in the world.Just can't beat this place!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2016

Thank you for visiting us. We hope to see you again.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

Last weekend was our second stay at Surfsand. We had a great time last summer and thought we'd visit again, this time with our dog. The hotel is on the beach and right in the middle of the commercial district, the best of both worlds. It's right around the corner from Newman's, my favorite restaurant in town. The room was clean, comfortable, and modern, and the staff was very accomodating. We reallly want to return next year!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Todd51947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2016

Thank you for spending your vacation here. We hope you will return this year.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

We had an annual tradition of staying at the Surfsand every 4th of July holiday the last 18 years for 3-4 days but last year had a very scary experience! My son refuses to go back now so we have found a different hotel for this year. A guest a few doors down from our room falsely accused my son and his friend of stealing her engagement ring at the pool, just because they happened to be the only teens in the place. She became enraged, followed my son to our room, baricading him in the hallway, and threatening to shoot him if he tried to run. Fortunately, she also called the police who managed to subdue her before any harm occured to my son. In the process, the police illegally searched our room without me even knowing about it. When my friend found me on the beach and I returned to the room, the woman was screaming obscenities at me. When I asked the policeman if it was a violation of law for her to threaten to shoot my son, I was told: "m'am, you are in Oregon now and we don't have many laws." Because it became obvious that the 3 policemen were not about to spend the night there and the hotel has no on-site security, we felt that we and the other family we travel with had no choice but to leave (at about 9 pm on July 4) because we did not feel safe for ourselves or our vehicles. The police did verify for us that the woman and her husband did indeed have a gun but stated they had a permit for it. I guess that was supposed to make us feel better. To the Surfsand's credit, they did not charge our families for that night and tried unsuccessfully to find us rooms elsewhere. We ended up heading for Portland. Hopefully,we will feel safer at our new hotel.

Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
5  Thank elk222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2016

Thank you for staying with us.

Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2011

We were attending our son's graduation at the University of Oregon and decided to
return to Portland by driving up the coast. We booked two nights at the Surfsand Resort
and were delighted that we did! Being from Chicago, we knew nothing of this area and
ended up at the Surfsand based on reviews. We had a fabulous suite facing the vast
beach on the Pacific, with a glorious view of Haystack Rock, a truly surreal and impressive
formation coming out of the ocean. Service was top notch. They'll even create a personal
bonfire for you on the beach! Stand out restaurants in the charming beach town were the
Wayfarer and the Bistro. You can go for a couple nights and get the full experience.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
1  Thank Betrobets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUManager, General Manager at Surfsand Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 19, 2016

Thank you for staying with us. We are glad to hear you had a great time.

Cheers,
Jerry W. Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,643 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,233 reviews
1.2 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,951 reviews
0.5 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#12 of 15 in Cannon Beach
187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfsand Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfsand Resort

Address: 148 W Gower St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3028
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $139 - $302 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Surfsand Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The oceanfront Surfsand Resort is steps from Haystack Rock and features stylish, contemporary guest rooms with a serene and tranquil vibe. IPod docs, deep soaking tubs, fitness center, indoor swimming pool, kids crafts and seasonal cabana service are just a few of the fun extras that you'll find at the resort. Located just 70 miles due west of Portland, this full-service resort welcomes guests with warmth and hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Surfsand Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfsand Resort Cannon Beach
Surfsand Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing