We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Five Days in 2 Bedroom Ocean Front”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach
Ranked #8 of 15 Hotels in Cannon Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from five days at the Hallmark in an ocean front two bedroom with three adults. Here are my pros and cons.

Bathroom: Toilet and tub were in a separate room. Very small, but clean and well stocked with lots of towels. Toilet paper wasn't the greatest. The sink area was well stocked with nice products.

Back bedroom with queen bed: Nice size room and clean with a flat screen tv. Bed was a little firm and bed spread a little dated.

Front bedroom: You had to walk thru this bedroom to get to back bedroom. This was ok for us, but might be a problem for others. This room originally had two twins. We asked for them to be pushed together and this was done before we checked in. Very comfortable bed. Two night stands with lamps and an alarm clock. Plenty of closet space with hangers. Chest of drawers with a flat screen TV on top.

Kitchen area: Small, but functional. Full size frig, electric 4-burner stove with small oven. Nice Mr. Coffee maker and they supplied coffee with condiments. Good supply of dishes and flatware. The pots and pans were new. Three knives that needed sharpened. Oh yes, a small dishwasher that we really appreciated. Only ran it when we were out of the room... very noisy.

Front room area: This was probably our biggest disappointment. The unit was advertised as sleeping six so they had a murphy bed. In order for there to be room for the murphy bed to be lowered they only had a small couch and small table with two chairs. Didn't make for being very comfortable while watching tv in the evenings. We finally just lowered the bed and used it. This worked fine for the three of us, but I can't imagine six people being able to get comfortable. The room had a balcony with four plastic stack chairs and a small table. There was a tv in the front room and a gas fireplace that was very enjoyable.

Staff and service: Everyone from check-in to check-out was friendly. The maid service was fine. No complaints. The grounds around the Inn were beautifully maintained and I was envious how well their flower beds still looked. We had problems with the Wifi several times and had to call the office. Since we were using our computers for fun it was no big deal, but if you were using it for business, it might be.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and any problems we had were very minor. We hopefully will be able to return next year. The view and location were perfect for us. We were able to bring our dog and the staff really accommodates dogs with treat bags. It was very quiet at night and the parking lot was well lit.

Room Tip: If in your budget get an ocean front unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ok2wa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear ok2wa,
Thank you for your detailed review and thank you for staying 5 days with us. I agree that the living area of the 2-bedroom suites is small for 6 people for five days. You may want to consider one of the oceanfront houses when staying that long in the future. I'm delighted your enjoyed your trip. Thank you for choosing the Hallmark Resort when visiting Cannon Beach and we look forward to your return.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,420)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,160 - 2,166 of 2,420 reviews

Reviewed September 23, 2012

It was the last night of a road trip with my parents and we decided to spend it in Cannon Beach. We called ahead the evening before, and were professionally and pleasantly assisted by Dan. Upon ending our conversation, I already had a sense of customer service that went above and beyond. Our rooms were cozy, beds were very comfortable and staff friendly and attentive. We enjoyed the location in reference to the beach and Haystack Rock. We've already told friends about our experience, and we will definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talk2trott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear talk2trott,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with everyone. I'm glad you discovered us and had a great time. It is a real pleasure to work with customer service professionals like Dan and I've shared your comments with him. Thank you for choosing the Hallmark Resort and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Take care,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

This place offers one of the best views of Cannon Beach. The staff were very pleasant. They also offer pet friendly rooms so it is great if you are tagging your pooch along for the trip. They had really good amenities (it had a yummy orange scent). The rooms are a bit dated though but very clean and has a decent romantic vibe.

Room Tip: The location was great for the views but a bit further away from the main strip so if you are lookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear MG,
Thanks for the nice review. As the closest resort to Haystack Rock, I think the views are the best anywhere on the Oregon coast. I'm delighted you like the Toracco amenities. The orange scent comes from blood oranges. Our remodel is on schedule so the resort will soon have a fresh, new look.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I have stayed multiple times, which kind of speaks for itself. Customer service is always top notch. The oceanfront building has spectacular views up and down the beach and views of Haystack rock are spot on. Another building, the NW View building is not directly on the beach but there are views of the ocean over rooftops and the rooms are recently beautifully renovated. If you're not travelling with Fido, get a king spa ah ah ah there the bed is like sleepng on a cloud. As I understand it, the oceanfront building is due for reno's which is good because that bathrooms etc., are out dated and we found the queen bed to be rock hard and uncomfortable. If you do travel with your four-legged friend, there is a cute welcome bag for all of doogie's needs. The only dings would be, quite pricey, outdated and lacking those chocolate chip cookies,popcorn or fruit in the lobby enjoyed at other hotels in CB. There is hot cocoa and tea 24/7 and the front desk offers blankets for bonfires but the wood/papers for a bonfire are not provided, nor are they for purchase.The indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna are also aged and could go for a re-do, too. If the chance of seeing a perfect sunset from your private balcony or awaking to see the bright sunshine glistening on the water are important to you, Hallmark can't be beat.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bouj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear Bouj,
I'm delighted you've made a tradition of staying at the Hallmark when visiting Cannon Beach. Thanks for noticing our great customer service! I also want to thank you for your suggestions regarding lobby treats. We have started putting popcorn in all the guestrooms that have microwaves so be sure to enjoy fresh popcorn in your room. We also have added saltwater taffy and doggie treats in the lobby. Please enjoy them all on your next visit. Thanks again for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We recently stayed at the Hallmark Resort in Cannon Beach. We reserved the Queen "Peek View" room and were pleasantly surprised that we had an actual window with a view and didn't have to stand on our tip-toes to see the ocean. The property is on the bluff next to haystack rock, so there is only a short walk down the sand to the tide pools. One of our favorite things about this hotel was the clean, fresh smelling linens on the bed. The bed was comfortable, and the pillows were great! I would have liked a continental breakfast, but we did just fine having cereal in our room enjoying the view. Our room had a microwave and a small fridge which was just right for milk and a few leftovers. We would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: If you have room in your travel budget, we would pay more and get a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shopgirl5934
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 23, 2012

Dear galacticgal,
I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. If you haven't done so, I suggest you sign up for our monthly email specials on our web site. We'll send you great value offers each month so you can get that guestroom with the oceanfront balcony for only a little more. Thank you for choosing the Hallmark Resort when staying in Cannon Beach.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My family and I used to go to Cannon Beach annually when I was a kid and we always stayed at the Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach, so when I wanted to take my partner to Cannon Beach it was really a given where we would stay.

Clean, accommodating, professional, beautiful views, great service, I really don't have enough good things to say about this place. You will get every bang for your buck and if you can afford a suite with an ocean front view, your jaw will drop.

We stayed in a room with a murphy bed and could see the haystack and the ocean from our bed. The fireplace really cozies up the room. Although we forgot our bathing suits and didn't get to enjoy the pool, it was always full of happy families. There was no noise from our neighbours, the cleaning staff timed their visits mid-day and never disrupted us in the morning. The front desk people were very courteous and friendly and I'm sure that if we had needed anything, it would have been delivered to us with bells on.

The only thing missing was a chocolate on our pillows!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cothurnal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Cothurnal,
Thank you for your review. I'm so happy to hear that your return visit to the Hallmark Resort was everything you remembered it to be. Please don't wait so long to come see us again!
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

On our honeymoon we spent our last night on the coast here. Our stay was terrific. The location was beautiful and the staff made our experience one of a kind. Pam and Dan greeted us with a smile and went above & beyond to make our stay memorable.There is a hot tub/pool on site which was great to relax in after dinner. We look forward to bringing out family back here in the future!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ashlobennett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HallmarkResorts, General Manager at Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2012

Dear Ashlobennett,
Congratulations on your wedding! Thank you for sharing your honeymoon and your comments. I'm delighted you had a great stay and I'll make sure Pam and Dan read your review. We look forward to seeing you and the family the next time you visit Cannon Beach.
Sincerely,
Kirby Blankenship

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cannon Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
The Ocean Lodge
The Ocean Lodge
#2 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,644 reviews
1.1 mi away
Tolovana Inn
Tolovana Inn
#9 of 15 in Cannon Beach
2,239 reviews
1.0 mi away
Inn at Cannon Beach
Inn at Cannon Beach
#3 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Stephanie Inn
Stephanie Inn
#1 of 15 in Cannon Beach
1,962 reviews
0.7 mi away
Land's End at Cannon Beach
Land's End at Cannon Beach
#12 of 15 in Cannon Beach
187 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ecola Creek Lodge
Ecola Creek Lodge
#10 of 15 in Cannon Beach
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach

Address: 1400 S Hemlock St, Cannon Beach, OR 97110-3056
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Oregon > Oregon Coast > Cannon Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cannon Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Cannon Beach
#7 Romantic Hotel in Cannon Beach
#10 Family Hotel in Cannon Beach
Price Range: $117 - $270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 129
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the closest resort to famous Haystack Rock, we offer panoramic oceanfront views and a variety of room styles to meet your needs, including guestrooms with fireplaces and romantic in-room spas. For the family experience, choose suites featuring 1 or 2 bedrooms, Sico beds, kitchenettes, and spacious living areas. Rejuvenate at Elements By The Sea, our on-site day spa and enjoy our 2 indoor heated pools, 3 swirl spas, exercise room, and sauna. Complimentary house-baked cookies at check-in, popcorn in your room, and high-speed WI-FI are available in guestrooms. We are pet friendly in 50% of our guestrooms. Newly renovated oceanfront guestrooms and suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hallmark Resort & Spa Cannon Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hallmark Resort Cannon Beach Hotel Cannon Beach
Hallmark Hotel Cannon Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing