We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Customer Service.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2014

They would not honor the rate the rate that was indicated to me. The manager argued with me and condesended me when I brought this issue to her attention.

Decent resort, but dealing with management and deception is not worth it. Go anywhere else and spend your vacation enjoying your time with family, instead of being degraded by management.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Derekkirma10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Dear Derekkirmad,
Please accept my sincere apologies if you feel you received "terrible customer service" and that you were deceived. As you can see from countless other reviews, we strive to offer outstanding customer service. We see ourselves as Ladies and Gentlemen serving Ladies and Gentlemen. However, when a customer begins shouting and cursing at our assistant manager, our service philosophy is set aside.

I am also sorry if you did not understand the exceptions that are listed on the coupon you were trying to use on a Saturday night. The term "Subject to projected availability" means that if we are projecting to sell all that style of room for that night, the coupon special is not available. I believe our front office staff and assistant general manager tried to explain that as an exclusion for that particular night. We will certainly look into different wording on our future specials or possibly eliminate any Saturday nights from being included.

I apologize for the frustration and if you choose to visit us again, please don't hesitate to contact me directly to assist with your reservation.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,047 - 2,053 of 2,443 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2014

We are frequent visitors of Cannon Beach and as a result have a favorite place we always stay. We decided this trip to try somewhere new and picked Hallmark Resort.

Overall this is a nice hotel, the location is beautiful, overlooking Haystack rock and the beach. The rooms were average, clean but a little dated, but very pet friendly.

If you have kids or are a kid at heart this is the pace to stay. The pool, sauna and hot tubs are amazing.

My biggest problem with this hotel was value. For the same price for the pet friendly rooms here we can stay at our favorite and get a bigger room with jacuzzi, continental breakfast, free DVD check outs, turn down service, cookies in our room with a personal note from housekeeping and fresh baked cookies in the lobby at all times. Before staying here again I would have to see the hotel step it up a bit.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amber A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded January 22, 2014

Dear Ishinmiso,
Thanks for giving the Hallmark Resort & Spa a try on your recent trip to Cannon Beach. I'm delighted you liked the pool areas. However, I'm a bit perplexed with your other comments. I'm not sure where you stayed at our resort. All guestrooms at the main property were renovated just months ago. I'm sorry if you did not like the new décor. We do have 2 buildings away from the main resort that have not been renovated, but these rooms are quite large for hotel rooms.

We strive to offer the best value in Cannon Beach and I'm sorry if you felt are rates are high. While we are not the cheapest oceanfront resort in Cannon Beach, we are also not the most expensive. As the closet resort to Haystack Rock we do offer the best oceanfront views in town.

I'm sorry if you were disappointed and I hope you will bring your pet and try us again.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

We stayed here after a last minute reservation. You can use the other sites (expedia, etc) but you can find rooms directly on their site to get reservations that are available. Just be sure you click the Cannon Beach hotel and not the Newport one (nothing wrong with Newport but if you are headed to Cannon Beach, Newport is a ways away).

We found the place very nice even though they are going through a revision. Had excellent views from the ocean front balconies with great views of the rock.

Great hotel staff steered us toward some more "local" eateries. They sent us to Cannon Beach Hardware and Public House. When you bust a wall open between a hardware store and a restaurant that was closed down you get the Screw and Brew (hardware and beer/eats in the same place)

They also directed us to Bill's Brewery. OK food, but I like the Hardware store better! Great little town to get away from everything franchised in our state and directly pay the locals. I would definitely stay here again!!!!!

Room Tip: Get an Ocean View. Super views. Definitely recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KuffMUp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Kuffmup,
I am delighted you discovered the Hallmark Resort & Spa during your last minute trip to Cannon Beach. You are right regarding reservations. You will always find the best rates and availability if you go to our own website or call us directly. I suggest you sign up for our monthly specials on our website. At the beginning of each month we send out special offers only available to our email guests. Thank you for taking the time to share your Hallmark experience and we look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

This property is our resort of choice in Cannon Beach, we can't say enough good things about the Hallmark Inn. The resent remodel of the rooms is bonus, wonderful views of the beach from the balcony, swivel flat screen TV's, cozy beds, and the gas fireplace make it hard to even leave the room! We always ask for Room #320 top floor and in the corner, best room because it sports and extra window & on the balcony there is a window that acts as a wind break so you are pretty comfortable. We were fortunate to witness a rare treat....snowing on the beach! Haystack Rock looked like an ice cream sundae! There were also surfers braving the chilly waves. So make your reservations, they will have popcorn for the microwave in your room and a warm cookie on your arrival when you check in!!

Room Tip: Room #320 top floor, you can almost touch Haystack Rock from the balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank materialblessings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded December 30, 2013

Dear Materialblessings,
Thank you so much for making the Hallmark Resort & Spa your 'home away from home" when visiting Cannon Beach. I agree room 320 has absolutely drop dead views of Haystack rock and the Pacific. I'm delighted you like our new look and we look forward to welcoming you home the next time you visit Cannon Beach.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We've stayed as a family many, many times in Cannon Beach. The Hallmark's beach house rentals are the way to go for trips with our family. We've stayed in a three beach houses over the years. Depending on how many family members are making the trip, there's a house to fit upwards of 12+ people.

The beach access and living literally steps from Cannon Beach, is unbeatable. Plus, maid service, clean towels, and access to the Hallmark's swimming pool makes any of the Hallmark's beach houses perfect rental.

And I can't say enough about the hotel's front desk staff; great service and attention to little details.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Ryan_Awram,
Thank you for sharing your Hallmark experience with other travelers. The oceanfront beach houses are a great alternative for large families. Thanks for making the Hallmark Resort & Spa a family tradition and we look forward to seeing you next time.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We always stay at the Hallmark when we head to Cannon Beach. It's clean & kept up, the staff are friendly and helpful, and it's in a great location (plus is right on the beach). Highly recommend. Best rooms are on the top corner, but they're all good.

Room Tip: Ask for view of Haystack Rock. Top corner rooms best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Penelope54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Penelope54,
I'm delighted you have made the Hallmark Resort & Spa a tradition when visiting the Oregon coast. Thank you for sharing your experiences with other travelers. We strive to make the Hallmark Resort your home away from home and we look forward to seeing you the next time.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

This is a beachfront resort with stairs going down to the beach. We stayed in one of the oceanfront rooms that had a great view of the rock and the coast for miles in each direction. The view is definitely worth the extra money. The room is a little on the small side but adequate for a couple. A family would need one of the units that have at least one bedroom and they are much more expensive. The furnishings were new and the room appeared to have been recently renovated. The only sounds we heard during our stay were the large waves. There was work still going on and we were told the building across from the office is being currently renovated. The workers and equipment did take up some valuable parking spots which were at a premium on a Saturday night so hopefully they will be done soon. We would suggest they replace the in room coffee because unlike some other hotels their coffee is loose and not sealed in a filter. Also, the taste could have been a little better.
The staff at the front desk was very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: Rooms with the full ocean view are worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear Mark951,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed our newly renovated oceanfront guestrooms and the spectacular views of Haystack Rock and the beach. While we are not the cheapest place to stay in Cannon Beach, we are also not the most expensive. The fall and winter months are the value season and always look at our web site for each month's specials. I'm delighted to inform you our guestroom renovation is now complete and the re-roofing project will be done soon.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,648 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,262 reviews
1 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,988 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Haystack Rock
Inn at Haystack Rock
#11 of 15 in Cannon Beach
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach

Address: 1400 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $117 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest resort to famous Haystack Rock, we offer panoramic oceanfront views and a variety of room styles to meet your needs, including guestrooms with fireplaces and romantic in-room spas. For the family experience, choose suites featuring 1 or 2 bedrooms, Sico beds, kitchenettes, and spacious living areas. Rejuvenate at Elements By The Sea, our on-site day spa and enjoy our 2 indoor heated pools, 3 swirl spas, exercise room, and sauna. Complimentary house-baked cookies at check-in, popcorn in your room, and high-speed WI-FI are available in guestrooms. We are pet friendly in 50% of our guestrooms. Newly renovated oceanfront guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach Hotel Cannon Beach
Hallmark Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing