We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovated Gem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a queen waterfront view room. The view of Haystack Rock was amazing! The deck was large, furnished with 2 chairs and small table. As we we on an end, we appreciated that the "wall" was clear acrylic, rather than solid, so the view was maintained throughout.

This was a recently renovated room, equipped with a very comfortable bed, new chairs, tables, lamps outfitted with extra outlets-plenty of charging stations for several gadgets.

So many upgrades, that the old things REALLY stood out: old, stained hinges on the bathroom door, yellowed heat lamp casing in the bathroom, light switch plate in the bathroom, and especially the dented, rusted heat vent in the main room. These few items detracted from the beauty of the very-well-done upgrades.

Room was supplied with outstanding locally roasted coffee and coffee maker as well as a mini fridge. We enjoyed the gas fireplace operated on a timer.

Heated pool was nice. Didn't have opportunity to try the hot tub. One was out of order, the other was overtaken by a family who never left! The sauna was nice, though small. We did not examine the fitness facility.

Check-in was easy, though we arrived after the warm cookie time. Once in our room, we remembered reading on facebook about Sunday night bonfire. We called to the desk to find that staff would prepare a beach fire, supply blankets, chairs, sticks and marshmallows. It was an enjoyable time to spend on the beach, which we'd have missed had we not taken it on ourselves to ask. The staff in training perhaps could be trained on the details.

Their website says the outside renovations are complete, but the walkway covering looks old and frayed, enough that wheeled luggage hung on it in a couple of places.

There is no on-site restaurant, but it is close to food and shops.

We look forward to returning to this property in the future.

Room Tip: Southernmost rooms are closer to Haystack Rock.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DALLAS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear DALLAS S,
I'm delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and I appreciate your candid review. We had a very aggressive renovation schedule this year and we fell slightly behind. One building, the roof, and all the exterior carpets had to be postponed until fall. Come October, we will pick up the projects and have them completed by next year. The heaters in the renovated guestrooms are also scheduled for replacement. Thank you for choosing the Hallmark Resort & Spa and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,443)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,106 - 2,112 of 2,443 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2013

This location is simply amazing. Loved every minute of soaking in the scenery. The hotel, although a bit outdated, was lovely with ocean views and a perfect balcony for morning coffee. Perfect for families or quiet couple getaway. Went in June it was a bit chilly (ok, sweatshirts everyday) but loved every minute. Loved that the resort was not right on top of another. Great for walking to stores and restaurants but still quiet and private.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andirincon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear andirincon,
I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Hallmark Resort & Spa. I'm sorry you did not get to experience one of our newly renovated guestrooms. We had planned to have the entire resort completely remodeled by the end of June, but delays in the beginning have pushed the final building's renovation to the fall. When you return you will discover a fresh, new look in every guest room. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Oregon.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We only stayed 1 night at the Hallmark, but enjoyed it very much. Our room was fabulous! A fireplace, balcony overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Haystack Rock, and a jacuzzi tub. Firewood provided for a campfire on the beach, along with chairs. Refrigerator and coffee maker. Within walking distance to a nice restaurant. Hot, baked chocolate chip cookies on check-in. Hotel staff at check-in could have been a little more attentive, but I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
Thank jshw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear jshw,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I'm delighted you enjoyed your visit and the fresh-baked cookies at check in. If you have a moment, I would appreciate hearing more detail about your check in experience so we can improve. If you have the time, please contact me at Kirby@hallmarkinns.com and let me know what we could have done better. Thank you for choosing the Hallmark Resort & Spa. I know we are a ways from Texas, but we look forward to seeing you again the next time you visit the Northwest.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

As an avid TripAdvisor reader (and reviewer), I was a little worried about coming to this place after reading all the recent poor reviews. This was our 1st time, and the only place we could find that would accommodate our family of 5. I am SO glad in this case I did not let those reviews influence my decision to stay here!

We stayed in a 4b/2b place with beach front access and views. Ample room for us and our kids and it was really an incredible 3 days. The cottage was full of character (it's definitely older, but well kept), and we loved eating out on the large deck with the waves crashing in the foreground!

The staff when we checked in (lady was in training) was extremely friendly. Our original room had some water issues, and they proactively moved us (upgraded) to another place. We can't wait to come back and visit again!

Make sure you read through several reviews (not just the negative ones) before deciding (not) to stay here.

A couple things I might recommend:
- go through the deck again with a hammer to sink in all nails. Lots of little ones in bare feet.
- finding a place to charge phones, etc in the rooms was a little challenging.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drhon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear drhon,
Thank you for reading several of our reviews rather than only the few negative ones. We strive to make every guests' visit a memorable one and we recently were awarded Tripadvisor's "Certificate of Excellence" for being in the top 10% of all businesses. Thank you for the heads up on the deck nails. I will have that taken care of immediately. We appreciate your business and your candid review.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms and great location.. Enjoyed our stay and would definitely come back here. Nice relaxing time. On Sunday evenings they offer a campfire on the beach with s'mores. Nice touch!!! The front staff was most friendly. The property has lots of stairs to climb and do offer an elevator from the main lobby. Right on Cannon Beach however lots of stairs to get to the beach and pretty steep. Overall a great place to stay

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Greg521,
I'm delighted you enjoyed our clean rooms and location. As the closest resort to Haystack Rock, the views are amazing. We do sit on a 60 foot bluff. A down side are the steps to the beach, but with the extra height, the sunsets from any of our guestrooms are spectacular. Thank you for choosing the Hallmark Resort & Spa and while we are a ways from Georgia, we look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We decided to visit some friends who have a house in Cannon Beach over the 4th of July. They already had a house full of guests so we decided to look for a hotel room for the nights of the 3rd and 4th of July. We were surprised to find many vacancies and also surprised of the expensive costs for the rooms available. Because we knew that we would not be spending a lot of time in our room we were not so concerned about having an ocean view room but we also wanted a comfortable relaxing room. We were not disappointed with our choice of reserving a room at the Hallmark Resort at Cannon Beach. We stayed in a "peek view" room with a queen bed. Although the room size was small it was very comfortable. Our "peek view" consisted of a small window facing the ocean with a medium window beside it that faced the walkway down to the beach. There was a small table with two chairs next to these windows that provided room for one person to enjoy the view. The was also another window near the bed that provided a needed cross breeze to the room. The room itself was very clean and the bed/bedding was very comfortable. Lots of extra pillows and an extra blanket were also available. We enjoyed two peaceful nights rest with the exception of an occasional loud visitor going by our room and then down through the walkway to the beach. This would be the only drawback of having a "peek view" room. We were able to check in before the regular check in time and we were able to do so because of a phone call from hotel staff advising us that our room was ready. After checking in to our room, we were also contacted by hotel staff to check on our accommodations and to see if anything else was needed for our stay. This was totally unexpected but appreciated. The rest of the facilities were very well maintained and the view of Haystack Rock was exceptional. The parking lot is small and therefore can be a little tricky at times. We would definitely stay again and would highly recommend it to others .

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Patty C,
I'm glad we were able to accommodate you over the 4th of July. We offer a variety of room styles and it sounds like the peek view queen was just what you were looking for. All our oceanfront buildings were renovated this year and I'm delighted you like the new décor. Thank you for choosing the Hallmark Resort & Spa and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Cannon Beach.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

The location and proximity to haystack is the only plus. I booked 2 nights for a non-pet room but ended up in pet room. Also, the sheets were not replaced from previous. Even during our stay we had to call and ask for room service. Also, for $200 did not even get complimentary coffee let alone breakfast. You are better off finding something better in seaside and drive down to the beach, there is plenty of public parking around haystack and south cannon beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vaitheeswaran b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear vaitheeswaran b,
I'm terribly sorry you did not feel your room was not worth the money and I must say I am a bit confused. All our guestrooms are completely cleaned and inspected prior to any guests arrival. We also offer complementary coffee and coffeemakers in all our guestrooms. There is fresh coffee available 24/7 in our lower lobby along with hot chocolate, hot cider and tea. We also offer 24 hour customer service so if you have a request in the future, please call the front desk and we will take care of you right away.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,648 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,262 reviews
1 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,988 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at Haystack Rock
Inn at Haystack Rock
#11 of 15 in Cannon Beach
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach

Address: 1400 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $117 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest resort to famous Haystack Rock, we offer panoramic oceanfront views and a variety of room styles to meet your needs, including guestrooms with fireplaces and romantic in-room spas. For the family experience, choose suites featuring 1 or 2 bedrooms, Sico beds, kitchenettes, and spacious living areas. Rejuvenate at Elements By The Sea, our on-site day spa and enjoy our 2 indoor heated pools, 3 swirl spas, exercise room, and sauna. Complimentary house-baked cookies at check-in, popcorn in your room, and high-speed WI-FI are available in guestrooms. We are pet friendly in 50% of our guestrooms. Newly renovated oceanfront guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach Hotel Cannon Beach
Hallmark Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing