We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VIEW, but the rooms need some TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“GREAT VIEW, but the rooms need some TLC”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed a night recently at the Hallmark Inn during one of the "Arts" weekends at Cannon Beach. The Inn accommodated our early arrival and as the title says our room has an outstanding view of Haystack Rock and the beach. Bedding was nice but the flat screen TV was placed in an odd location so that you had to turn sideways to watch. We also noted that many of the furnishings, doors, cabinets, baseboards show a lot of wear and need to be refreshed.
But because of the great views we will likely come again.

Room Tip: Pay for the full ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jrprich9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear jrprich9,
I'm delighted we were able to get you into your room early and you enjoyed the bedding. We begin a complete renovation of the property mid-February so when you return, all our guestrooms will have a fresh, new look! We look forward to seeing you later this year.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,422
    491
    113
    45
    30
See reviews for
659
1,106
94
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Mission, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013

We had a two night stay at the hallmark starting boxing day 2012, it reached beyond our expectations for a pet friendly resort! First my husband was greeted by a really knowledgeable young man working the front desk. He explained all the rules of conduct for our pet and gave us a bag full of goodies for Skye ( 18month Australian Shepard. ) then we were given our key to our queen room with fireplace and full view of ocean. We had a great time, even the weather was good except for one long shower. We will go back, great hotel with shower area for dogs. thank you hallmark for the great getaway!

Room Tip: make sure you have some sort of ocean view,if not beach front, go for 2nd or 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abbeecan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Abbeeran,
Thanks for the great review. We all strive to make the whole family feel like the Hallmark is there "home away from home". I'm happy to hear you and Skye enjoyed yourselves. Thanks for staying with us and we look forward to sharing our new renovation with you on your next trip to the Oregon coast.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
port orchard
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

First – this is a very friendly, pet friendly hotel. Our dog even got a welcome gift on check-in! The facility shows some age, but is beautifully designed, especially for arrivals in inclement weather. They have an underground garage which also provides dry passage to the pool and fitness center. Our oceanfront room was a studio with a Murphy bed and kitchen which worked perfectly for us. The location is probably the best in Cannon for viewing the Haystack Rock. We had an incident with our room card (key) not working and they dealt with being locked ouy for about two hours perfectly. No complaints. We made reservations for next year and I'd recommend to anyone. Especially with a dog.

Room Tip: They occasionally have "web specials".
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DandPinWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Dear DandPinWA,
I am very sorry you had problems with your guestroom door lock and it took us a few extra minutes to get you in. We have just installed new security tabs on all our electronic locks and it takes a special tool to remove the panel before we can electronically connect to the lock. Our maintenance man forgot to bring it with him to the room.

I'm delighted you enjoyed yourselves and have made a reservation for next year! We are starting a major renovation next month so the resort will have a fresh, new look when you return next New Year's.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Impromptu one night stay at the coast led us to Hallmark and it was perfect. Haystack Rock and beach view from balcony was breathtaking. Great staff. Loved the fireplace in the room and kitchenette. Cookie decorating in the hotel gift shop area was sweet! Complimentary gift wrapping station was a very nice touch.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PDXCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Dear PDXcountry,
Thank you for choosing the Hallmark Resort for your quick trip to the beach. I'm delighted you enjoyed the cookie decorating and the gift wrap station. We strive to be your "home away from home" during the holidays and all year long. Thanks again for your business and we look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Cannon Beach.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longview, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

We have stayed many times through the years at the Hallmark Inn Resort, but this time was truely relaxing, we had never come down in December, now I think it might be an annual event. We requested the corner room on the 3rd Floor(#320), for the spectacular view of Haystack Rock. Cozy gas fireplace, comfy queen bed. Housekeeping came up before us & washed our windows for us! The weather has been beautiful today; sunny, very little wind...perfect for beach combing & shopping! We heard that the resort will be doing some remodeling& updating for next year. Looking forward to our next stay!

Room Tip: Room # 320 top floor corner unit across from Haystack Rock, extra window in the room & window on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank materialblessings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
Dear Materialblessings,
Happy Holidays! I want to thank you for making the Hallmark Resort a family tradition when you visit Cannon Beach. I'm delighted you discovered how relaxing the Hallmark Resort can be in winter. The cozy fireplaces and awesome views from our guestrooms make it easy to just curl up and watch the ocean meet the beach. We are starting our renovation in February and will have a fresh, new look by summer but don't wait that long to return!
We look forward to seeing you in the New Year.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The staff that run this property make this place worth returning to! I had a queen ocean front room in early December. The view was to die for. We had a full on view of haystack rock. The room was clean and functional, but nothing fancy.

I traveled with my 12 Lb Cavalier Spaniel. The staff had a goodie bag waiting for her, upon our arrival.

I had to cut my 3-day weekend short late Sunday evening when I got an urgent email from work needing to return on Monday morning. I thought I'd have to pay the full amount for Sunday evening, but the front desk offered me a discount since I couldn't stay.

When I returned home I discovered I left a personal item behind. The front desk staff was friendly and tracked down my item, called me back and coordinated the delivery back to me.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TBird1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear TBird1968,
Thanks for the review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and happy to see the staff took good care of you. Starting in February, we are renovating the entire resort so when you return this time next year, all our guestrooms will have a fresh, new look. Thank you for your business and we look forward to seeing you again.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renton, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2012

The Cannon Beach resort is a very good choice for an ocean-front stay! We are return customers for a reason. The rooms are always clean and the housekeeping service is excellent. To get to the ocean, you just walk down a set of stairs to the beach - very convenient. The gas fireplace in the room was wonderful and really set the tone to just sit back, relax and watch the waves. We will return!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinLady_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Hello TravelinLady_77,
Thank you for making the Hallmark Resort a tradition when you visit Cannon Beach. As a senior contributor, it means a lot to us that you enjoy your experiences with us. I'm happy to inform you we are renovating the hotel this next spring and will have a great new look to go along with the awesome views. Thank you and we'll see you next year.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cannon Beach
0.8 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,512 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,563 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 14 in Cannon Beach
1,691 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 14 in Cannon Beach
224 reviews
7.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean View Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach

Property: Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach
Address: 1400 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest resort to famous Haystack Rock, we offer panoramic oceanfront views and a variety of room styles to meet your needs, including guestrooms with fireplaces and romantic in-room spas. For the family experience, choose suites featuring 1 or 2 bedrooms, Sico beds, kitchenettes, and spacious living areas. Rejuvenate at Elements By The Sea, our on-site day spa and enjoy our 2 indoor heated pools, 3 swirl spas, exercise room, and sauna. Complimentary house-baked cookies at check-in, popcorn in your room, and high-speed WI-FI are available in guestrooms. We are pet friendly in 50% of our guestrooms. Newly renovated oceanfront guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach Hotel Cannon Beach
Hallmark Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing